Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liquid gold : it's not mad really!!
A very interesting, if short, book for a person who is interested in recycling, growing your own veg, eutrophication, science etc. At first it really does sound like a mad idea, but what did we all do before the invention of the loo? I like the "urine stories" which are nice if you happen to be a biology teacher and want to spice up your kidney or nitrogen cycle lessons...
Published on 3 Jun 2006 by Green T

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never knew that pee was so interesting.
I found Liquid Gold to be an interesting, if a somewhat odd read. Lots of pictures of urinals and pee collection equipment, which are attractive in an odd sort of way.

I had the book delivered to my office and showed it around, and found it to be worth its cost in the jokes and quips it generated.

If you are a male and can collect your pee for the...
Published on 16 July 2012 by Mr. Michael Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liquid gold : it's not mad really!!, 3 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
A very interesting, if short, book for a person who is interested in recycling, growing your own veg, eutrophication, science etc. At first it really does sound like a mad idea, but what did we all do before the invention of the loo? I like the "urine stories" which are nice if you happen to be a biology teacher and want to spice up your kidney or nitrogen cycle lessons. also the experiments of growing crops with and without urine are proof it works. To sum up, it was quite afun read and it gives some food for thought, and some huge onions this year so far!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will inspire you to save your pee for your plants!, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
What a great little book! The first couple of sections are about different urinals and what people do or have done with urine, not really about plants. However it gets really interesting after that, and shows real examples of how applying diluted urine improves plants, explains different ways of collecting it and should convince you that flushing it away is the worst option.

I gave my book away to a friend who has a farm abroad, he wants to try it out, so now I'm buying another copy!

I told another friend about it and I never heard anything else until... one night his wife found a rather strange looking jug with something liquid & frothy hidden away in one corner! He'd been saving it and secretly using it diluted to water some lifeless bamboo in a large pot in the garden. Result??? Vigorous new growth in the bamboo, where previously is was pretty lifeless! Who got it in the neck for his secrete deeds?... Me for telling him about it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative!, 18 July 2008
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Okay, its not the most comprehensive book in the world (a bit more on measurements for compost heaps would be nice for one).
It is however packed full of good ideas and is easy on the grey cells and I cannot bring myself to give it anything less than five stars.

Make the next edition a little more comprehensive please.

Good work none the less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worth every penny!, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Röshel, E (Landkreis Heilbronn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This small book informs about historical and modern use of urine as a fertilizer, both in private gardens and on farms.
It raises the awareness of the ecological costs of the thoughtless convenience of flushing "away" the nutrients which become a pollutant elsewhere. (If you imagine the earth as a whole there is no "away"!!!)
Many cartoon illustrations make you smile and nod - they are down-to-earth and very humourous!
In addition to many photos there is also a list of manufacturers (and their websites) of useful toilet systems, .
I just couldn't put it down and read it through in about three hours.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (not) illogical captain!, 3 July 2007
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Doreen and I have been cultivating a variety of plants over a number of years now. In the past we had always used peat but (thanks to the riots at Clonycavan) prices soared and we were left helpless. It was at this time that we turned to the pioneering research of Carol Steinfeld and fortunately she did not disappoint. We had a couple of messy accidents (before Doreen started going through a funnel), but now our indoor plants are growing better than ever before!

PS. Anyone who disputes the logic of using human-fluids to grow plants, need only turn to the actions of the grandfather of logic: Dr. Spock (not to be confused with the child psychologist Mr. Spock!). Who could forget the episode of Star Trek in which he relieves himself into the ship's yucca plant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never knew that pee was so interesting., 16 July 2012
By 
Mr. Michael Lewis "fabindia" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
I found Liquid Gold to be an interesting, if a somewhat odd read. Lots of pictures of urinals and pee collection equipment, which are attractive in an odd sort of way.

I had the book delivered to my office and showed it around, and found it to be worth its cost in the jokes and quips it generated.

If you are a male and can collect your pee for the compost heap, then that is a practical way to go. Otherwise, the other things Liquid Gold recommends, such installing a proper urine collecting toilet, may be a step too far for the majority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will be surprised at what you learn, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
In these days of trying to find a more natural way to do things I was amazed at the tips I gleaned from this fascinating book. Another neglected resource that can be utilised in very positive ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars urine intresting, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
help, me out in understand the uses of wee!
a very good read, as females wee is better for garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the alchemy of waste, 15 Jun 2011
By 
A. Milewski "Soul-Gardener" (West Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
This little book, a mere 90 pages, doesn't seem to be written but rather googled. And yet, you can get a glimpse of what's relevant in the biodynamic cycle that we all can easily get involved in. Urine can be included in this marvelous experiment as a very useful and integral (and not unwanted) part of healthy planet on which healthy people try to reduce the overwhelming negative impact - caused partly by inability to deal with our waste products and excreta in a nature inspired way - that will hunt our grandchildren and their children too, if we won't get real. The idea behind the book is therefore to be praised to the heavens, but I only wish it could be written better and with a passion that doesn't need so many exclamations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to peeing!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
A. Cotton "AJR" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
This book can easily be read in a few hours. Full of interesting facts and tips it does leave you with a few questions that are never fully dealt with. That said, its worth buying as an introduction (and more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants
Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants by Carol Steinfeld (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews