Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STARTING TO PAINT by ARNOLD LOWREY
Another superb,top quality watercolour teaching book by the well known and popular Welsh artist Arnold Lowrey is now available from Amazon.
His latest book deals with everything a beginner, and perhaps those who are a little more experienced, need to know to get started and improve their watercolour painting skills. Materials, techniques, colour mixing, tonal...
Published on 18 Mar. 2004 by JOHN CLEMITS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title a bit misleading
This is a lovely book, from a great series, BUT... it's title might suggest, as it did with me, that it's a beginners book which in my opinion it definately isn't. I've had the book on my shelf for a couple of years but as a beginner painter always felt daunted by the projects. It's my experience when starting out watercolour painting that you need to be able to produce...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by Eisle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STARTING TO PAINT by ARNOLD LOWREY, 18 Mar. 2004
By 
JOHN CLEMITS (Creigiau, Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Another superb,top quality watercolour teaching book by the well known and popular Welsh artist Arnold Lowrey is now available from Amazon.
His latest book deals with everything a beginner, and perhaps those who are a little more experienced, need to know to get started and improve their watercolour painting skills. Materials, techniques, colour mixing, tonal structure, composition and the principal elements that go to make up a painting as well as many other essential matters are covered in clear, simple language. The reader is also taken step by step through demonstrations of paintings of many familiar subjects.
All the tips and techniques which Arnold has gained over many years of experience in painting, demonstrating and teaching are in this book.
Arnold does not believe in keeping any secrets from his readers and nothing is held back. The book offers knowledge, help, advice and inspiration to all those who want to start painting in watercolour as well as to those perhaps who feel their painting skills could do with a bit of a boost.
Follow Arnold's tips and techniques contained in this book and your paintings will be fresh, colourful and lively. Hundreds of students have been helped and inspired by Arnold's work, teaching and enthusiasm over the years and you will be too if you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting tips, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
But it may be useful to know that this book is now also part of a bigger book "Watercolour Tips and Techniques" which for about £15 includes three other books: "Perspective, Depth and Distance" by Geoff Kersey, "From Sketch to Painting" by Wendy Jelbert, and "Painting Mood and Atmosphere" by Barry Herniman.

It's a curious combination, without obvious rhyme or reason, but - if you were (or could be) interested in all these books - is good value. Having recently borrowed the bigger book from the library, I will probably now buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title a bit misleading, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, from a great series, BUT... it's title might suggest, as it did with me, that it's a beginners book which in my opinion it definately isn't. I've had the book on my shelf for a couple of years but as a beginner painter always felt daunted by the projects. It's my experience when starting out watercolour painting that you need to be able to produce something that looks reasonable and passable when completed otherwise you get disheartened and give up because you get to realize that watercolour is such a tricky medium. The answer to this I found is Frank Clarke's Simply Painting books and videos and the best books to start out with are his Paintbox 1 and 2 and try someof the DVDS, you can get these individually if you search them out. After several months working with Frank I have now moved on to Arnold Lowrey's Starting to Paint with a lot more confidence and have produced a halfway decent painting from the first project! best of luck and persevere [[ASIN:0563551593 Frank Clarke's Paint Box]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Artist, 7 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I am a Watercolour Artist myself, but still find enjoyment in seeing other artists at work. I have spoken with Arnold Lowrey on a few occasions, and find him to be one of the nicest guys around. If it's teaching you need, well look no further. Arnold will take you to where you want to be, in no time. And he will not have you going out and buying enough brushes and paint to sink a ship. You don't need anymore brushes than 5 at the most, any over that is a waste of your cash. Buying this, and any of Arnold Lowrey books or DVDs, is money well spent. If it's your first trip out with Watrcolour, then this is the man to ride along with. No matter what book or DVD you end up with, This man will not let you down. Even me as an artist, still find with this man, something new and priceless. So if your after the tricks of the trade, while still saving money. Arnold Lowrey is your man. I hope this helps you, because it helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars starting watercolours, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Overall a good book with good basic instructions for colour washes, techniques etc. I had hoped for more 'step by step' instructions for paintings and the paintings included would have been more suitable had they been less ambitious. In my opinion for a beginner it would have been better to have smaller, less complicated paintings to try out but more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Bought this from Amazon marketplace secondhand at a fraction of the cost and am very pleased with the book. It is extremely informative and shows layering of colours and washes to achieve effect required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction to watercolours!!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Its a lovely book with some genuinely good advice and tips for beginners ... My paintings will be worth a fortune when I am dead!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TREV, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
BRILL BOOK FOR PRICE JUST RIGHT TO SHOW HOW TO PAINT IN WATERCOLOURS SHOWS YOU WHATE YOU NEED TO START PAINTING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques)
Starting to Paint (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) by Arnold Lowrey (Paperback - Oct. 2002)
£12.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews