Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative
We are all aware of the thin line we tread these days of not offending minorities of any sort - even though some of those 'minorities' are no longer minor and uninfluential. Nevertheless, the facts still have to be made available and this book may help Britain to refrain from continuing putting it's head in the sand and hoping that those issues which we seem to be fearful...
Published 11 months ago by walbedo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Frightening Vision
This concise narrative plays into the well-founded fears of an Islamic coup and the installation of sharia law in GB. The only thing Phillips falls shy of saying is that Government and Security have developed Jihadism in England. It's not 'political correctness', it's population control.

Why are the law lords adopting a passive position in the face of Islamist...
Published 1 month ago by The Editor - New London Writers


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are all aware of the thin line we tread these days of not offending minorities of any sort - even though some of those 'minorities' are no longer minor and uninfluential. Nevertheless, the facts still have to be made available and this book may help Britain to refrain from continuing putting it's head in the sand and hoping that those issues which we seem to be fearful of talking about are discussed clearly without fear. There are many facts in this book which I wasn't aware of. I think a multicultural society ideal incorporating respect and tolerance is a fine and rich one but I have felt there is often little respect from many from the guests to this nation - and there seems to be a mentality of neglecting and ignoring issues which certainly aren't going to fade away overnight. It's strange how I found myself having to choose my words very carefully in this review. The cover of my version is different (updated?) and doesn't show the image of a person now deported who has shown no respect but contempt, I feel I have to add, for the nation which had given him a home, benefits and freedom to preach the poison which has helped to produce the terror within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must say that things are now 10 times worse and it will be for the day, 26 Oct 2014
Did not read the whole book yet, it is a sort of history of the present, interesting, to me there is not much new information in it as I live in Lodon and have been doing an extensive research on Islamism and ME politics. I must say that things are now 10 times worse and it will be for the day, British society is afraid of speak out, it is not proud of its heritage.
I recommend take a good look of what is the Muslim Brotherhood, their aims and targets, the use Arab countries do on Palestine refugees, how Egyptian media is (watch memri.org on youtube), see how Qatar and Saudis treat their employees, and how Iran treat their own people, watch one of their rallies, it does look like Germany on the thirties, this material is also on memri
I came from the left, I studied loads of left wing books, but I tell you, people like Chomsky are in a different universe, they are not seen reality, and the British society is in deep denial, hope it is not too late when they wake up, because Taqqyia is running strong here. Also I recommend you really study the Quran, it is not a peaceful book, and people do take it seriously.
I feel like living in 1936, like it has happened before, and people are not taking it seriously, as waiting someone like Churchill to appear from the left or from the right, and expel with authority the elements who are beyond recovery, civil society is very much apathetic and weak, without any confidence, sorry to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous, well written, exemplary journalism, 7 April 2014
By 
R. J. Davies (Wrexham, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you, Melanie Phillips for a superb and courageous piece of writing. It is the mark of a good journalist to be able to seek out the truths which others either cannot or will not see. There is a deafening silence in 21st century Britain regarding the threat posed by militant Islam and a concerted attempt at refusing to understand from exactly where that threat comes. Melanie gives us the uncomfortable truth - that Islamic terrorism stems from deep within the religion itself and the nature of its followers. It cannot be merely put down to poverty, and a denial of opportunities to Muslims. She exposes what we possibly know in our hearts, that Islamic fundamentalism is about conquest and a determined attempt to reorganise society along Islamic lines. She highlights the hapless way that the authorities turn a blind eye to all forms of non-violent extremism and in so doing, tacitly help that extremism to take root here in Britain. It's a well-written, well researched book and Britain might - just might - be a safer place for the fact she's written it. I think this is a must read for all who want to understand the true nature of the threat our country faces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Melanie, 7 Aug 2014
By 
A FAVIER (SENLIS CEDEX, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a man I have spent my life defending the rights of women. Once again a woman has the courage to wake us up to the incoming barbarians. This brilliantly politically incorrect book in the same vein as Oriana Fallaci and all those women who have testified and are still being treated like animals by this sect brings us the terrible truth that our media and political dwarfs try to ignore. Leonard of Vinci said "Neglecting to recognise and punish crime is akin to supporting it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional work, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I doubt very much that those giving the book one star have actually read this book. It's a very well researched work, accurate and well argued. The dangers of Islamification and the methods used to spread this evil cult in the UK are laid bare, so naturally Islamists and appeasers will not like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This explains why this country need to wake-up to the enemy within, 25 Feb 2011
I usually take Melanie Phillips' columns in the Daily Mail with a pinch of salt but I've got to hand it to her for writing a book that presents in rather stark terms the sinister agenda being pursed by the Islamists and their sympathisers on the left in Britain today. What is equally clear is how the Labour government completely hamstrung themselves with the Human Rights Act and various related EU directives, all of which compromised the security of this country. Anyone who is interested in the ideological threat to Britain should read it and then make up their own mind. The book is certainly a valid contribution to the debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EYE-OPENER, 7 Mar 2012
By 
This is a critical book that everyone interested in the fate of the world we live in must read. In this pivotal work Melanie Phillips explains how largely due to the appeasement policies of the liberal and left elites, Britain is becoming in international hub of Islamic terrorism, and how Islamic culture is destroying and pushing out the Judeo-Christian and British tradition in the United Kingdom.

Phillips explains how Britain "still doesn't grasp that it is facing a pincer attack from both terrorism and cultural infiltration and usurpation". Those who call attention to the threat of Islamic cultural takeover and the threat of sustained terrorism are accused of paranoia and 'Islamophobia' by Islamophiles who aim to silence any criticism of Islamism. Due to the fact that establishment of today is run by the post-modern Left that has given up the idea of economic or class equality and has instead focused on enforcing multiculturalism, political correctness and 'anti-racism', the last of which is basically a code for anti-White racism. When in 2006 Europe was gripped by the furor and violent Islamic rage due to a series of Danish cartoons likening Islam's prophet Mohammed to violence , the former British foreign secretary Jack Straw ignored the violence and instead condemned those newspapers that had published the cartoons. While declaring that free speech must be limited to avoid giving offense or insult to minorities, namely Muslims, the British elite seemed to believe it should be unlimited when it came to Muslims inciting violence.
In February 2006, Muslims demonstrating outside London's upmarket Knightsbridge suburb were allowed to call for bombings and decapitations, while the police benignly looked on. 'Bomb, bomb, bomb Denmark' and 'nuke, nuke, nuke Denmark; were some of the slogans shouted while their placards read "Exterminate those who slander Islam", "Behead those who Insult Islam" and Europe you will pay. The fantastic four are on their way." (A reference to the deadly London tube bombings the previous year).

Due to Britain's extremely lax immigration policies, terrorists have found Britain a hospitable and extremely useful destination. As stated by Iman Abu Baseer, a leading religious supporter of Hezbollah
" One of the goals of immigration is the revival of jihad, and enforcement of their power over the infidels. Immigration and jihad go together. One is the consequence of the other and dependent upon it. The continuance of the one is dependent on the continuance of the other"

In 1999, there was a newspaper report that over 2 000 British Muslims were attending clandestine terrorist training camps around Britain to learn about holy war. The 21st century has seen a string of events which showed that many British Muslims are becoming terrorists. In December 2001, Richard Reid, an Al Qaida supporter, attempted to detonate a bomb, in his shoe, on a Paris-Miami airliner.
In 2002 Ahmed Omar Saaed Sheik masterminded the kidnap and murder of Jewish American journalist Daniel Pearl. In 2003 two young British Muslim bombers Mohammed Hanif and Omar Khan Sharif, played a key part in carrying out the homicide bomb attack Mike's Place beachfront bar in Tel Aviv.

today the British elite has in the words of Melanie Phillips 'decided that not only was the British nation an embarrassment, but also that the very idea of a nation was a damaging anachronism, responsible for all the ills of the world, from racism, through colonialism to war." Thus they oppose national self-determination and support a one world dictatorship. Multiculturalism and anti-racism were now the weapons used to beat the British indigenous peoples and to unravel the British nation. The values and norms of the majority culture are now regarded as reactionary and it's traditions as something to be destroyed and replaced by those of minority third world peoples.

Phillips exposes the avocation of terror by the so-called mainstream Muslim organizations in Britain that are supported by the liberal British establishment. The Muslim Council of Britain boycotted the ceremony commemorating the liberation of Auschwitz, because it did not refer to the situation regarding Israel and the Palestinians. The MCB offered condolences to the family of mass murderer and chief Hamas terrorist Abdul Aziz al-Rantisi, after he was blotted out by the Israelis, and lauded Sheik Qaradawi who has said that suicide bombings in Israel and Iraq are a religious duty for Muslims. MCB secretary-general Sir Iqbal Sacranie has labelled Israel a 'Nazi State' and compared homicide bombers who ruthlessly kill Israeli civilians to Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi. He has accused of Islamophobia anyone who even uses the phrase 'Islamic terrorism.' and demanded that they should be prosecuted for incitement to religious hatred.

The author pulls no punches in exposing the hypocrisy of Britain's liberal establishment. Many of Britain's intellectual elites believe there is no contradiction between sympathizing with or supporting suicide bombing in Israel and opposing it in Britain. They are therefore blinding the public to the fact that the danger to the Jews stands proxy for threat to the West and to all who value freedom. Ultra-left politician and then Mayor of London Ken Livingstone lauded Sheik Qaradawi -an al Qaeda supporter, anti-Semite and opponent of the rights of homosexuals, women and non Muslims- as 'a progressive force for change'.

British elites have compared Israel's defensive actions against Palestinian terrorist attack against her civilian population, has compared Hamas and Hezbollah mass murderers of Israeli women and children to the resistance movements against Nazi during World War II, and leftwing procurators from the Anglican church have compared Israel's security fence which it referred to as the 'Concrete walls of Palestine' to the 'barbed wire fence of the Buchenwald camp'. Thus as Phillips puts it they "compared the Jews of Israel to the Nazis on account of a measure aimed to prevent them from being murdered"

Melanie Philips condemns the hypocrisy of the liberal establishment of the Anglican Church which she rightly says have lost their moral compass and no longer distinguish between the victim and victims whether it involves a Palestinian homicide bomber , the fall of Saddam Hussein or a teenage serial mugger in the largely black south London are of Brixton.

Phillips warns against the attitude of the elites who rule Britain against appeasing Islam and dismantling Britain's Judeo-Christian ethics and traditions. she reminds us that it is not about racism but survival. But she has predictably, like all who expose Islamism and it's left wing fellow travelers, has been under attack from the leftist sheep who are in charge of thought, but vicious sheep who bite the watchdog that tries to warn us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsory reading for every goverment minister., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Melanie Phillips is really telling us all what we should already know, certainly it's hard to believe that our government isn't aware of the facts and figures that she presents in her book. At last, someone who tells it like it is, but I fear - all too late now. A damning indictment on our government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frightening Vision, 20 Oct 2014
This concise narrative plays into the well-founded fears of an Islamic coup and the installation of sharia law in GB. The only thing Phillips falls shy of saying is that Government and Security have developed Jihadism in England. It's not 'political correctness', it's population control.

Why are the law lords adopting a passive position in the face of Islamist threat? Government may bring elements of sharia law into our 'lawless' society, foisting an alien religious code upon society in the guise of 'liberty' and 'democracy'. Remember the Archbishop of Canterbury? His vision included sharia law as part of intensified religious and state power, appealing to clerics and state mandarins.

The law lords in this country are steadfastly integrating fundamentalist law (through Islam) into Britain, possibly for reasons of social control. Was Democracy that much of a failure? Time to emigrate perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very worrying, essential reading for anyone with children in the UK, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't realise how ignorant I was until I read this. Excellent and thought provoking. I do worry, not for me but for my children's (and theirs) future in the UK. I thank the author for being brave, frank and honest. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Londonistan: How Britain Is Creating a Terror State Within
Londonistan: How Britain Is Creating a Terror State Within by Melanie Phillips (Paperback - 10 May 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews