Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for Bomber Command POW Researchers
Clutton-Brock's masterwork is the bible for researchers looking for information on Bomber Command's very extensive list of POW's in World War 2.

Of the 125,000 aircrew who served in RAF Bomber Command (including volunteers from the Commonwealth), almost 50% were killed. That is the highest loss rate of any Allied combat unit in the war. But another 10,000 or...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Marc H. Stevens

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A costly experience!
I thought for the information contained in it, it was a very expensive book.
Published 10 months ago by dorothyjean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for Bomber Command POW Researchers, 7 April 2011
By 
Marc H. Stevens "Carrera Marc" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
Clutton-Brock's masterwork is the bible for researchers looking for information on Bomber Command's very extensive list of POW's in World War 2.

Of the 125,000 aircrew who served in RAF Bomber Command (including volunteers from the Commonwealth), almost 50% were killed. That is the highest loss rate of any Allied combat unit in the war. But another 10,000 or so were lucky (?) in being taken as POWs. This work, which must have taken many, many years to compile, details the POW history of every individual one of those 10,000 airmen. Add to that the very detailed individual accounts of some of the more unusual stories, and this book becomes a "must" for anyone with a serious interest in the Allied POWs of WW2.

As the author of a book about one POW escaper ('Escape, Evasion and Revenge, The True Story of a German-Jewish RAF Pilot Who Bombed Berlin and Became a POW', a biography of my father), my own gratitude to the author is without limits.

Thank-you Mr Clutton-Brock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
Denise Boneham "Oggie2620" (Bury St Edmunds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
Its taken me quite a while to get round to reading this book but I am so glad I bought it when one of researcher friends recommended it to me. This is a must for anyone interested in Bomber Command though this book covers all three service plus the merchant marine in places.

It made me sad and made me smile in turns. There was lots of information but there was also lots of personal comments and pieces of history.

Although he says its not necesarily complete the list of POWs is going to be invaluable to me and the list of books gives me more to add to my collection.

Thank you so much Oliver Clutton-Brock for a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful tribute to all those brave men!, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
Mr late husband was in Bomber Command and one of those brave men named in the book, so i suppose i am biased.I gave it to our son for his birthday, and he is really grateful for the way the author has recounted the whole story. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Footprints In The Sands of Time, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
An excellent well researched documentation of the RAF POWs held by the Germans in WWII. Excellent time lines on each of the German POW camps that housed the RAF POWs and many storied of individual flyers, those who were wounded and those who successfully escaped as well as those who were repatriated. Both a reference book for the avid war historian as well as an informative read for anyone who has an interest in WWII allied airmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book for the subject, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Graham R. Withers (Harrow,London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
Being interested in RAF P.O.W.'s,it is a great reference book.It is a great help to me in my studies. I can recommend it anyone interested in the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
A wonderful book, researched in great depth. Oliver Clutton-Brock a master in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P.O.W. Reference Book, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
An Excellent book very informative and a must for B.C. researchers .....it is a must for any serious Bomber Command researchers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
Very helpful with my family history as a member of my mothers family was a POW. I found out lots about what he had to put up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A costly experience!, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45 (Hardcover)
I thought for the information contained in it, it was a very expensive book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Footprints on the Sands of Time: RAF Bomber Command Prisoners of War in Germany 1939-45
Used & New from: £55.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews