Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
It's no wonder that booksellers in the Square Mile are struggling to keep the first book by David Charters in stock. He exposes the distortion fields through which City people see themselves and the world in a series of brilliantly observed stories, whose unexpected twists of plot surprise and delight. Highly recommended.
Published on 28 Nov 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average
more of the same from David Charters, nothing special but it filled a couple mornings on the train
Published 4 months ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 28 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
It's no wonder that booksellers in the Square Mile are struggling to keep the first book by David Charters in stock. He exposes the distortion fields through which City people see themselves and the world in a series of brilliantly observed stories, whose unexpected twists of plot surprise and delight. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Tears, 22 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
Love or loathe the unwritten codes of behaviour that drive people in the City to become increasingly isolated from reality David Charters' No Tears is a totally compelling collection of short stories. All are well crafted and each has a twist in the tale which whets the appetite to continue on to the next and the next.... so that I finished the collection in one sitting.The author has an acute understanding of the politics,egos,backstabbing and greed that are part and parcel of everyday existence in large investment banks, as US regulators are now realising. But beyond the tales of excess and selfish behaviour he raises deeper questions - just what sorts of people are these? Do they have any values beyond a desire for even more money in their bank accounts? If these are representative of how life now is in the Square Mile then one can see why he has turned to other interests. However, how fortunate we are that he has the skill to transcribe his acute powers of observation into such a compelling read. Roll on the next volume; will it be the City again or another angle on the darker sides of human nature?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Tears, 4 Oct 2008
By 
Paul Hanratty (Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
I've just finished this excellent collection of short stories as the world's financial markets are collasping and causing misery for millions. Much criticism has been levelled at the city and the alleged greed of those who make their living out of gambling with other people's money. Am I sorry for them? I don't think so thanks to Mr Charter's portrayal of the utter depravity and lack of any moral fibre of those who ruthlessly pursue the big bonus. Maybe I read this book at the wrong time and therefore won't be shedding a tear for those wealthy bankers and traders who might just be feeling a little uneasy today. Enough of the rant. I actually enjoyed the book and looked forward to the twist in each tale. I will read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great City classic, 25 July 2007
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
No Tears is almost required reading in the City now and should be given to everyone starting work at a big bank on their first day! It's delightfully dark and humorous at the same time, and the stories are all very different, though the underlying themes of greed and selfishness are the same. I'm guessing that a few people think they've recognised themselves and are not too happy, which makes it all the more amusing, and might account for some of the reviews - very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Tears, 7 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
Unusually for a collection of short stories, No Tears left this reader wanting more. The stories are set mainly in the City of London and feature those whose daily toil involves moving, spending and earning vast wads of money. The rewards for these people are enormous - but they function under scarcely imaginable stress, and not surprisingly it takes its toll in terms of their humanity and , sometimes, their sexuality too. You don't have to be a lefty to wonder how it is that the games they play are so disassociated from what happens in what the economists are pleased to call the real world - not that such a concept would concern them much. They operate in a climate of fear, greed and a debauch of permanent self-regard. The author clearly knows his stuff and he includes some sharply observed insider details. The effect is surprisingly sardonic and informed with a certain puritan zeal that gives these tales extra bite. It's as if Roald Dahl were fused with the FT. Horribly compelling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 13 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
I am not normally a reader of short stories or a fan of City fiction, but these stories are a classic: fast-paced, surprising and satisfying with plenty of humour all-round. The author has the ability to make you feel you know the characters in just a few lines and clearly has a strong sense of justice as he makes sure they get their just desserts. He writes in a variety of different styles, and my only criticism is that one or two stories had too much detail on high finance. A great read, but it will put you off a City career. The author's dedication at the beginning says it all: "To the best of them, for the friendship and the good times. And to the worst of them, for the inspiration."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 25 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading and re-reading this book:
- it reads well
- the plots of the stories and characters are very believable and highly entertaining
- it's nice expose of human weaknesses, specifically: egomania, greed and excessive risk taking, which contributed so much to the ongoing economic trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 4 Nov 2007
By 
S. A. Richmond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
I don't know why I was so shocked at the end of each story, but without exception each tale had a fantastic ending where you'd think "jeezz". Very well written in an entertaining and engaging way. I'd certinely read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roald Dahl meets the City, 1 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
If you believe that the City is a nice, gentlemanly, civilised place, you'll either hate this book or it'll make the shades fall from your eyes with a clatter. The truth is that big money, big egos and sharp elbows make this a rottweiler-eat-rottweiler world. No Tears should be compulsory reading for anyone thinking of a career there, so they know just how Faustian the pact is. It's hard to believe that this is Charters's debut. The prose sparkles, and in true Dahlian fashion, there's a violent twist in every one of these stories. Seeing the poisonous fat cats meet their sticky end feels like watching a Rolls Royce crash in slow motion. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-have for People Working in the City, 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile (Paperback)
I am not a banker. I was someone who worked with the bankers everyday. I was a corporate lawyer. I bought this book when I was in the most desperate period of my life: working long hours with the bankers knowing I only earn 1/10 or 1/100 of what they earn. I just wanted to see the dark side of their life to somehow make myself feel better.

I did. The book is easy to read. The humour (esp. for those insiders) and the surprising ending of each story make you just want to read the next one. And after finishing the whole book, I just wanted to re-read it. I did, several times. It's my all time favourite.

Highly recommended for bankers, lawyers and all the other slaves working in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile
No Tears: Tales from the Square Mile by David Charters (Paperback - 26 Sep 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews