Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an artful book!, 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
I picked up this book when I was trying to understand what "cob" was. Little did I realize at the time that I would not only learn the answer to my question, but that I would become fully engaged in the step-by-step process, skill, beauty, art, and even spirituality of these earth structures. The authors have created a book that stimulates all the senses while at the same time being extremely practical. Simply stated, the book is a glorious experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building with Cob, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
Building with Cob is a stunningly beautiful book! Photos and text not only give the reader a very clear and detailed lesson in building with cob, they also tell such a wonderful story of the authors' obvious love for their craft and for our shared world. Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Building Magazine, 15 Oct 2007
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
This book truly lives up to its cover credits and description of contents:-

"...the most practical and beautifully illustrated book on earth building ever published."

"An inspiring vision and practical guide..."

The step-by-step instructions for creating cob structures are easy to follow, practical and a pleasure to read.

A deep insight and wisdom flows through the words that is uplifting and inspiring. Reminding the reader that they, and the structures they build have a place in Nature.

Also that building with natural substances obeys certain rhythms and laws. Observing these leads to harmonious results and can be fun .

The effect of reading this book is similar to that of reading Christopher Alexander (Pattern Language/Timeless Way of Building).His influence is apparent, and present in some of the quotes.

The illustrations and photographs are clear and graphically excellent, adding visual detail to the text that complements the instructions perfectly. Making it easy for a complete beginner to understand and follow.

The section with information on natural finishes, detailing lime plasters, renders, washes, earthen plasters, and home made clay and casein paints, contains essential basic information, scientific facts, and questions and answers. Also very practical `how-to' instructions, text & ideas.

Finely thought out facts and legalities, including an interview with a specialist Architect are in the informative chapter which advises on constructing cob buildings which comply with modern building standards.

The guidance on restoring and repairing old cob structures details everything from how to make cob blocks, to typical problems you may find.

Useful and helpful at a time when many old buildings are being renovated.

The book is completed with very comprehensive list of resources and suppliers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cob really is exciting!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
This beautifully illustrated, supremely readable book is truly inspirational - but beware, it's so inspirational you may end up moving house just to find that well-drained site outside the city smokeless zone where you can pad about on your newly installed earthern floor and fire-up your bread oven. This book could change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't read this book and not want to build with cob!, 27 Feb 2008
By 
M. Needham (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
I recommend this book very highly to anyone living in or thinking of building a cob home - easily readable but packed full of detailed instructions. Takes you from choosing a site through the design and build of a new project - I've started dreaming about this even though I got the book for information on tackling cob repairs and re-rendering. Well worth getting even if you're planning to get cob work done by professionals - arm yourself with the knowledge to prevent damaging mistakes such as the use of modern renders and acrylic based paints. I'd say buy the book - at the very least it looks good on your bookshelf and gets you outside playing in the mud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring book, 16 Oct 2007
By 
Anthony Levene (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
You don't have to be a budding cob builder to take delight in this book, with its clear textual and diagrammatic explanations. It explains to the uninitiated exactly what is involved in this ancient, yet still highly relevant, craft - leaving you feeling that you could do it too, if you were so minded. That is the gift of teachers who really believe in their subject.
The authors' obvious dedication to their chosen life-work is quite inspiring. So, regardless of the subject matter, it will encourage anyone who desires to be challenged to study their subject and put it into practice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book- Beautiful and Practical, 4 Mar 2006
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
This book was hard for me to put down! I have been wanting to build my own eco house out of cob for years and this book has given me the confidence to have a go. The pictures and diagrams are not only clear but they are also beautiful. I highly reccommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book renovated my house!, 6 Dec 2007
By 
D. Dowling (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book with practical text and wonderfully clear and consise illustrations. I've bought a lot of books on Cob Building and this one really helped me the most. It really is a step-by-step guide on how to build with Cob. The photographs are brilliant, you can see in an instant what the authors are trying to say.
I had a very old cob/mud cottage in Ireland and no idea how to re-build or repair the collapsing walls and this book showed me how. The builder borrowed my book so much, that I had to buy him a copy! We now call it 'The Bible'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, yet realistic, 15 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
I'm a structural engineer from Greece and I was looking for some alternative methods of building . So I've read this book 2 years ago and I found it very pleasant, understandable and the most important realistic. It's one of my favorites book in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cob in beautiful and pragmatic detail, 23 Oct 2007
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide (Paperback)
I am interested in sustainable building practices and wanted to explore cob as a viable, low-impact building option. This is by far the best guide out there. It offers a step-by-step approach to building a cob structure, with useful and beautiful illustrations and photographs. The writing style and philosophical approach of the authors to the practice is also quite inspiring. You feel like you've come across some great friends who want to work in common cause with you and lend a supportive word. Excellent resource for newcomers to sustainable building concepts as well in this regard. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide
Building with Cob: A Step-by-step Guide by Katy Bryce (Paperback - 21 Feb 2006)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews