Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment, Trauma and Resilience
A fantastic book, well written in a friendly easy to read manner. As a foster carer, i found it very useful and especially liked the fact that it is written in a way which allows you to access the section required without having to re-read the whole book. She writes from experience and gives examples which as foster carers, we can identify with and learn from. The book...
Published on 27 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read
This is a tough but worthwhile read - I found the first few chapters quite helpful and thought they provided some interesting and useful experiences with very good detail behind the stories, bringing them to life. Unfortunately, the book changes style somewhere around the half way point and gets more generic which makes it a slog to finish which is a shame as it's obvious...
Published 22 months ago by LondonBetti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment, Trauma and Resilience, 27 Nov 2003
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
A fantastic book, well written in a friendly easy to read manner. As a foster carer, i found it very useful and especially liked the fact that it is written in a way which allows you to access the section required without having to re-read the whole book. She writes from experience and gives examples which as foster carers, we can identify with and learn from. The book gave us a deeper understanding of where the children we care for are coming from. The book gives us examples of how to help these children overcome some very traumatic episodes of their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative & Really Useful, 9 April 2011
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Kate Cairns takes us through likely scenarios when dealing with adopted/fostered children. This book strips away the glamour of fostering and adoption to reveal the much more challenging, and much more rewarding reality. This is a really useful guide to what is likely to be going on in that little head and why. In particular she presents the science of brain development and the impact of damage during development in an accessible way. The interventions suggested are practical. She also explains the impact of various behaviours on others - for example the angry (or sad) child who projects the anger so that s/he is seemingly always surrounded by people who demonstrate the same behaviours. Interestingly the open acknowledgement of the permanent damage that may be done to children by abuse/neglect does not detract from the realistic optimism of the message. Her experience and expertise shines out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
This is a tough but worthwhile read - I found the first few chapters quite helpful and thought they provided some interesting and useful experiences with very good detail behind the stories, bringing them to life. Unfortunately, the book changes style somewhere around the half way point and gets more generic which makes it a slog to finish which is a shame as it's obvious that the authors have so much more that could be shared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars caring for kids, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Bought this book as I am a foster carer and doing a 6 week course on attatchment and trauma the trainers recommended the book for us to read the book has a lot of information and facts it was very helpful for information in helping me doing my course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 15 Dec 2002
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
As a trainee Psychodynamic Counsellor I found Kate's book most informative and very readable. She writes with great understanding and depth of knowledge. A very human book, and a good companion to Winnicott's attachment work, I believe this is well worth keeping for reference too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 17 April 2013
By 
E. Carter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Just started in Children's Services and this book has helped me to get up to speed with attachment theory, trauma and resilience, Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you work with children this is the book for you., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
I have attended the authors lectures which are just as excellent as her book. If you work with children this book is for you. It will change the way you work with children who have had traumatic life experiences. If you think you know all there is to know about children and trauma then this book will open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars invaluable for foster carers, 11 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
This book is a must read for foster carers, it is extremely helpful when dealing with children who have difficult issues affecting their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
Attachment Trauma and Resillience: Therapeutic Caring for Children was very informative and helpful. I enjoyed the first section of the book where the author describes inicidents that happened in their family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 July 2009
By 
J. A. Lipscombe (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children (Paperback)
For anyone who has an interest in learning more about attachment theory this is an excellent read, although be warned have tissues handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attachment, Trauma and Resilience: Therapeutic Caring for Children
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews