Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the rivers run dry
This is a clear and concise look at world hydrology and the way water is being (mis)managed in various countries. It is extremely easy to read and has plenty of facts to both shock and amaze you. The state of the worlds water resources is in dire trouble and this book highlights just what has caused these problems and thankfully some possible solutions. After reading...
Published on 13 Sep 2007 by Spider Monkey

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff amongst the hype
I found plenty of interesting material in this book although the somewhat journalistic style (read sound-bite) made me feel the need to verify much of what was said. Most of the things that I checked were accurate. Some viewpoints expressed appeared to be the more extreme of those on the net and I wondered whether they were chosen solely for their shock-factor.
That...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Mr. Daniel J. Bowen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff amongst the hype, 19 July 2007
By 
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
I found plenty of interesting material in this book although the somewhat journalistic style (read sound-bite) made me feel the need to verify much of what was said. Most of the things that I checked were accurate. Some viewpoints expressed appeared to be the more extreme of those on the net and I wondered whether they were chosen solely for their shock-factor.
That said, overall this is quite a clear laymans guide to a doubtless complex issue and I found a good introduction to a potentially dull topic.
It certainly left me with the desire to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the rivers run dry, 13 Sep 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
This is a clear and concise look at world hydrology and the way water is being (mis)managed in various countries. It is extremely easy to read and has plenty of facts to both shock and amaze you. The state of the worlds water resources is in dire trouble and this book highlights just what has caused these problems and thankfully some possible solutions. After reading many books about oil and the oil peak, this books makes you realise that our anxiety may well be misplaced and unless we can act soon, our future will be a much harder one. Highly recommended read.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rivers, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This I bought for myself, just before the wettest christmas on record!! however the book itself is just as I expected it to be and it suited my needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly written, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
A book to make you think about your own efforts in trying to live a sustainable life.Its not so easy, but awareness is the first step to making good decisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Ralph Keeble - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
This is a book which puts the unnecessary usage of water into perspective, and highlights the effects that we are having on the planet by not managing this finite resource wisely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For best reviews -see the Hardcover version of this book, 1 Aug 2007
By 
E. Lucas (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
This book is a must read for farmers, politicians and any person interested in getting two decades of research crammed in a single volume of well written and interesting facts about the world's water situation.

It certainly does "make the reader sound intelligent" and as David Bellamy said "is the best travel guide written" Brilliant Mr Pearce, thank you for highlighting this vital topic in such a readable book.

A Must Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When the Rivers Run Dry, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
I was pleased with the book, and its condition, once it finally arrived. I was meant to be using it for a project but by the time it got here I'd already finished and handed it in! I had to remind bookcycle that they were meant to be sending it. Other than that, I have no complaints. The book itself is very informative and makes for any easy read. Lots and lots of detail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When the rivers run dry, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Gd Entwistle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? (Paperback)
Very poorly writtten and too emotive. All negative and nothing positive to say. I found it tedious and could not finish it. Not my style at all.
I would not recomend it. I accept that the world needs to regard water as a valuable comodity but, in my opinion, the way the book is written is not the way to get the message across.

Regards

Geoffrey Entwistle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out?
When The Rivers Run Dry: What Happens When Our Water Runs Out? by Fred Pearce (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews