Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating , easily read book
This book focuses on a wide range of vegetarian food, the styles of which cover the breadth of the continent.Ingredients and their accessibility in the west is explained.
This is the kind of book which anyone who has visited India who wants to create at home some of the versatility of its cuisine should have on their shelf. Furthermore it has many recipes which...
Published on 6 Feb 2002

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the enthusiast......
This would be a great book, as explained in the other review, for anyone with a passion for home cooked Indian food. The recipes are very detailed and well explained. The start of the book gives a very good introduction to how Indian families prepare and cook food at home, and provides an exhaustive account of the ingredients used.

Unfortunately, I have not...
Published on 25 July 2009 by S. Weber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating , easily read book, 6 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This book focuses on a wide range of vegetarian food, the styles of which cover the breadth of the continent.Ingredients and their accessibility in the west is explained.
This is the kind of book which anyone who has visited India who wants to create at home some of the versatility of its cuisine should have on their shelf. Furthermore it has many recipes which Vegans could use and thos who are intolerant to wheat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book to add to your collection, 20 Nov 2007
By 
C. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
I have enjoyed using this book & the results have been great with all of the recipies I've tried so far. There is a big section at the beginning of book about the Ingredients used in Indian cooking with great tips on where to find the spices & vegetables that are more difficult to find. The recipes are easy to follow (although some are complex, so make sure you read it all before starting) I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to improve their cooking repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the enthusiast......, 25 July 2009
By 
S. Weber "Rastas" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
This would be a great book, as explained in the other review, for anyone with a passion for home cooked Indian food. The recipes are very detailed and well explained. The start of the book gives a very good introduction to how Indian families prepare and cook food at home, and provides an exhaustive account of the ingredients used.

Unfortunately, I have not found any of the recipes particularly exciting, much of them focus on bean and lentil dishes. The majority of recipes require ingredients which you will only get in an Indian supermarket - even then you might struggle. I think the main problem is that there are no photographs of the food so none of the recipes have ever really drawn me in.

If you are trying to re-create that British Indian restaurant taste, this is not the book for you. If you have travelled round India and sampled the food, it's probably worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars read it use it, 26 Oct 2012
excellent if sometime complex recipes from all over india also useful descriptions of ingredients and tool.my fave are the koyakattai or coconut dumplings.interesting appetizers and chutneys all in all a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Mar 2012
By 
E. J. Bowen (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
Bought this book on the recommendations of others, i havent been disappointed.

nicely set out - easy to read and follow. only thing this misses, are some photos, i like to see what i am aiming for and how close i get to it. ;o)

i would recommend this to anyone who loves indian cooking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!!, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
Fantastic book, Julie Sahni's books are brill. Her recipes are easy to follow & very detailed. She is honest about the cooking times, there's no such thing as a quick curry!
I'm not a vegetarian but i love having meat free days & this is the book i love to delve into.
Check out Classic Indian Cookery also a 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Edith Heidelberger (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
I just simply love reading through this book and I have cooked a few receipes since receiving it.
It is very easy to follow and the instructions are very clear. Some of the ingredients are not so easy for me to
get, since I live in Istanbul, but of the receipes I have cooked, they are simply delicious.

I highly recommend it to anybody who loves good Indian food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very useful for Indiand and non-Indians, 15 Jan 2010
By 
MJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery (Paperback)
WE have found this book in a library first so after testing some recipes we decided to buy it instead of extending the lend :)
While not a vegetarian myself, my partner is one so find it particularly useful as recipes are relatively easy and I can increase my expertise of vegetarian dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery
Classic Indian Vegetarian Cookery by Julie Sahni (Paperback - 31 Oct 2003)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews