Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real food, real recipes for real foodies
The first glance tells you this book is different. Grainy black and white photographs: shots of farms, farmers, fells and food on the hoof (and fin). Not a single glossy porn shot of food on the plate. And, when you get to them, the recipes are straightforward and practical, often favourites of the producers themselves, and well-complemented by background essays and...
Published on 5 Aug. 2011 by westmer

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ostrich and Mussels
Six recipes for ostrich! Their excuse is that it is a 'lean meat'. Please get up to date with health research. Animal fat doesn't matter, in fact it is far better for you than vegetable fat.
I bought this because I wanted meat recipes for my low carb diet. There is only a couple I could use and one is beef daube which I already know how to cook. Most recipes had...
Published 7 months ago by E. M. Stansbridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real food, real recipes for real foodies, 5 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish (Hardcover)
The first glance tells you this book is different. Grainy black and white photographs: shots of farms, farmers, fells and food on the hoof (and fin). Not a single glossy porn shot of food on the plate. And, when you get to them, the recipes are straightforward and practical, often favourites of the producers themselves, and well-complemented by background essays and interviews. So if you go into the Borough Market(or any farmers' market) or into any real butcher's or fishmongers, here is a wealth of practical advice about what to do when you get back to the kitchen. If ready meals are your thing, this book won't be. But if you're interested in where your food comes from, in how lovingly it can be produced and how you can complete the process by producing wonderful meals from excellent ingredients, this could quickly become your hardest-worked cookbook..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a book filled with pretty shiny pictures of professionally made food and fancy recipes ..., 1 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish (Hardcover)
I have to admit that I didn't buy this book for the recipes. As I haven't tried cooking anything from it yet I can't really write a review on the tastiness of the food but I can rave about the rest of the book. This isn't a book filled with pretty shiny pictures of professionally made food and fancy recipes of over the top food. It's a book filled with history. Not only are there recipes that take the chef bake to olden days, there are pages of history and guides that help you understand the Borough Market more than any random Londoner. If you enjoy shopping at the Borough Market then this book is an essential guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present for keen cook!, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish (Hardcover)
Recipient very pleased went straight out for ingredients
to get cooking! Cook book with meat and fish recipes was requested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, lots of info, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish (Hardcover)
I bought this as a christmas present for my mum, so I can't really give a full review - but it was certainly a v good quality book, with a lot of info on the market and history of certain things as well as recipes! - or so it seemed to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ostrich and Mussels, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish (Hardcover)
Six recipes for ostrich! Their excuse is that it is a 'lean meat'. Please get up to date with health research. Animal fat doesn't matter, in fact it is far better for you than vegetable fat.
I bought this because I wanted meat recipes for my low carb diet. There is only a couple I could use and one is beef daube which I already know how to cook. Most recipes had honey, pulses, starchy veg. added. Lots of the recipes are highly involved i.e. marinade for 3 days, cook for 6 hours add something else and cook again.
The book was supposed to be a chatty, happy account of the market's so called produce experts and their delightful recipes. Sadly has added nothing to my diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish
The Borough Market Cookbook: Meat and Fish by Sarah Freeman and Sarah Leahey Benjamin (Hardcover - 24 Nov. 2007)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews