Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heeeeeeeee's Baaaaaaaaaaack!!!! And funnier than ever!
Just when you thought it was safe and the time was right to start believing your fellow human being was capable of doing the right thing, David Charters (ooops, I mean Dave Hart) returns to regale us in the ways of the wicked City. Charters, an absolutely brilliant satirist, has created one of the most despicable (and heartless) characters in literature, that is to say,...
Published on 12 Feb. 2008 by Norman Eskind

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Don't give this guy your money. Utterly dreadful read
Published 2 months ago by Gb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heeeeeeeee's Baaaaaaaaaaack!!!! And funnier than ever!, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Norman Eskind (Dallas, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ego Has Landed (Paperback)
Just when you thought it was safe and the time was right to start believing your fellow human being was capable of doing the right thing, David Charters (ooops, I mean Dave Hart) returns to regale us in the ways of the wicked City. Charters, an absolutely brilliant satirist, has created one of the most despicable (and heartless) characters in literature, that is to say, the venal Dave Hart. Everything that Hart does turns out correctly, but for all the wrong reasons. It is true that the lovely "Two Livers" is there to assist him when Hart is in action, but Hart, inspite of himself, has done no wrong.

In order the get the most out of this book, it truly helps to read the first two installments in the Dave Hart saga - "At Bonus Time, No-one Can Hear You Scream" and "Trust Me, I'm a Banker". Otherwise, you won't completely appreciate the shallowness of Dave Hart and the depth of the wit of David Charters.

Originally this was to be the third installment of a trilogy, but it looks like a fourth segment is in the works, Where Egos Dare, to be published in the Autumn of 2009. Will Hart be brought to heel or will he live to see another day? Only Charters knows for certain (and so far he hasn't told us).

And once again, Alice Rosenbaum has taken marvelous pictures along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The franchise continues to deliver, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the first two Dave Hart books then you'll be pleased to hear that it is still going strong. Read them in order and then buy this one as well. Hoping it gets turned into a TV series or film soon as it's rare to get a humorous and insightful portrayal of the city done so well, think "Yes Prime Minister!" but based on the city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great series of books from David charters, I'd recommend you read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ego Has Landed (Paperback)
Don't give this guy your money. Utterly dreadful read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save the third world!, 12 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Ego Has Landed (Paperback)
I've often wondered why bankers didn't do something about all the third world dictators and miscellaneous villains who shelter their money in big name firms in the City. Now I understand. Anyone concerned with third world development should read this. It's written as satire, but I can't help thinking there's a lot more to it than most of us would realise. Very funny, as all of these Dave Hart novels are, but it leaves you wondering if it isn't a bit too close to the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ego Has Landed
The Ego Has Landed by David Charters (Paperback - 2 Nov. 2007)
£9.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews