Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great effort!!
As a Panamanian growing up in the seventies at the height of Duran's splendor, I have to say that `Hands of Stone' did not dissapoint me one bit. Well researched, with very interesting mini-bios and inside stories on Duran's opponents and associates and detailed and vivid descriptions of all fights. At times the text was a little disorganized and 90% of the names of all...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Bernardo Rodriguez

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fighter, so so book
Boxing biographies, perhaps more than in other sports, suffer from subject adoration, So beloved is the individual they write about that the book looses balance and becomes more homage than journalism. So to is the case here.
Giudice is a fine writer with an eloquent turn of phrase, he has put together a well researched and detailed account of Duran's life and for...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by S. Glover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Boxing legend all heart in and out of the ring., 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read for boxing lovers, covering a career of highs and lows both in and out of the ring. More highs than lows. An in site into how the boxer survives in a world of poverty and of riches, when people love you one day and then desert you the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duran book, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
This book is a must read for duran fans and all boxing fans it gives a great insight especially into his earlier years, and if you read the sugar ray Leonard book, you can also read the other side - really enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any boxing fan!, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
A story of a boy fighting the streets to fighting the world. Well written, compelling! A must read for any real boxing fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Best, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
One of the best Boxing stories I've ever read. A real rags to richest story about one of the games greatest warriors. Unfortunateley a lot of the riches were squandered, which was sad to hear. A great book about a true legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best boxing book you will every read. Loved by the boxing public but more by his people. He is a living legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
Omg what a book really great if your into boxing this is a must! i hardly read!!! couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boxing history, 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
A very good read.Full of facts about one of boxing's greats.
Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart of a Lion, 6 Feb 2007
By 
S. Valli (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very interesting insight of the man & sometime myth that is Roberto Duran. A good if simple read of a a simple man who just wanted to fight & to survive & eventually break free from the poverty. The details

of his Panamanion childhood growing up to adulthood & how latin culture lives & survives is a educational read. I wish there was a bit more on his fighting, training methods & how he prepared for fights, a bit more insight of his fears & feelings But again I guess,

to him it was just simple streefighting attitude. Like a previous reviewer

metioned a very supportive naration by the author. I wanted to hear more about the dark nasty side of duran that was there once, did'nt get any on this. Overall a good interesting read on one of a kind old school fighter who captured the hearts of many fans, which is now lacking in todays curcius act boxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, 11 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. J. Lomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
This book is one of the best books I have ever read. The language is clear and concise while givng a huge amount of detail on every page. I have never really heard much about Duran but I now feel I know everything. Only flaws is that I am now sad because I came to the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Charlie Suku (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liked how No Mas was explained in that he had bad management taking a fight for their own greed of money not thinking about his decline after the first Leonard.
Man is a legend 60million made and spent in my opinion on joys of the world n a shed lots of people hoping that maybe he was doing good.
Great Read Must Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb16a3dd4)

This product

HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran
HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran by Christian Giudice (Paperback - 3 Jan 2008)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews