Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book
this is an excellent little book if like me you are into reading about depraved individuals

The book is quick to the point and gives you a little background on the killers and their upbringings before he finally reveals what he shared with them in the interviews.

As other reviewers have said around 80% of this book is dedicated to telling you about...
Published on 10 July 2011 by david quinn

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire
This has to be one of the most disappointing books I have ever read. I expected it to be fascinating. I suspect it hadn't even been proof-read before publication. So many "facts" were at odds with each other, key dates changing from sentence to sentence. Don't bother with it!
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Getting On A Bit


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 26 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
This has to be one of the most disappointing books I have ever read. I expected it to be fascinating. I suspect it hadn't even been proof-read before publication. So many "facts" were at odds with each other, key dates changing from sentence to sentence. Don't bother with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great deal of talking with serial killers!, 17 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
I began reading this book with the notion in my head that it would provide me with an insight into a serial killers mind. The first section starts off brightly and does a good job at getting you interested in the way the book will eventually pan out. However, as I progressed I found that the title was more than a little misleading and that the first section by far and away was the best. The problem with the book is that all in all there is very little conversation with the men and women that the book is based on. The author states that he has had numerous correspondance with the subjects, sadly we see very little of this and only brief statements from the 'extensive' interviews carried out. By all means the book is brought together well and does display in great detail the lengths that these people have gone to in order to continue the killing. This though is pieced together by police records and not from the mouth of the convicts as I would have expected.
The author i have no doubts is extremely talented but I feel that the book let me down as much as I bought a bmw only to find the interior and engine of a cortina.
All in all the book is readable and is worth a look at, as long as you undersatnd it is merely 'a chat with serial killers' and not what you might expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin., 27 April 2012
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
Although sometimes there are one or two facts here and there the writer seems more interesting in telling us how he solved this and that by having such an amazing insight in to these psychos minds. Information is given here and there about things but with no explanations after. At times it is badly written and certainly isnt Talking with Serial Killers. Should be called brief sentences if conversations with serial killers. You would be better off reading info of wikipedia. It would be more reliable and informative. At times interesting, other times exploitative and other times just boring and hard keep up with. Took me weeks to finish I got so bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 10 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
this is an excellent little book if like me you are into reading about depraved individuals

The book is quick to the point and gives you a little background on the killers and their upbringings before he finally reveals what he shared with them in the interviews.

As other reviewers have said around 80% of this book is dedicated to telling you about the crimes of the killers other than when he is actually talking to them, unfortunately it is neccessary to do so as im sure there are people out there who really wouldnt know who they are, as to be honest its mostly the lesser known serial killers he interviews. But what is said is very intriguing never the less.

On the whole a very good book and reccomended to all serial killer 'fans' out there

I also highly reccomend the book 'in the minds of murderers' by Paul roland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much rubbish, 8 Jun. 2008
By 
Mrs. B. Gilbert "Grief Encounter" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
Whilst each case is a unique interesting one, there are way too many facts and nowhere near enough about the interviews. It also gets less and less interesting as the book goes on but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very little conversation involved, 11 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
This book should be called ' Why talk to serial killers when you know everything already?' as Mr. Barry-Dee seems to think that we are far more interested in what he has to say anyway. Though he has, apparently, had a great deal of interaction with the people he discusses you would be forgiven for doubting that as he only ever includes a few words from them at the end. It is overly sensational, describing one man as 'a monster in every sense of the word'. I don't see how this can be the case, as one sense of the word is 'a mythological creature' which seems ludicrous unless we all had a mass hallucintion that this man exists. As someone who is studying to (hopefully) become a forensic psychologist, I find books like this one abhorrent as they merely serve to enhance the idea that these people are a different breed to the rest of us, which I find rediculous and not very helpful to those who wish to understand these people better. In addition to this, having read about some of the cases before, I find some of his inferences laughable. This is a man who clearly has his own agenda (pro death penalty, in my opinion). The fact that he takes pains to prove that Henry Lee Lucas is a 'liar' because he contradicts himself seems to suggest that he has little real appreciation of insanity as he judges him on far too rational terms. If you want to learn about this subject, I would suggest 'Guilty by Reason of Insanity by D. Otnow or any of the wonderfully sensative and unsensational accounts of crime wriiten by Brian Masters. Read this is you want to get all the gory details with no genuine thought attatched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No conversations, just reads like wiki pages..., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
Awful stuff. Actual conversations between author and killer is confined to a few pages per chapter, at best. Just re-tells the stories of their killing days and a bit about their childhoods. Almost nothing new, novel, or insightful at all...just "he did this, then he did that...". Might as well look at the killers' wiki pages. A total waste of time. If you want an author who really gets under the skin of killers, buy the Brian Masters' Dahmer and Neilson books. This is amateur money making pap - avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
As mentioned in previous reviews, Christopher Berry-Dee seems far more preoccupied with his own inflated sense of self-worth. The book reads somewhat like an extensive Daily Mail article; I find it difficult to believe that a man who claims to be renowned for his knowledge in the field dismisses many of these infamous and often misunderstood people as 'monsters', etc. This is perhaps the worst part of it - the constant sensationalism, with seemingly no real attempt to understand how these HUMAN BEINGS evolved into killers. There's also an undercurrent of arrogance from the author that runs throughout the book; at points I wondered if I was really being given an insight into the minds of serial killers, or rather poor examples of how wonderful and fascinating Berry-Dee obviously finds himself. Many of the facts are jumbled, and evidence not cited. Simple things such as throwing in names of witnesses without explaining their associations with the cases only served to further my opinion that this is little more than self-involved, pompous drivel... However, if you do want a book that capitalises on the gory details of each murder, but rarely delves much deeper, then I suppose it is an interesting read. Not one for me, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, interesting book, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
Emanon (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
This book does not have much 'talking' with serial killers in it. There are some transcripts of conversations, but what is interesting are the life stories of the killers. The author has pieced together each of their stories, showing how they became what they did, and it is this journey that is most interesting. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Presenting conjecture and opinion as actual fact...., 6 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories (Paperback)
A handful of short excerpts taken from interview transcripts constitute the 'conversation' with serial killers in this book. 90% of the book is Mr Berry Dee hypothesising on what actually happened, motivations and psychology, and presenting his own interpretation and opinion as actual fact. I was left feeling contempt for him because this book is mediocre, sensationalist and completely lacks credibility.

If you are looking for real insight into the criminal mind I suggest reading anything by or involving Robert Ressler or David Canter, genuine criminal profilers not authors with ideas of self grandeur and an over inflated sense of importance.

This book gets two stars instead of one because the only good thing it has going for it is that it focuses on less well-known serial killers rather than the big 5, Dahmer, Bundy, Manson, Nielsen and Gein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talking with Serial Killers: The Most Evil People in the World Tell Their Own Stories
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews