Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of London's forgotten gangs
Deeply researched history depicting London's gangs from the nineteenth century to the advent of the Richardson and Kray gangs. The Forty Elephants gang of all-female shoplifters and Elephant and Castle Boys are featured along with the Titanic gang from Hoxton, gangs from Clerkenwell, Camden Town, King's Cross, Bethnal Green and other London locations have their histories...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by B. McDonald

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good information, poor writing style
I purchased Gangs of London because of a story about female gangs in Victorian England published in the Guardian newspaper. It was a well written article that grabbed the attention and compared today's social context with that of the Victorian era. It quoted this book as the main source. However, having now read the book, I realise that the journalist had only used a...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Brighton Dub


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good information, poor writing style, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
I purchased Gangs of London because of a story about female gangs in Victorian England published in the Guardian newspaper. It was a well written article that grabbed the attention and compared today's social context with that of the Victorian era. It quoted this book as the main source. However, having now read the book, I realise that the journalist had only used a few of the facts and added a lots of other research. They had also a much better writing style.
The main problem with the book is that there is very little social context or other background. The biographies of the various villains and gangs are sketchy and jump from one to the next without any real narrative to hold the story together. There are characters mentioned in passing that sound interesting and influential, but are skipped over.
There is enough information in the book to inspire further research into what is a fascinating aspect of England's history. It's just a shame that it's written in a rather amatuerish and unengaging style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gangs of London, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
This is an interesting read with lots of information on who the gangs were (many names to come to term with!) but I was hoping that there to be more details of their exploits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of London's forgotten gangs, 13 Feb 2011
By 
B. McDonald (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
Deeply researched history depicting London's gangs from the nineteenth century to the advent of the Richardson and Kray gangs. The Forty Elephants gang of all-female shoplifters and Elephant and Castle Boys are featured along with the Titanic gang from Hoxton, gangs from Clerkenwell, Camden Town, King's Cross, Bethnal Green and other London locations have their histories revealed. Leading gangsters that are briefly mentioned in other books are traced to their roots - Monkey Benneworth, Dodger Mullins, George Sage, Freddie Gilbert and the Sabini and McDonald families have their origins revealed. This is history that has been largely overlooked. It dispels many myths and is essential reading for everyone interested in London's criminal enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
One of the best books on the London underworld. A real change from the usual Kray stuff. The author reveals the history of gangs like the Sabini, Elephant and Castle, the all-female Forty Thieves, Camden Town, Finsbury, Bethnal Green and many, many more. Meticulously researched, not just bits taken from other books. McDonald takes the trouble to correct other author's errors. Some reviewers have said it is written in an amateurish way, but I found it clear and easy to follow. It would not win a Booker prize, but the author has a story to tell and has obviously resisted the use of a ghost writer. I have read better written books that say very little and I am happy to sacrifice a little in style for well researched material. For those who enjoy true crime books, this is a must. In particular, there is more on the Sabini gang than what I have read in a book that purports to be Darby Sabini's biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
I came to this book due to interests after watching the BBC 's drama Peaky Blinders. I did read a few reviews about the book and was a bit unsure due to some saying it was good and others being more negative, but I still purchased it. I have to admit that it is written in a very amateurish way, but it is perfectly clear that the author has immeasurable enthusiasm that does keep you keen even if the narrative does come a bit difficult to follow with jumping from one story to another. It does correct many a misconception about names and events but has a few itself such as stating Owney Madden was born in Sheffield, when he was a Leeds lad, but these are small errors and are limited, and does not effect the accuracy of the London element. The book does provide a base for any further research or reading by giving names of places, police men, members of the gangs, and more impressively contemporary works from the period. A must read for anyone interested in gangs, police and even horse racing in the inter war period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangs of London (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gangs of London
Gangs of London by Brian McDonald (Paperback - 11 Nov 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews