Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMES OUT FIGHTING
For a few years Chuck Liddell was the biggest name in ufc(ultimate fighting championship) and the world of mixed martial arts(mma)holding its light heavyweight title for just over two years and beating some of the biggest names in the mma world, this book was written just after he lost that title and went on to suffer another defeat.

The first thing you will...
Published on 16 May 2009 by nin/ja77

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No surprises
Iceman is a nicely-presented, easy-to-read life story of Chuck Liddell. There are lots of colour and black and photos and it looks good. Unfortunately it doesn't tell you anything you couldn't pretty much guess for yourself about the guy.

For instance (these are all captions from the book),

I always push myself to the limit when training...
Published on 11 July 2008 by T. Bently


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMES OUT FIGHTING, 16 May 2009
For a few years Chuck Liddell was the biggest name in ufc(ultimate fighting championship) and the world of mixed martial arts(mma)holding its light heavyweight title for just over two years and beating some of the biggest names in the mma world, this book was written just after he lost that title and went on to suffer another defeat.

The first thing you will notice in this book is that Chuck likes to fight and has been fighting all his life not only with his fists but also for the integrity of the sport and after reading this book you will have new found respect for these fighters and the sport.

Its fair to say that this is a well written book and even if you only have a passing interest in the world of mma you will enjoy this book as Chuck gives a very good history of ufc, from its early barbaric, barred in most states, money losing business right up to one of the most profitable, respected, money making business that it is today.

Chuck gives great insight into his fights, especially his ones against Randy Couture and his arch rival Tito Ortiz. You will also learn that Chuck has great respect for the fighters who came before him (Ken Shamrock, Randy Couture and the Gracie's) and paved the way for him and others like him.

The only gripe is that he is probably a bit to pro ufc which probably has to do with his relationship with ufc chief Dana White who used to manage Chuck Liddell before buying out ufc.

This is a great book if your a fan of ufc and Chuck Liddell(which i am).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Autobiography, worth every penny, 7 July 2012
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
I don't do alot of reading but brought this to go on holiday with. Chuck isn't even my faviroute fighter but I like him more now that I understand the history behind the Ufc. Which in this book he explains very well. He goes it depth with all subjects like childhood, how he became a fighter and he training that he does. Overall I glad I brought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP READ!!, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
Any UFC fan should read this book. I couldn't put it down. Not only talks about Chuck but gives you an insight in to how the UFC started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
exelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, start to finish, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
couldn't put the book down, really great read, about chuck, from his early days, etc, think i will double read it,
motivational book, gonna hunt down his dvd's next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iceman, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Jb Fethers "JonnyF" (Macclesfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
Excellent insight into the begining of MMA, the UFC and the life of one of the best champions of the sport. A must for all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars READ IT NOW, 8 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
i don't read but i like ufc a lot an thought id give it a bash, blew my mind best thing Ive ever read tells a lot about the ufc an Chuck Liddel's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iceman, 10 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Harvey (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iceman: My Fighting Life (Paperback)
Iceman was a good read, Chuck is both funny and honest in describing his rise in MMA.

I would recommend thsi to any casual MMA fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No surprises, 11 July 2008
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Iceman is a nicely-presented, easy-to-read life story of Chuck Liddell. There are lots of colour and black and photos and it looks good. Unfortunately it doesn't tell you anything you couldn't pretty much guess for yourself about the guy.

For instance (these are all captions from the book),

I always push myself to the limit when training.

Victor Belfort took me off guard with a nice pop but in the end I nailed him some major blows and won by unanimous decision.

I was proud to become a part of John's team of Pit monsters.

Is there any UFC fighter who doesn't give 100%? Or who doesn't respect his trainer? Liddell's comments tend either to be either fatuous or utterly unsurprising.

You can only conclude the sole reason for writing this book is to jump on the current bandwagon for biographies of MMA stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool as ice, 31 Mar 2008
By 
This was one of the best biographies I have read this year. I was really surprised at how well the book is written. If anyone thinks the UFC athletes are just jobless brawlers PLEASE read this book.

In the book itself you find out how serious Chuck is about martial arts, not just fighting (even though he makes not secret that is his favourite part), but the discipline and dedication you need to be a serious martial artist.

One of the amazing thing about this book, is Chuck's ability to talk about his many accomplishments (and there are a hell of a lot of them) with out bragging. He gives his personal opinion on all the people he has met, from Dana White, to Tito, and everyone he has met and fought. This is a must read for all serious martial artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iceman: My Fighting Life
Iceman: My Fighting Life by Chuck Liddell (Paperback - 18 Sep 2008)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews