Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment, Trauma and Resilience
A fantastic book, well written in a friendly easy to read manner. As a foster carer, i found it very useful and especially liked the fact that it is written in a way which allows you to access the section required without having to re-read the whole book. She writes from experience and gives examples which as foster carers, we can identify with and learn from. The book...
Published on 27 Nov. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read
This is a tough but worthwhile read - I found the first few chapters quite helpful and thought they provided some interesting and useful experiences with very good detail behind the stories, bringing them to life. Unfortunately, the book changes style somewhere around the half way point and gets more generic which makes it a slog to finish which is a shame as it's obvious...
Published on 24 Feb. 2013 by LondonBetti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 April 2010
By 
Yakuba (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
This is a great book. It is good to understand and gives very good practical advise. Cairns manages to give an empathetic understanding of children with attachment issues and who have suffered trauma. Everyone working with these children should definitely have a look at this book. It's practical and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative for a non-degree person., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
I'm an intelligent person but the wording of some books is beyond me and I find myself reading the same paragraph over and over....and I'm none the wiser! However, this book is really informative and easy to read and digest for such an emotional issue. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it provides in depth detail on Kate's experiences which you can relate to and gain a better understanding., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Anyone involved in working with young children who have been adopted or working in an adoption team, this book is an absolute must, it provides in depth detail on Kate's experiences which you can relate to and gain a better understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really important book on these subjects, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
D. M. Dugdall "Skerries" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
This is one of the most useful and easy to understand books which I have ever had the pleasure of reading concerning these subjects. Written by a professionally qualified person, but with totally personal experience. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, superb lady, who talks with such understanding and knowledge., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
A superb book, delivered in good time. Kate Cairns writes with great understanding and wisdom. Her experiences and her vision provide a brilliant and inspirational guide for anyone working with or fostering unhappy, damaged children. Having attended one of Kate's training days I truly felt I'd experienced a "Road to Damascus" moment and was delighted when I found this book on Amazon. Doing the work that I do, it's easy at times to become a tad negative or worn down. Kate Cairns lifted me up and I remembered why I am doing the work that I am, and felt re-energised and inspired to go back to work with a positive tread and a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment,Trauma and Resilience, 9 July 2011
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Absolutely marvellous book! Recommend to any reader interested in a career in fostering, social work etc.. Good reference book for child development, theraputic intervention and real life perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
A very interesting read. Well written. And great for foster Carers needing to expand their knowledge and understanding. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars attachment trauma and resilience, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
I loved this book especially the first parts about how she worked with the children in her care in specific circumstances, a really great handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment, Trauma and Resilience, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
A book giving insight into difficult children and combined with other sources has been very useful. I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 May 2014
By 
K. I. Winterburn "kevn w" (ENGLAND, SUSSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
This is a really good book I got to help with my new career path very informative I certainly learnt a huge amount from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children
£12.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews