Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Check for the Moral Minority
If you are looking for a book to provide examples to refute the "wasn't the past wonderfully safe" brigade you should buy this book. I bought this book because my family history (mythology) includes a tale of my Grandad's Grandad or Dad regularly walking down the middle of the (Liverpool) Dock Road with a Shillelagh in one hand, a huge bunch of keys in the other (because...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing details about the era in Liverpool
The book contains lots of interest if you are from or familiar with the area and it is well worth a read if you are.
Published on 14 Aug 2010 by J. Brady


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Check for the Moral Minority, 1 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book to provide examples to refute the "wasn't the past wonderfully safe" brigade you should buy this book. I bought this book because my family history (mythology) includes a tale of my Grandad's Grandad or Dad regularly walking down the middle of the (Liverpool) Dock Road with a Shillelagh in one hand, a huge bunch of keys in the other (because he felt safe?) and the days takings for the firm in his pockets. I wanted to read about what it was really like, I wasn't disappointed. I particularly enjoyed the reference to the "penny dreadfuls" corrupting the youth of the day in the same way people banged on about video nasties in the 80's and computer games today. I was not surprised to find out that the boot boy and knife culture is nothing new and hoodies are just a different cap. Every politician and idyllic revisionist should be made to read something like this at best or eat it at worst, those who don't study history are doomed to repeat the mistakes of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing details about the era in Liverpool, 14 Aug 2010
By 
J. Brady (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book contains lots of interest if you are from or familiar with the area and it is well worth a read if you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The gangs of Liverpool, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
Well researched, but rather dry account of the rough, impoverished side of Liverpool in Victorian times. I would guess that if you're not familiar with Liverpool, then it would not be a particularly good read.
There doesn't appear to be much evidence of actual gangs; the book focuses on a particular murder case, almost from start to finish. Most of the case histories (presumably taken from court records and contempary newspaper stories) are typical of what you would read in any local newspaper in any city in the country, in any era up to the present day. The only saving grace was that I am familiar with the area in question, and the street where I grew up got a passing mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
Well researched. Great use of photographs and maps. A real eye-opener - people who think today's society is aggressive and lawless should read this book. Late Victorian Liverpool was positively gruesome. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You'll never walk alone., 2 Sep 2013
By 
ericthered (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
You'll never walk alone, or in those days, you shouldn't walk alone.
I thought that this book was very slow ' to tell the tale.'
I've not quite finished it yet, so it may get a four star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gangs of Liverpool: digging into C19th street life, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
This is a terrific piece of research, written up with great understanding in a style that is vivid without being sensational. Much of the life among the urban poor has vanished from our ken and Michael Macilwee has dug it out with great aplomb. The so-called `respectable` classes only went to these areas if they had to and only if they were armed with pistols or sword-sticks. So what we despair of on our streets to day very much reflects the criminal and religious clashes of past ages.
A really fascinating if alarming read put together with great style and skill.
I really look forward to getting hold of his next two book in the series and seeing the TV programme with the Kemp Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Liverpool, 16 Feb 2008
By 
A. C. Fraser (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
Not what i was expecting when i bought the book, focuses mainly on 1 event/murder in particular. i wavered towards the end ut if you have an interest in liverpool in its 'hey-day' of merchant shipping and the lives of ruffer parts of the city centre, its a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
Fab book well priced :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, recommended, 10 Mar 2008
By 
Rottchick (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City (Paperback)
It was refreshing to read a book where it was obvious that the author had spent alot of time researching the facts. Very well written, and I'm looking forward to his next title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gangs of Liverpool: From the Cornermen to the High Rip - The Mobs That Terrorised a City
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews