Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK GREAT FIGHTER
Was initially thrilled to discover a well overdue book on the great Thomas Hearns. I have been a huge fan for years and although the book is accurate , the only slight letdown was there was,nt more depth about the man himself. Most importantly the book is honest and even though Hearns was/is my favourite fighter he did lose the two big ones, this should not however...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Mr. C. Hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple easy to read biography of the Hit man
There are no major revelations in this biography of the Hit Man. It is an easy to read book that I completed in a day and I suspect a lot of boxing fans would enjoy.
Published 9 months ago by PC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK GREAT FIGHTER, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. C. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
Was initially thrilled to discover a well overdue book on the great Thomas Hearns. I have been a huge fan for years and although the book is accurate , the only slight letdown was there was,nt more depth about the man himself. Most importantly the book is honest and even though Hearns was/is my favourite fighter he did lose the two big ones, this should not however detract from his legacy. A huge part of Hearns appeal strangely was his own vulnerability , you never quite knew which way his fights would go.People will forever reference the Hagler match, but Hearns purists will acknowledge other memorable bouts such as his cruiserweight war with Freddie Delgado who had Hearns on the brink of defeat in several rounds.For sheer bravery I implore any one to seek out this fight, and although in his mid thirties still produced one hell of a display.The Hughes book was critical of his defences against the likes of Mark Medal ,although Hearns looked distracted in that bout I rememember moments of terrific switch hitting to body and head the likes of which are rare today.If Hearns had beaten Hagler and then Spinks as opposed to Roldan/Andries his four title feat would be held in higher esteem.A magnificent achievement never the less and a great read, enjoy as we may never see his like again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue Hearns book, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Mr A J Stevens "ts" (Orpington, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
I have been keeping my eyes open for a biography of Thomas Hearns for years.

Most 30 somethings living in the UK will remember the memorable televised battles with Hagler, Schuler and Andries from the 1980s and will have read reviews before of Tommy's other famous tilts (Duran and Leonard x 2) but this book puts a little more meat on the bone and reviews all of Hearns' fights from the 1970s through to the noughties.

The book is very factual and would have benefited from some up to date input from maybe friends, family and opponents but overall a very good read that wont disappoint.

Anyway what choice have you got - there are no other biographies for the Hit Man.

TS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just that bit short of genuine greatness., 2 Mar 2010
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
Books about Hearns are sorely thin on the ground so I was pleased to see this.

It's a good read, entertaining and covers the main facts without being dry or geeky.

My main two gripes with it are minor, but fairly fundamental.

The first is that it's a biography but there's only a sprinkling of quotes from Hearns himself, and they're gathered from old press articles or interviews. Which is odd, given that Hughes states himself at the beginning of the book that he's friends with Hearns and Steward.

The second is that the chronology is all over the place. It talks about Hearns wanting to fight Roy Jones Jnr in 1989/1990 when he was at super middle, but Jones was barely a 10 fight novice then. It seems to flip backwards and forwards in time for no real reason at various points.

Don't let that put you off, it's still a very good read and despite flagging towards the last chapter it's a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the great man, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would probably never win Sports book of the year - although I love Hearns, he's not an interesting enough character to give the necessary material. But it's well written and fills all the gaps in my knowledge. And of course it's great to relive those unforgettable fights. An under-appreciated figure who, for me, was as stylish a boxer as there has been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, but I want more!, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. L. Armitage "Elstretcherino" (Castleford, W.Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book immensely but my big criticism is that Tommy didn't get interviewed for it.
That's probably a great compliment to the authors who make it interesting throughout. Next up, Stanley Ketchel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple easy to read biography of the Hit man, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
There are no major revelations in this biography of the Hit Man. It is an easy to read book that I completed in a day and I suspect a lot of boxing fans would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love boxing this is a must read.
Hearns fought everyone!
Great fighters are not made they are born with that in the ring killer instinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From hero to ...hero, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fully enjoyed the book on the life and times of one of my teenage heroes. His life got a bit messy towards the end - life is a rollercoaster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit Man: The Thomas Hearn Story, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thomas Hearns is a legend of the sport. His name is forever linked with boxing. His power was unbelievable. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hitman, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, really enjoyed it and gives a good insight into boxing during the seventies and eighties
Top read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Man
Hit Man by Brian Damian Hughes (Paperback - 10 Dec 2009)
£10.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews