Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent floral book, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Jeannie Zelos (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
This is a watercolour book and I was very excited when i saw it as it covers painting flowers in a way I would love to. She starts with a review of what paints and equipment she uses, and then explains which colours to use to get some useful mixes for flowers. Janet's paintings are very full of detail and yet retain a light airy feel and she starts by explaining how to transfer designs. She goes on to explain the importance of composition and how best to work this out. Then its on to the exciting part of techniques. I found the explanation of backgrounds easy to follow and likewise a useful tip in butterflies, which add an extra interest to flowers. Next came the actual flower painting, techniques such as wet in wet, glazing and negative painting are covered, and an explanation of hard and soft edges - which I found really useful and clear.
There are five different demos, the first four using specific techniques and the fifth consolidating many of the techniques already used. I found it difficult to follow from juts reading, perhaps because I'm not used to techniques of negative painting. I think it will be easier to understand once I actually put paint to paper and work through the exercises.

For those interested in painting flowers in a loose, colourful, clearly recognisable but not botanical style, this is a useful book covering many necessary areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and inspiring, 14 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. The pictures are beautiful, inspiring and achievable. There are lots of tips and techniques that can be used in any situation as well as in floral paintings. I have learned a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book, 11 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
This is a gorgeous book well illustrated book with Janet Whittle's beautiful watercolour paintings of flowers and plants and step by step instructions for achieving some of them yourself. Her tips and techniques are presented in a straightforward and simple manner making it easy to understand and use by anyone. This book is a must have for any aspiring painter of flowers and plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painting Flowers, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Susan Woodward "Hound Dog" (Nottm England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
My book arrived in perfect condition and within three days. I have recommended both this book and Amazon to friends at my painting classes. The book is really brilliant and different way to paint flowers in watercolour. I have already tried three of the paintings in the book and will try more. It is a lovely book with great pictures and step by step guide which is easy to follow. I will buy more Janet Whittle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into flower painting get this quick!, 11 July 2010
By 
A. Kelly (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Janet Whittle is my favourite flower painter - so inspirational. She has given me the confidence to create my own flower paintings. They are fairly loose, bright and colourful, capturing the essence of the blooms....cant wait to get the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painting Flowers in Watercolour, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Janet Whittle is such a generous soul to share her precious secrets with us. I have spent many enchanted hours on my verandah with this book and my paints, learning her techniques. Her instructions are more in the form of guidance - so there is lots of room for personal style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painting flowers and plants, 7 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Found this book really useful the colours and pictures are very clear, very easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painting Flowers and Plants, 12 Jun 2012
By 
Philip H. Petford (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I bought Two copies of this book for two of my friends and I must say it is an
excellent book on the subject of painting flowers in watercolour and they think
the same.
I would certainly recomend it with good clear instructions and superb images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Painting flowers and plants, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Found this book really useful when stating watercolour painting. Wonderful professional results and easy to follow instructions. Would recommend to anyone starting watercolour painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
A Wish List item for someone who is looking at ways of improving the techniques of painting flowers. It was very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb413db1c)

This product

Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques)
Painting Flowers and Plants (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) by Janet Whittle (Paperback - Aug 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews