Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great effort!!
As a Panamanian growing up in the seventies at the height of Duran's splendor, I have to say that `Hands of Stone' did not dissapoint me one bit. Well researched, with very interesting mini-bios and inside stories on Duran's opponents and associates and detailed and vivid descriptions of all fights. At times the text was a little disorganized and 90% of the names of all...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Bernardo Rodriguez

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fighter, so so book
Boxing biographies, perhaps more than in other sports, suffer from subject adoration, So beloved is the individual they write about that the book looses balance and becomes more homage than journalism. So to is the case here.
Giudice is a fine writer with an eloquent turn of phrase, he has put together a well researched and detailed account of Duran's life and for...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by S. Glover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great effort!!, 19 Feb 2007
By 
Bernardo Rodriguez (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Panamanian growing up in the seventies at the height of Duran's splendor, I have to say that `Hands of Stone' did not dissapoint me one bit. Well researched, with very interesting mini-bios and inside stories on Duran's opponents and associates and detailed and vivid descriptions of all fights. At times the text was a little disorganized and 90% of the names of all Panamanian towns and people are misspelled, but these details are minor compared with the work as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fighter, so so book, 11 Jan 2011
By 
S. Glover "Mr G" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
Boxing biographies, perhaps more than in other sports, suffer from subject adoration, So beloved is the individual they write about that the book looses balance and becomes more homage than journalism. So to is the case here.
Giudice is a fine writer with an eloquent turn of phrase, he has put together a well researched and detailed account of Duran's life and for once the cover quotes are accurate and do the book justice.

As a boxing fan I am delighted that a full biog of this awesome fighter is with us at last and is getting wider recognition. ( I got it via the Boxing Monthly review) but in places biography becomes more a padded chronology and immersed in too much detail. The author makes no apology for being a huge fan of his subject. The big issue here is that admiration - the truly wild manic and down right crazy side of Duran is passed over, not ignored but merely alluded to. Whatever Duran is today its because of what came before, separating the unhinged element of his personality would be like ignoring some of his less impressive ring performances.

The loss of balance is an annoyance, it doesn't alter the fact that I really enjoyed the read and felt i learned a lot about the man but I was just conscious the book was on a distinct pro Duran mission. (better than an Anti-Duran mission) and that grated a little.

Excellent fight summary at the end, good to see a whole record portrayed their and some different pictures used as illustrations. For the average fight fan this is a good read and for Duran fans a must read

Steev
The Frog and the Scorpion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative, well written book about Duran, 4 Jan 2007
By 
I was really pleased to finally see a full biography about Roberto Duran, who must rank as one of the top 3 pound for pound fighters in the history of the sport. This book did not disappoint me. It is well researched and Duran himself often makes comments about his career. Now he has retired, Duran seems to have mellowed and is not quite as unpredictable (or frankly dangerous!) as he used to be.

I was surprised at how good a person Duran comes across as. However, my one criticism of the book is that I have heard many stories about Manos de Piedra over the years that cast him in a much more unfavourable light. These were not included in the book.

Despite this very slight oversight, I highly recommend this book to any fan of Duran, boxing or sport itself. Roberto Duran was a true sports legend and his like will never be seen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stone me, 18 Nov 2008
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
This is a really good book. Roberto Duran was just before my time and as a sports fan was someone who I had always wanted to know more about. His story is incredible - from the poverty of Panama where he was born in 1951 to to the heights of boxing fame in the late 1970s and early eighties. And like a lot of sporting heroes, he is a flawed man, which makes his story all the more interesting and moving.

What I loved about the book was that it really recaptured the big-fight atmosphere of his defining fights aginst the likes of Dejesus and Leonard. There were interviews with all the key protagonists and the author can write - you get a sense of immediacy and excitement when the fights are recounted.

I found this book a well-researched and compelling read. It is a great story, well told. I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest not just in boxing, but sport and sporting icons generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely worth the wait!, 17 Dec 2006
By 
Louis Papa (Charleston AFB, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sports writing at its best, a throwback author who whose passion and dedication enabled him to be the first to write Duran's story. Even if you are not a Duran supporter you will be by the end of this book.

The story is written from the trenches, and there are times in which you feel as if you know Duran personally.

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book well worth of the legend that is Duran!, 4 Jan 2008
This is truly a great book. I have followed Roberto through his career, he is one of the top five all time boxers in my view. I read this book in three days, and will no doubt read it again one day. This is the best boxing book I have read for quite some time. Boxers make such good studies, you know they all start with nothing and end with nothing, then make a comeback, but we love them just the same. Hail to Roberto Duran, a true warrior!
Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill read, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
Bought for my partner as a holiday book! He read it in a day! and kept reading it out to me by the pool. fab book for any boxing fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 30 April 2014
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
every thing you need to know about one of the greatest fighters ever.interesting from hids great fights to the later cash outings.sheds light on the no mais episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
Interesting guy as you would expect, but I think the writer fell in love with him and panama a little too much and what you get is a book that is a little overly thorough and could have been 50 pages shorter. Having said that, worth borrowing off a mate to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duran book, 8 Mar 2014
By 
M. PSALTIS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran (Paperback)
Great read. Brings the character of 'hands of stone' to life. I would reccomend this book to any fight fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran
HANDS OF STONE: The Life and Legend of Roberto Duran by Christian Giudice (Paperback - 3 Jan 2008)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews