Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess this guy about!
When I first looked at the cover of 'Muscle' I automatically assumed Carlton Leach was another of the so-called London gangsters trying to cash in on his so-called experiences. How wrong I was!! Carlton Leach is a bloke who sounds like you would definatley want him backing you up if you were ever in trouble. The guy goes out of his way for his friends and family and...
Published on 9 Mar 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read.....
This is one of those gangster/hardmen type genre and as such is to be read tongue in cheek as it's full of the big I am, if you read the stories as just that then its an interesting read, if you are looking for insights into the Rettendon murders, which originally sold the book, there are no answers or clues here, its best read as doorman takes drugs, steroids and goes on...
Published 18 months ago by Baz Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess this guy about!, 9 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Muscle (Hardcover)
When I first looked at the cover of 'Muscle' I automatically assumed Carlton Leach was another of the so-called London gangsters trying to cash in on his so-called experiences. How wrong I was!! Carlton Leach is a bloke who sounds like you would definatley want him backing you up if you were ever in trouble. The guy goes out of his way for his friends and family and loyalty is his main priority in life. For a thrilling read describing his life on the doors of some of London's most illustrious night clubs to minding drug dealers dealing in millions of pounds, Carlton Leach's book will leave you mesmerised by the lifestyle of these 'true' members of the London underworld
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best UK gangland book you will read this year, 11 Mar 2003
By 
MR ROB DAVIES (Watford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
Carlton Leach is man who's reputation goes before him, the picture on the front cover shows a terrifying looking bloke. From start to finish I found this book absolutely impossible to put down. It is action all the way through.
I found one of the most impressive things about this book was that it didn't follow the traditional gangster biography route. It doesn't dwell on a bad upbringing in a rough area, where a violent father would beat the protagonist to a pulp. This book purely focuses on Carlton Leach's adult life, and his absolute love affair with the good life, and brutal violence. Surely the author's life would be interesting enough had it not been for his links to the essex boys gang, and therefore the now infamous Rettendon murders, where some of his closest pals were dealt with. This gives the book a good central theme, and all other escapades thread nicely from it. If you are into books about Britain's top criminals, then this is the one for you, encompassing massive drugs deals, football violence, and the early rave scene.
This is easily the best gangland book you will read this year. Absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars muscle, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
Its a good book and an enjoyable read, tends to repeat itself from time to time, but over all an intresting read. Gives a sinister look in to the life of Carlton Leach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muscle, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
I have seen his film rise of the foot soldiers and I enjoyed it so I got this book and it is a very good read a must for all fans of Carlton Leach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book it was an entertaining read. If you are interested by crime, drugs, gangland or anything similar you will probably like it.

Although i noticed a few times he had been quoted saying something then a few pages later brought what he had said back up and it had been different to what had originally said when first quoted, Which sort of makes me question if things have been exaggerated. Saying that though these things happened along time ago and it was still an excellent to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars muscle, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
my husband thought this book was really good he thoroughly enjoyed it and so I will get more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
Found this book absolutely fascinating as it gives such a gripping outline of Carlton Leach' life far beyond from what is seen on Rise of the Footsoldier. A fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read....., 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
This is one of those gangster/hardmen type genre and as such is to be read tongue in cheek as it's full of the big I am, if you read the stories as just that then its an interesting read, if you are looking for insights into the Rettendon murders, which originally sold the book, there are no answers or clues here, its best read as doorman takes drugs, steroids and goes on a rampage. It is a good story book, mostly well written though suffers dull and repetative lows in places, overall though it's worth a read.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth A Read, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
Met Carlton a few times in the past and always seemed a pleasent guy although I wouldn't like to cross him. Obviously the book is written from Carlton's prospective. He admits to being no angel in his time but I'd rather read the truth. Well worth a read in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muscle (paperback) Carlton Leach, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: Muscle (Paperback)
This totally Honest,Hardcore & sometime`s Brutal insight,of one Man`s battle & the extreme length`s that Carlton Leach was prepared to go through (& Did go through?)in order to uphold & maintain his `Hard Man` status that he gained from year`s & year`s of fighting on the Football Hooligan Terrace`s?? This story is both Mind blowing yet endearing at the same time,when your invited into this person`s perception of Exactly How far & All the Personal Sacrifice`s one man was willing to go to & make,purely to prove his Loyalty & reliability when it came to standing by & Always having his closest friend`s back (No matter what?) Some may say that the content`s of this book is in some way trying to `Glamorize` Violence & dismiss the consequence`s & pain that the violence at this level cause`s so many other`s?? DO NOT READ THIS BOOK if your not willing or prepared to learn the Brutal fact`s that this book entail`s from start to finish?? It really wont appeal or give an absolute understanding to alot of people that dont or cant see anything beyond the Violence that some of us continuously find themselve`s surrounded with on a Daily basis?? Muscle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muscle
Muscle by Carlton Leach (Paperback - 14 Mar 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews