Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book..Till you read this.
I bought this book and it shows you how to achieve very realistic water effects.
However i bought another book, "Watercolour landscapes tips and techniques". This book is several books in one and this title is included. Fantastic Value.

So if you are thinking of buying this book buy

"WATERCOLOUR LANDSCAPES TIPS AND TECHNIQUES" instead and you...
Published on 11 Feb 2010 by K. J. Ritchie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painting Water
Found this book very helpful on tecniques espec. light shining on water reflections and still and moving water,I did think that is work was a bit garish for my taste.In spite of that I shall find Joe's book an inspiration.
Published on 31 Mar 2009 by Mrs. Margaret A. Veitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book..Till you read this., 11 Feb 2010
By 
K. J. Ritchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I bought this book and it shows you how to achieve very realistic water effects.
However i bought another book, "Watercolour landscapes tips and techniques". This book is several books in one and this title is included. Fantastic Value.

So if you are thinking of buying this book buy

"WATERCOLOUR LANDSCAPES TIPS AND TECHNIQUES" instead and you will have it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title but still a good book, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I have been drawing and painting for over 40 years, and recently picked up some watercolours to do some work for a friend. I bought this book to get the low-down on how to handle water in watercolour.

Dowden's effort on the subject is admirable. Unlike the authors of many other such books, he does not begin by urging you to invest in overblown nonsense such as a studio. Instead, he lists just what you actually need to produce the works described in the book. I like his use of old saucers! I do most of my work with inexpensive materials, so his approach suits me fine.

The book includes many example paintings, which he explains by using many step-by-step images. Text occupies aqbout 25% of each page, which is all that is required to do the job. The works themselves are a bit repetitive, but that may be a simple problem with the title. The book is not about "painting water"; it is about "painting expanses of water" (i.e. like in the cover painting), and most of that of the still variety (canals, rivers, ponds, puddles, calm sea). If you are interested in things such as rain, wet surfaces, waves, droplets, rushing water, spray, or even wet-dry contrast, then look elsewhere.

Technically speaking, there are a few weak points. He spends very little time on judging reflections, and absolutely none on composition. Nor does he have much to say about how to make objects such as boats or posts sit "in" water convincingly, or how to handle shadow-casting on water, or the waves created by boats, or how to handle specular effects. Things like rainbows, smoke and clouds, the reflections of which can be complicated to paint, are not touched on at all. Similarly, night-time is not covered, which would include moonlight, streetlamp and building light, and so on.

For fulfilling its quite specific brief, it serves well despite its noticeable ommissions. In my view it is good value for money. It just has the wrong title on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+1 Aid To Painting, 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I Paint watercolours my self,and I came across this book,a few years ago,and I found it to be one of the best on the market. I dont need the tuition any more,but I still like to see what other artists are doing,and Joe Dowden,is doing just fine.
If you are just starting,or wanting to improve.This book will help you no end. Also,if you can get his DVDs on amazon,you will find them better still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterscapes, 19 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Whatever your level, this book will change the way you think about watercolour painting. Excellent step-by-step demonstrations and a large gallery of similar works to study or inspire. A rare gem in a crowded market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clear instructions on how to build up a painting, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Joe very clearly explains various techniques and effects of different water styles which is helpful to beginners such as I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painting Water, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Found this book very helpful on tecniques espec. light shining on water reflections and still and moving water,I did think that is work was a bit garish for my taste.In spite of that I shall find Joe's book an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
I found this book a bit disappointing as it is called 'painting water' I was hoping that there would be examples of waterfalls, rain and drops of water on things. I thought that there would be studies of waves in the sea close up. I had the empression that water would be studied in all it forms found in nature, this book is very limited with many examples of very similar subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 16 April 2014
By 
P. Thoms (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Exactly what is stated on the cover. Book contains very good and interesting advice on water colour painting. I would have no hesitation in recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Painting Water, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginner. Would be a good tool for small art club tuition. Nicely printed and easy to follow. Some lovely pictures to copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars painting water in watercolours, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) (Paperback)
Another great book from the "Watercolour tips and techniques" book range aimed at the beginner. Easy to follow tutorials to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques)
Painting Water (Watercolour Tips & Techniques) by Joe Francis Dowden (Paperback - May 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews