Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar - Pocket Essentials
Details.
Sean Martin's book is a good starting point from which to study the Knights Templar. Three essential points commend his book;
• The book is an easy read. This is not due to its short length (132 pages of text - uk edition) but due to the author's easygoing style. With some books you can struggle with the text, especially those that weave complex...
Published on 22 April 2004 by Dr. M. J. Foster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad as a general history and a brief introduction to the subject.
Published 1 month ago by katetudor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar - Pocket Essentials, 22 April 2004
This review is from: KNIGHTS TEMPLAR, THE (Pocket Essentials) (Hardcover)
Details.
Sean Martin's book is a good starting point from which to study the Knights Templar. Three essential points commend his book;
• The book is an easy read. This is not due to its short length (132 pages of text - uk edition) but due to the author's easygoing style. With some books you can struggle with the text, especially those that weave complex themes throughout the narrative. With this book, the subject matter is presented clearly and there is a flow to the text.
• The book gives a clear and useful survey of the history of the Knights Templar, from their foundation to their suppression in 1307.
• The book makes clear what we know about the Templars and what belongs to the realm of speculation.
The introduction to the book explores the various images that people have held, or still hold, concerning the Knights Templar, from the historical to the speculative. The historical survey in the book, provides details such as the background to the First Crusade and the foundation of the Templars in response to a need to have at hand a standing army. Discussed is the theological underpinning by St Bernhard (who as revealed by Martin, was a nephew of one of the Templars), which perhaps in this day and age we might call "spin". The act of killing an enemy of the cross (and we must remember that Islam had overrun the Christian East - and such warfare in which the Templars were involved, was seeking to reclaim territory) was not "homicide" but "malecide" - the eradication of evil! Martin reminds the reader of the extensive European support network, which is often forgotten, that allowed the support by the Templars to maintaining the Christian nations in the Holy Land. Brought into relief is the very close and interwoven relationship with France (as part of the support network) and in particular with the French Monarchy, which ultimately brought the downfall of the Templars. There are of course some elements in the Templars history, where there are real gaps in what we know. Martin is aware of those authors who seek to fill these gaps by speculation. In the Bibliography, the books are divided into two groups; "Orthodox", and "Speculative", which should assist any reader who seeks to follow up the history in closer detail. Sean Martin however does not forsake entirely the area of these gaps in our knowledge which is known as the "Templar Mysteries" For example; (a) that the exact beginnings of the Order are shrouded in mystery - when were they actually formed?, (b) what was going on at the Templar Site on the Temple Mount - what did they find there?, (c) did the Templars possess the Holy Grail (the chalice used at the Last Supper)?, (d) what was the Templars relationship with the Arab world?, (e) were the Templars heretics?, (d) did they worship some strange head?, (e) what happened the Templar treasure and Fleet?, (f) what happened to those Templars which escaped imprisonment and execution? These questions all form the last chapter in the book.
Conclusions.
I have several books on the Knights Templar, mainly those in the Orthodox book list, which Martin provided. However there are a few on my bookshelves that I have not read yet due to their larger size (and that I am seeking to read at least three serious books at any one time!). The advantage of Martin's book was its size. Not only is it a handy size in terms of book dimension (186 x 124mm) for travelling around with, but at 275-280 words per page, with only 132 pages of the main text, to read the whole book was not a difficult task.
Essentially the book is what it says it is; a pocket essential, and it does that job extremely well. If you are in need of a starting guide from which to learn about the history of the Knights Templar, this book is a bargain and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise information about the templars, 20 Nov 2004
By 
R. Rodriguez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KNIGHTS TEMPLAR, THE (Pocket Essentials) (Hardcover)
I read the book and it was compelling. The author presents a mix of speculation and facts about the history of templars. The book is very easy to read. On the other hand, it is quite succint(an entire book could be written with the topics of some chapters!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audiobook version, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. Nicola J. Booth "Nicola" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knights Templar, The (Paperback)
Just enjoyed listening to the audiobook version for the Knights Templar. A really good book, worth reading or listening to. A good starting point for learning / researching the Knights Templar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riviting Reading, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. G. Piper "gilly22" (South Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knights Templar, The (Paperback)
I bought this book for my brother in law for his birthday. He says he is thoroughly enjoying it and would recommend it. He had been watching the series on the TV and this is what inspired him to want the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The knights Templar, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Knights Templar, The (Paperback)
It unravels some of the mysteries of these people, though it gets a bit wearsome with a plethora of names. Nonetheless it is a very absorbing and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars knights templar, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Knights Templar, The (Paperback)
delivery prompt as usual , the book was very helpful if your a beginner into the history of the nights Templar's easy to read, not to long so it doesn't bog you down and get boring . very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy introduction to the History of the Templar Knights, 15 Dec 2009
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knights Templar, The (Paperback)
This short volume is very easy to read and covers all the points of the Templar History.

It is only an introduction and if you want to find more about the Templars I recommend "The Dramatic History of the Knights Templar
by Piers Paul Read "

The book contains 3 maps with all the main locations but hardly any details and no pictures. It has a very good selected bibliography and footnotes.

As the history spans for more than 2 centuries the book concentrates on the politics of the order rather than in any specific event.

It can be read in a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad as a general history and a brief introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting account of the knights Templar, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Jerome Brown "Old Salt" (Marske , Cleveland , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this good book, which dispels some myths, through sticking to the facts. Good summary at the end of the book, and reference to the mysteries surrounding the Templars, acknowledging that there is little proof of the theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Knights Templar, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Sean Martins style, easy to read and very interesting, he does write other history (pocket essentials) books which I will purchase in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KNIGHTS TEMPLAR, THE (Pocket Essentials)
KNIGHTS TEMPLAR, THE (Pocket Essentials) by Sean Martin (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews