Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Lipsticks and a Lover
As a foreigner living in France, I was enthralled by "Two Lipsticks and a Lover". Particularly in the first half of the book, the author has managed to capture so many enigmas of French culture in a simple sentence, and with such humour. It is great to see that so many things that I had thought were just my experience cited here as "Fact". If some of it seems exaggerated,...
Published on 16 Jan 2006

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It will cost you!
No more the "5 for 1.00" from M&S and no more "just a night cream will do" approach. After reading this book Judith (my wife) has announced she "needs (but needs, not wants!) to get some new lingerie and to upgrade her cosmetics range.

Our Parisian friends confirm what Helena Frith Powell writes. So, it will cause you to spend more (but so much more wisely...
Published on 2 July 2008 by Mr. Derek Tunnicliffe


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Lipsticks and a Lover, 16 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Two Lipsticks and a Lover (Hardcover)
As a foreigner living in France, I was enthralled by "Two Lipsticks and a Lover". Particularly in the first half of the book, the author has managed to capture so many enigmas of French culture in a simple sentence, and with such humour. It is great to see that so many things that I had thought were just my experience cited here as "Fact". If some of it seems exaggerated, I can tell you that it is all so true!!
I highly recommend this book. In fact, I would say it is a must for non-French women living in or wanting to understand more about France.
I especially liked the fact that many of the quotes were from current females in French politics.
As I am neither English nor French, I was also able to identify with the anecdotes of what French people might think of the English.
In addition, this book made me conscious that, like the author, my years in France have made me change the way I see things: a balanced meal, the necessity of creams and treatments, ...
I found that the end of the book was less focussed but perhaps it was because it held subjects less close to my heart. Also, there is a side the French culture that is more easily explained in light of the work culture, long lunch, subsidized meals, etc. The author would only experience this having lived it. French culture is rich and so there are more enigmas out there yet for her to solve! This book is a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Genre, 15 Jan 2013
This is the first, and the best, of the books which discusses French women's style.

The book was a present when it was first published and I have read it at least once a year since. It is a combination of the generic tips (eg the importance of sparkling underwear), the very practical (eg naming award winning anti-cellulite lotions) with the personal anecdotes of the author and the individuals that she spoke to in the name of "research". It is neatly divided into topics that can be read independently of each other.

And I will keep on reading when I need a bit of inspiration or cheering up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, very practical, 12 Nov 2005
This review is from: Two Lipsticks and a Lover (Hardcover)
I watched Helena on Richard & Judy and read the book because they said it was smart and very funny. It really is very entertaining how the book uncovers the secrets of French women. Their obsession with style and looking good is just something else. I was really pleasantly surprised about how practical the book is. It tells that French women don't do excercise but love to go shopping on foot (because you are worth it, could be a French expression!) so that they can avoid the gym. Or that they always have a 'casse' (something like a biscuit) in their handbag so that if they feel hungry they don't eat fatty or sweet snacks between meals. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It will cost you!, 2 July 2008
By 
Mr. Derek Tunnicliffe "derekt221" (France (ex-pat UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No more the "5 for 1.00" from M&S and no more "just a night cream will do" approach. After reading this book Judith (my wife) has announced she "needs (but needs, not wants!) to get some new lingerie and to upgrade her cosmetics range.

Our Parisian friends confirm what Helena Frith Powell writes. So, it will cause you to spend more (but so much more wisely Judith says).

It's a book that irritates as much as it is enjoyable - at times, boring, even. And, it's clearly an Englishwoman's view of the way Parisians (and other French big-city women) go about their lives. Hence the 3*. Still a good read, though (which is why I'm buying for our two daughters - sorry hubbies!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp and amusing read, 18 Oct 2005
By 
Alice Lamb (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two Lipsticks and a Lover (Hardcover)
Contrary to what I read in the Daily Mail last week, which seemed to have picked out all the negatives when it was serialised, this book is a funny and affectionate look at French women. The author has gone out and made friends with an enormous number of classy chicks, including Ines de la Fressange, who was my childhood hero. Ines and other women have opened up the sort of secrets that are only passed from mother to daughter - and then in French! She likes them, but she's not in awe of them. She also seems to have picked up a few tips from a mystery french man that she meets on the train..
All in all, an entertaining and riveting read, although I'm not going to tell you if it ends in a brief encounter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Programmed to seduce, 13 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Two Lipsticks and a Lover (Hardcover)
What is it about French women? Why are they so much more exciting than say, Albanian women? In this witty yet perceptive guide to the species, that I bought on the strength of its serialisation in the Daily Mail, the author goes undercover to discover whether the myth is true. How do they stay so thin, so elegant? Are they really programmed to seduce? Should you trust one with your boyfriend for the weekend? As well as her own experiences of trying to fit in, get groomed, and flirt with men on trains, she meets up with a number of well-known French women such as supermodel Ines de la Fressange to find out what makes them so special and the secret of their success. Her discoveries make interesting and amusing reading. I really liked this book, a sort of non-fiction Bridget Jones for grown-ups. She doesn't fall for all the usual cliches, but there are some useful tips and insights in how to look good without trying. Just don't show the book to your French friends - it might shock them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing book!, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Two Lipsticks and a Lover (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book. Having read a ridiculous number of self help books on style (e.g. what not to wear etc) and finding them really aimed at an older audience this was such a refreshing change.
A great read for those of us who want to increase our stylishness without spending tonnes of money we havent got!

It'll also make you realise how much you really exercise etc. It's made me feel great and I've passed it on to all my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could not be worse., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Published by mistake. Waste of paper. Do not buy this, please, give the money to a homeless instead. Colection of clichés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assez bien ..., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pre-purchase book-extract is tantalising:the 14-year old author arrives in Paris only to be redirected by the hotel concierge to the digs of her father's latest squeeze. He's elsewhere, pursuing "a bottom". At the Parisian girlfriend's tiny appartement the author gets her first rose-tinted glimpse into what it takes to be really Parisian and indeed really French: pots and pots of unguents, a Zen-like living space and racily, "...two lipsticks and a lover".

There are musings a plenty: about child-rearing in France -- children eat well, eat everything and are well mannered to boot but they do get coddled. Interestingly the State plays a great part in helping women back to work (tax free child care -- now there's something for the incumbent UK government to seriously consider). Underwear - must be matching and expensive; lovers - infidelity and discretion are key and if it makes you happy, there you go; food - guard against junk products and eat only when hungry. Moreover the possession of a great intellect in a woman is not the preserve of the dull or dowdy. Being well read is seen to add to one's allure.

Whilst some of the chapters may test your patience for cliches about French women (they smoke a lot, eat high fat cheese, miraculously remain stick thin) many parts may simply reinforce what you had long suspected: that some French women take great care of themselves from the inside out, possess large quantities of self-confidence and self-belief, are well read and don't laugh in the raucous way of their British sisters.

In essence, this is an easy read for the St Pancras Eurostar. You'll have completed the book by the time you hit Gare du Nord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good insights, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of all things francophone, I enjoyed reading this book. It has some lovely insights into French culture (particularly Parisian culture). My only negative feedback would be that there are some strong generalisations here, though I imagine it's difficult to avoid when trying to convey the essence of French-ness on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Lipsticks and a Lover
Two Lipsticks and a Lover by Helena Frith Powell (Hardcover - 20 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews