Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book
This is a very imaginative and idea-provoking book. It is very well laid out with good photographs and many little additional snippets on variations, serving and presentation of the recipes. I tend to judge a cook book by how much I want to take it into the kitchen and start cooking : this one scores very highly.
Published on 23 Jun 2009 by J. Starling

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I was hoping for some new recipes to add to my appetisers/ starters list. Unfortunately, I haven't found a single recipe that makes me want to try it. If you like vegetable based starters, you might appreciate it more, but I'm sure there are similar recipes available elsewhere. Very expensive for what it is.
Published 5 months ago by Marie-Claire, Warwickshire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 23 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
This is a very imaginative and idea-provoking book. It is very well laid out with good photographs and many little additional snippets on variations, serving and presentation of the recipes. I tend to judge a cook book by how much I want to take it into the kitchen and start cooking : this one scores very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the professional or keen home-cook, 16 Jan 2009
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
As a chef and restaurant owner I was initially attracted by the terrine recipes of this book and intrigued by the idea of verrines.
I have now used several of the verrine recipes, which vary in style and technique, at events, dinners and functions to the delight of my customers.

They make outstanding canapes and offer flexibility in offering desserts or a tasting menu with ease during service - or in a dinner party environment would allow the host to enjoy their guests, rather than slaving away in the kitchen!

Franck's technique section at the end of the book also ensures you are able to produce the same great looking results that appear in the photos.

A great and insightful book for the professional or keen home cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for confident cook, 29 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
It is not often that I cannot wait for the next available day on which I can indulge in cooking when my amazon book parcel arrives, but with this book, I just could not wait - putting my own variation on a theme to Pontais' smoked chicken and asparagus verrine, substituting the bacon with chantarelles that were in season, it just looked beautiful and tasted fab. I like anything that looks like one slaved over it for hours on end whereas it's 20min prep, 15min cook-and-assembly. This book is not for beginners in my opinion, only because it is not as descriptive and "dumbed down" as a lot of cook books out there. For instance, most recepies in this book would just have "Seasoning" in the list of recepies without specifying what may go with those ingridients, which makes it exciting for those with an innate or learnt sense of what herbs and spices may go with what ingredient but may leave behind those who are used to slavishly following the recepies. Similarly, a lot of the terrines that look a little more complex do not have a step by step, and I can imagine would be a challenge for those who do not at least have one book that does do that, or have otherwise seen a terrine made. The book does contain some fantastic suggestions for accompaniments, sauces, garnishes and so on, very thoughtful and imaginative and exciting. What is also splendid about this book is that for those of us who are not huge on dessert or can frankly think of better things to do than slave over the oven baking, this book contains some fabulous dessert terrines and verrines that look amazing in no time. A fabulous treat of a book that is a must for any food enthusiast and would make a great gift for your gourmand friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrines and Verrines, 11 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. J. R. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
This book was one of my best Christmas Books. I enjoy cooking and this book is full of wonderful pictures and Ideas, it looks a bit fidelery at first, but in fact it is very easy to follow and do.
I have seen Verrines in France, but this is the first time i have seen it written about in English.
Overall, excellent, imaginative, and well worth it!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 21 Oct 2010
By 
J. Fachot (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
The book is very well written with a range of straightforward to very ambitious recipes which should satisfy everyone. It is very well illustrated with fantastic photos and has excellent instructions as well serving suggestions, variations,... The great thing about the recipes are that they can made well in advance so you don't have to miss out spending time when entertaining. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipe Book, 14 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
Thoroughly recommend this for presentation, inspiration and a wide range of ideas, tips and recipes with taste and style. On a par with Gordon Ramsay books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Results impress friends, 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
Photos look great and recipes easy to follow. As with most recipes they require adaptions to suit an individuals palate. On the whole, if you like fussing with food, which I do, this is a good book. This would make a lovely gift for a foodie friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great layout and explanations, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
I'm afraid I havent got the chance to make any of the recipes but i have read it through and i have to say that instructions are clear, layout is great, pictures are entising and i can't wait to get onto making fancy verrines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
bought this book for my son who is a keen cook and likes to experiment with terrines. Had been looking at it on amazon
for some time before purchasing it. My son was delighted with and said the Verrine recipes look particularly interesting. the book itself is clear and concise with good photos. Cannot comment on how the recipes work out as it hasnt been used yet.
but on the face of it the book comes up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book that is easy to follow, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Terrines & Verrines (Hardcover)
I got this book and have tried a number of the terrine and verrine recipes in it. I have to say i have been amazed at how easy and quick some of recipes are to create. The food lends itself to posh party food - especially the verrines. The terrines are good also - i always thought a terrine was a difficult thing to make right but i have yet to have any issues with making them following Franck's instruction.
The instructions are easy to follow, the pictures are beautiful and honestly it is possible to end up with food that looks just like the pictures (especially the terrines).
What I found so refreshing about the book is that the author has packed this book with a lot of recipes, information hints and tips which seems to be a rare thing these days.
The best cook book I have brought for over a year - looking forward and hoping to see some more from this author.
Highly recommended, a great gift for yourself or others - buy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terrines & Verrines
Terrines & Verrines by Franck Pontais (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2008)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews