Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good general info book
I am thinking of a self build. This book gives the basics and covers a lot of ground from initial design right through to finishing. It looks at green issues from insulation to recycling. It is not the only book you will need as this subject could not possibly fit into one book, but it helps you decide what areas you want to look into further yourself and what areas...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by Philip B

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not 5 stars
Out of date and mostly just an account of the author's not very eco, eco-home built in the 70s. Quite a nice summary of more current projects around the UK
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good general info book, 15 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
I am thinking of a self build. This book gives the basics and covers a lot of ground from initial design right through to finishing. It looks at green issues from insulation to recycling. It is not the only book you will need as this subject could not possibly fit into one book, but it helps you decide what areas you want to look into further yourself and what areas you will ask for help from experts on. Lots of photos (some a little dated) and info for UK self builders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 July 2007
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
My partner and I were inspired to build our own house by the previous version of this book and now we are in this one so I think it's reasonable to call it inspiring.

This is a book with substance and great coffee table pictures as well. A good mix of technical advice and the stories of self builders written by a self builder and very experienced green Architect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not 5 stars, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
Out of date and mostly just an account of the author's not very eco, eco-home built in the 70s. Quite a nice summary of more current projects around the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really intresting., 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
I have not finished reading this yet. But I have read a couple of chapters and had a good flick through.

This book is the the kind of book that i have been looking for for ages but did not know it. I am an architecture student and I have been interested in Deep-green construction since the start of my course. I imagine I will be using this book for the rest of my career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needs revising., 5 Jun 2014
By 
Robin Peacock (Bangkok. Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
This is a great book but needs updating to embrace all the latest innovations in house building and new products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
Maybe too many pictures and not enough Ingo for the cost. I gave this as a Christmas gift and the person did seem to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The green book, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
Informative and interesting book :) good for all rounder for building your own home or just remodeling.could be bit cheaper though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Eco Home, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
This book is excellent for helping one to decide which format to use for building your own home. It entices and yet equally helps one to think the whole project through before making a final decission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a friend who wanted a reasonal green reference book for a self build house project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working through it..., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home (Paperback)
So far, interesting, informative and useful. Bought as a present: recipient spent Xmas evening reading it - rest of us have dipped in. Looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Self-build Book: How to Design and Build Your Own Eco-home
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews