Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Plant Galls, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
I run a Wildlife Watch Club and used to use an old book with mainly black and white illustrations. Since purchasing this book the children have become more enthusiastic about galls and looking for them. This is because the photographs are so good together with the description and cause. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating study, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Always wanted to know more about them. Great photos and loads of detail, I will be studying this as I travel around the hedgerow next Spring and Summer looking for the galls shown in this book. Will be useful for explaining to the younger generation when we go exploring the countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful guide, lots of extra features, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
It's early Spring, so I've so far tested this only in identifying galls in photographs. But the detail, the quality of images, and the little ecological asides all make it a delight to use. Although much less comprehensive than the AIDGAP key to British galls, this adds a lot because of the clarity of images. I'd expected to use this as a confirmatory guide, once I'd keyed something out using the larger book. In fact, the photos and the descriptions make it easy to use the book on its own much of the time. Well worth the price, this book should add to people's enjoyment of galls - but it's not simply for the specialist: like all books from Michael Chinery, it's very well written, and should make for more interesting country walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, excellent, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Quite simply, excellent. Of eight gall-guides on my shelf, from old to new, books to pamphlets, the WildGuides one is now my first and usually only stop. Good photographs, descriptions, easy to use, easy to read, just the right level of introduction. Indexed as usual under the host. Another first class addition to their series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
A very good book on a rather recondite subject. It was surprising how many we knew already but did not know the names or the natural history. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plant Galls ~, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
An intriguing insight into a little known corner of natural history.
Learning curve information presented in both text and colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for plant gall enthusiasts., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for those of us who know nothing about plant galls. The book is very well written, easy to read and has fantastic pictures of all the most common galls. A really fascinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. S. Davis "Gremlin" (Andover,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Fast delivery and an excellent book.Already been gall hunting and found some right on my doorstep.Easy to use and very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Brilliant guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
A fantastic littlepocket sized book that is full of useful information and photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides)
Britain's Plant Galls: A Photographic Guide (WILDGuides) by Michael Chinery (Paperback - 21 Oct. 2011)
£13.46
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews