Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for cat lovers
I bought this book as a gift for my mother but I'm keeping it! I already own dozens of 'cat books' and didn't think this one would add much to my knowledge - but it has & is probably the most useful book on cat behaviour I have read. It is not a glossy picture type of book, it's fairly detailed information for a cat owner who wants to understand how her cat's mind...
Published on 23 Nov 2001

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you're looking for....
I was trying to find a book that outlined the behaviour of cats quite specifically with respect to their biology and/or physiology perhaps. Not putting the book down but it (for me at least) was just too much common sense and not enough on how to change the errant behaviour problems you might encounter. Some useful info here and there, but if you're looking for a book...
Published on 31 Oct 2004 by K. A. R. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for cat lovers, 23 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my mother but I'm keeping it! I already own dozens of 'cat books' and didn't think this one would add much to my knowledge - but it has & is probably the most useful book on cat behaviour I have read. It is not a glossy picture type of book, it's fairly detailed information for a cat owner who wants to understand how her cat's mind works, presented in an easily understood way. Claire Bessant is a very good writer with a relaxed but knowledgable style, and the book is full of excellent tips to improve the relationship you have with your cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you're looking for...., 31 Oct 2004
By 
K. A. R. Wright "Ha Tikvah" (N. Ireland U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was trying to find a book that outlined the behaviour of cats quite specifically with respect to their biology and/or physiology perhaps. Not putting the book down but it (for me at least) was just too much common sense and not enough on how to change the errant behaviour problems you might encounter. Some useful info here and there, but if you're looking for a book that will *really* tell you why your cat is annihilating you on a regular basis for no good reason, this isn't the one. Least it certainly didn't provide me with any info I didn't already know nor solutions which I could really do with :-(.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want one cat book? This one!, 11 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Paperback)
As a canine behaviourologist, I often have trouble finding books that go deep enough for me, yet can be recommended to people who don't work with animals the way I do. I have a cat that thinks he's a dog (nothing to do with me), likes to break all the rules, and is nothing like the cats I've had before. If he was a dog, I'd be fine, but I really don't have a clue about cats! But this book helped me work out what was going on in his little brain. I have used most of the information in the book to improve my relationship with him, and cannot believe the difference it has made. Rather than treating him as a cute bimbo, I've recognised just how much is going on in there and started clicker training him. Cats can sit and fetch and walk to heel too! I strongly recommend all cat owners get a read of this book so we can learn to recognise the smarty-pants cats we have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning about cats, 28 April 2009
By 
Pauline Aksungur "pollyaksungur" (Adana, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Paperback)
I have a cat that is somewhat of a problem so I found an animal trainer. When the trainer tested my cat, the cat frightened the trainer so much that he said it would be impossible for him to work with my cat. So I ordered several books on cat training and of those I liked The Cat Whisperer the most. The author gives a good description of the nature of cats, how they see, and how sensitive their hearing and sense of smell is. She tells you how to read the body language of the cat, their facial expressions and how they hold their ears and tails according to the mood they are in as well as the reason they rub up against you. But most important of all, she tells you how you can train your cat. My cat and I get along much better since I read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointed, 4 Jan 2006
By 
Rachel E. Brown "randdom85" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being the owner of four cats I was really looking forward to reading this book. However I found that much of what it had to say on how cats acted behaved postures etc most cat owners would already know just by observing their cats. The section on solving problems with your cats was no where near developed enough. In conclusion a very disapointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Readable, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Paperback)
Once I started to read I couldn't put this book down. The writing style is very engaging and the writer certainly knows her subject. I have 3 adopted feral cats which I am gradually trying to humanise. O adopted them at about 6-8 weeks - how I wish I had ready this book when I first took them in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE CAT WHISPERER, 17 Sep 2003
By A Customer
An ideal name for an indepth love of cats. The book portrays many encounters with our feline friends and gives varied and complete information about many aspects that anyone may have ever thought or wondered about a cat's behaviour and human interaction. A very intelligent outgoing book that gives us humans insight into the nature and behaviour of what Claire Bessant endeavours to make our close companions. A very agreeable and well thought out empathy approach to the understanding of a cats personality. A great book to read.
Very imaginative and entertaining. A book for the bookshelf to take out at will, to enjoy by the fireside or as a quick reference to the pyschology of being a cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars aha!, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Paperback)
I was brought up with cats and recently got a cat, so being an experienced with cats I still found some "aha"-experiences while reading this book. I recommend it especially to new cat owners or people with little experience of cats, but who are considering getting one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cat Whisperer, 11 May 2010
By 
Yvonne Greene - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Hardcover)
It is a good introductory book about cats but wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something more informative about communicating with cats. There is a brief section on it but not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. M. N. Longmore (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat Whisperer (Paperback)
Great little book - lots of interesting facts and proving useful in helping to understand our three !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat Whisperer
The Cat Whisperer by Claire Bessant (Paperback - 22 Nov 2003)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews