Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Date Information
This book is essential for the serious Airgun hunter. The author is completely up to the minute with what is new in the airgun world and believe me rifles in particular have changed so much in the last few years. This book helps you to choose the correct rifle for your needs and also the correct ammunition. I personally think that this can be very important, particularly...
Published on 27 Aug 2006 by J. Chippindale

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short on facts
This was my first book on the subject and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. The author is a regular magazine contributor - and it shows. It's written in a blokey, chatty style that is rich in opinion but short on solid information. The first sections are, in fairness quite detailed and technical though information is not presented in a logical fashion. The later...
Published on 3 Sep 2007 by Butty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Date Information, 27 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
This book is essential for the serious Airgun hunter. The author is completely up to the minute with what is new in the airgun world and believe me rifles in particular have changed so much in the last few years. This book helps you to choose the correct rifle for your needs and also the correct ammunition. I personally think that this can be very important, particularly as there are now restrictions on the power of the rifle.

There will always be the perennial debate regarding .177 or .22 and it is basically down to the individual which one you go for, or if you are a serious shooter with plenty of money you will probably go for both. For hunting I personally think .22 is the better calibre, but you can put up a good case for either.

The author gives the reader an insight into everything he needs to know about; What type of telescopic sight, when firearms certificates are required. The different type of quarry to go for and where to find them and most important of all the law regarding airgun weapons and how to stay within the law.

All in all an excellent and interesting read for anyone seriously interested in air weapons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but could be even more informative, 11 July 2008
By 
M. Dyson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
This book is packed with useful information and anyone new to airgun hunting cannot fail to learn a huge amount.
I've found a couple of contradictions: ".177...can be affected by wind...A larger heavier pellet does tend to fly more true..." (p65), "...177...is lighter and flies faster...a light crosswind affects its smaller mass less." (p79). "...when targeting rats...a .177 pellet needs to go straight into the brain or heart...headshots are preferable and with the .177 calibre essential." (p149)
Diagrams and a little more technical information are lacking where they would sometimes be useful, e.g. Ballistics pp62-3, is a rather confusing discussion, whereas the simple observation that hitting power (momentum) is given by pellet weight multiplied by velocity would clarify things. A numerical example of the difference between .177 and .22 could then be given to demonstrate the momentum loss in .177 (along with the info on the flatter trajectory); Woodpigeon killzones, upper chest cavity shot (p158), a diagram definitely is required (I'm still not fully sure precisely what Pete means here - "the angle has to be right" - but what is that angle?)
Granted the book is not a pest control manual, but a section on how airguns can fit into the pest control spectrum would be helpful - how effective are airguns compared to poison in regard to rats? When to use which? Are they better than traps, and if so when? There is obviously a definite overlap between the use of airguns in hunting sport and their use from a purely pest control perspective, and Total Airguns would be a more complete work if there was an explicit section reflecting this overlap. Maybe this is wishful thinking on my part but it would be nice to see it all the same.
But overall a very useful book to have on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Reference Book, 19 July 2006
By 
J. E. Dorr "Jules D" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
Total Airguns by Pete Wadeson is an excellent one stop book. If you want to know how to hunt with an air rifle this book deals thorougly with every aspect of the sport and many aspects you hadn't even considered. It covers gun choice and handling, ammo, finding a shoot, the various quarrys, fieldcraft, accesorries, gun maintenance, food preparation and probably every other topic associated with air rifle hunting. Pete is right up to date with his knowledge of modern air rifles, equipment, cammo gear, etc, and crucial issues such as safety and the law are dealt with in the kind of clear language it is often difficult to elicit from members of our somewhat taciturn shooting faternity. In fact he cuts through most popular opinion with the kind of straight talking based on knowledge and experience that we should respect. This is a great reference book for dipping in and out of, is very readable and informative. My only criticism is that there should be more pictures, and all the pictures should be in colour, (come on publishers), more drawings and diagrams, eg; for hide building, gun cleaning and treatment of meat in the recipe section. Yes, the book could be longer! But all in all the most comprehensive, up to date, well written book currently available on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just The Job, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
I have been shooting for around 10 years but mainly with shotguns. I decided to move into airrifles due to location issues. To start in something i thought i would invest in a good book to give me some pointers and to research certain aspects of the sport. This book does it all. Its so detailed without being confusing. If you havent gone shooting with an air rifle or would like to get into the stport and need a good explaination of all aspectsof the sport get this. It takes you through from buying the right gun to seasons of pest control and pointers of hunting specific quarry.

Great buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chunky balanced book with lots of useful information, 9 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
I bought 2 books on airguns at the end of 2009 and this was by far the best value as it's full of no-nonsense practical advice. In contrast to the other book, I sense that the author has a broad and balanced knowledge of the subject. If you only want to stand in a row and shoot holes in paper targets all day you might want to buy a book dedicated to the mechanics of target shooting instead. If, however, you want a breadth of practical knowledge and experience for all round air rifle shooting including hunting, then this interesting book will be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars total air guns, 24 Jan 2009
By 
the builder (suffolk england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
Have had a gun for over 30yrs and wanted to do some hunting instead of back garden shooting.researched several books before spending money on total air guns.
This book is bang upto date with the latest thinking on everything for the airgunner,having always had a .22 springeR, Peters advice for its use is spot on.Have decided on what new gun to get from his top selections in the book, then researched this further and the gun shops have agreed with his choice.
This book is VERY WELL WRITTEN and follows a logical path through each chapter, Peter explains in detail and holds you captive,the only critism is there are plenty photos but not colour!.dont think i will ever be as serious about the sport as peter is, but am grateful for all his insight, can honestly say BUY THIS BOOK and learn how to hunt/where/when/what and more.BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles, 29 April 2009
By 
B. R. Nolan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
Excellent book, very clear and easy to read format, recommended to novice (me) and experienced shooter also.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!!!!, 22 April 2008
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
Novice and experienced hunters would do well to read this book. In my opinion it is HIGHLY INFORMATIVE, EXTREMELY COMPREHENSIVE and a must for anyone interested in this subject. I cannot rate this book too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short on facts, 3 Sep 2007
By 
Butty (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles (Hardcover)
This was my first book on the subject and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. The author is a regular magazine contributor - and it shows. It's written in a blokey, chatty style that is rich in opinion but short on solid information. The first sections are, in fairness quite detailed and technical though information is not presented in a logical fashion. The later sections of the book are there just to add bulk - recipes and nature notes. I am sure that someone new to the sport, looking to improve their technique and learn more about the equipment could find a better source of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book. I'm new to airgun shooting and hence learned a lot from it. It's well written and easy to read. I only wish I'd read this before deciding to buy a 22 air rifle, as I suspect I should have gone the 177 route. Oh well, I'll just have to buy another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles
Total Airguns: The Complete Guide to Hunting with Air Rifles by Peter Wadeson (Hardcover - 12 May 2005)
Used & New from: 11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews