Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment Handbook - Don't Adopt Without It, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book and so useful in so many ways for adopters, which is why it is so well thumbed in our house. As a prospective adopter going through the assessment process it's brilliant for explaining attachment theory in clear language - and also lets you know what the social workers are looking for as they assess you.

But the book really comes into its own after you have been matched with a child ...and beyond. This book lets you know what behaviours to expect from your child according to their experiences and their age when s/he comes to live with you. And, most helpfully of all, gives a range of activities (again, according to age) to do together with your child, whether to build their self-esteem, or to enhance their sense of security and "felt safety" - all in bullet points.

It's an absolutely superb book ... and it gets five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all-rounder, 13 Sep 2007
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
If you are after one comprehensive, academic but also accessible text on Attachment Theory (and there are a lot of books out there on this topic) I would recommend this for parents, foster carers and also practitioners.

I particularly liked the way the book repetitively used the same structure to explain development and attachment needs for children at different ages, across different topics.

This could have been a far more impenetrable book without it's clear structure and relatively user friendly language but as it stands I found it very thorough, interesting to pick up and 'get stuck into' and full of relevant, useful studies to present a strong clear evidence base (occasionally lacking in some books on attachment theories).
It may seem a little more expensive than other texts but I think you get your money's worth as it is so comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 4 Aug 2006
By 
Ms. L. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
I would recomend this book to anyone intrested in or working with children. I am currently studying for a social work MA and found this book really useful, I almost read it from cover to cover (Which very rarely happens!). It was easy to read and made me want to learn more, rather than put the tv on. Very good value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment handbook, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
This book is great really readable. It handles a complex subject really well.

I assess potential foster carers and have now lent it to several people during the assessment process and they have found it equally useful and understandable.

Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for all working with Foster carers and adopters. It is easy to read and the writers sert out the chapters with themes which make it easy to dip and out . This would be particularly useful for workers starting in this field and for experienced workers who wish to revist practice---never a bad thing !! Would really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, interesting and very readable, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
While going through the assessment process to become adoptive parents, my local library found me a copy of the handbook. I have now bought my own copy. Coming from a non academic but rather a personal direction, I found that the book is broken down into sections that are readable, interesting and give a very practical insight into reactions and behaviours of children that have been through difficult situations. It gives several different reactions the children may have and ways to work through these with the children. I decided to buy a copy for ourselves as we don't yet know who will be joining us. I will hopefully be using it as a tool to guide us a little more smoothly along the way, especially as it splits up the sections to cover different age groups from tiny babies into their teenage years and is easier than other books to dip in and out to find the piece you want and give yourself a reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, eye opener!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
Really good insight into attachment, a real eye opener! I would recommend this to anyone going through adoption process or foster care
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment book, 19 May 2013
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
Great book, accessible and easy to read . A must for any counsellor or social worker . It has helped inform my practice and how I interact with families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
very informative good refresher tool to keep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased to have found this edition so easily, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption (Paperback)
I needed an urgent copy of this book to return in place of one that I had spilled coffee on so exactly as expected, good price and delivered in plenty of time. Phew!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption
Attachment Handbook for Foster Care and Adoption by Mary Beek (Paperback - 8 Jun 2006)
17.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews