Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Buy it!
This book is great! My 2 year old loves it and is learning where things come from all the time! The story is that Grandad is explaining to a very bored little boy where all the items that are delivered from the supermarket come from. Illustrations and photos are coupled together fantasticly and you really do feel as though your children are learning something! Buy it,...
Published on 8 Oct 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The English & visuals didn't sit well.
We didn't fall in love with this book. While it offers lots of information to the small listener about the origins of food the word patterns and the layout jarred. However, in it's defence, a view from Amazon's "Look Inside" feature may well help purchasers decide if it's just me, or if they feel the same.
Published 1 month ago by Sarah Wolfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Buy it!, 8 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
This book is great! My 2 year old loves it and is learning where things come from all the time! The story is that Grandad is explaining to a very bored little boy where all the items that are delivered from the supermarket come from. Illustrations and photos are coupled together fantasticly and you really do feel as though your children are learning something! Buy it, I have and several others as presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 1 May 2006
By 
smith smythe (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
A great book with beautiful pictures.

This book is great for starting discussions about where things come from, what it was like before we could import these things, how our lives have changed etc.

A simple text is engaging and educational, put simply a lovely charming book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Geography in our homes, 16 Feb 2009
By 
E. Brennan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
This book was fantastic. I used it to introduce a Geography lesson to Year 1 children about where the food we eat comes from. The kids were captivated by the book. We then went on to mark some of the food on a world map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Came to My Place Today, 21 July 2009
By 
Lobster "Lobster" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
My almost 6 year old son fell in love with this book at after school club so much they let him bring it home. I had to read it twice to him at bedtime. He had to give the book back so I bought him one. He still loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Internationlising Learning, 28 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
Very creative way of explaining to children how and where different items (products) come from.
A fantastic way of education children, linking the global dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, informative and fun. Nice light reading!, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my four year old. She really enjoys it and it ties in nicely with another Eden Project Book we have been reading about where things come from. This is a simpler and more light hearted explanation which subtly explains where everyday materials we have in our home come from. It is ideal for younger ones in raising their awareness of the world and how everything doesn't magically form in a supermarket!!
Would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The English & visuals didn't sit well., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
We didn't fall in love with this book. While it offers lots of information to the small listener about the origins of food the word patterns and the layout jarred. However, in it's defence, a view from Amazon's "Look Inside" feature may well help purchasers decide if it's just me, or if they feel the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just perfect., 15 Mar 2010
By 
tabs (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
Such a well written book, a simple story with a sneaky helping of education. It explains where lots of our food comes from in a down-to-earth way that young children can understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
I really love this book, and so does my 2 year old daughter. Really clever idea, great illustrations (I love the combination of photos and drawing), and lovely characters. We have all 4 of the George and Flora series, and my daughter is a great fan of Grandpa, we wish we had him living round the corner from us! I would recommend anyone with small kids to buy the whole series as I think the others are even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book!, 8 July 2011
This review is from: The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) (Paperback)
Every household and classroom should have the whole set of these books from the Eden project. They combine a story with facts, geography, growing things, being green and loads more. I have read them to groups of children in the library, have bought the set of three for my own children, lent them to my daughters school, and am now about to buy this one again as a Thank you Teacher present as he was so impressed when we lent it into school. Please buy, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books)
The World Came To My Place Today (Eden Project Books) by Dr Jo Readman (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews