Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
This book is one of the best guides on the market. It has a clear and precis text,excellent graphics and some beautiful photographs. It inspires you to observe in much greater detail these lovely insects many of which are in decline. I have found it to be an excellent reference book,it is light enough to carry with you as you explore the countryside and easy to use. To those people who like me wish to take photographs it gives a detailed image of habitat etc.which is invaluable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kitchen Sink, 2 April 2012
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
A companion work to David Newland's quirky site guide, "Discover Butterflies in Britain", this field guide packs an incredible amount of information into a relatively small package. It is also very well designed and presented, with the facts being given in a very digestible and attractive, even artistic, way.

With all UK species described in adult form, in enough detail to clinch identification, and most shown in egg, caterpillar and chrysalis forms too, with useful site info and tips for photographing and watching these insects, as well as more factual pieces, there is sadly little or no room for the more whimsical elements of Newlands earlier work. Even so, he and his co-authors manage, somehow, to shoehorn in some personal opinions and appreciations of individual species. So the Orange Tip is "delightfully delicate" and even the humble and decidedly unshowy Dingy Skipper is "beautifully camouflaged". These little asides do make a difference and allow the authors' enthusiasm to show.

Since this is primarily a field guide, the photos are designed to nail ID rather than showing off the butterfly. So for the Hairstreaks, in particular, only underwings are shown. Even so, most of the photographs are stunning, many of the best By David Newland himself (eg, the Peacock, the Swallowtail.)

The small section on p89 showing the differences in wing markings on the various Blue butterflies is extremely useful, it is a pity this type of mini-guide could not have been repeated for the Fritilliaries, and other difficult groups, but identification is a more complex subject than it might appear.

The book is sturdy and sized to make carrying in the field easy. A short but useful bibliography rounds off a very impressive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good edition of Wild Guides, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Tony "Young pensioner on the coast in Lovely ... (MILLOM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
There are many butterfly books on the market and this is a very good one. It is a joy to pick up and browse. It comes with a comprehensive text with superb photography of eggs, larvae, and imago. It has been a joy to read. The book has a good quality feel and as it a field guide comes with a heavy duty plastic cover. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT GUIDE TO BUTTERFLIES, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
All one could wish to know about British Butterflies is contained in this most informative guide. There are several photographs of each butterfly and helpful tips on behaviour;breeding habits;population and conservation; and egg, caterpillar and chrysalis stages which greatly aid identification. Simply the very best guide available. Grateful thanks to the authors David Newland and Robert Still for producing such a wonderful book. The forward to it is by Dr Martin Warren, Chief Executive of Butterfly Conservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on Butterflies you can buy!, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
There are so many butterfly books on the market but this has to be THE best book on British butterflies you can get in my opinion. You not only get to ID your butterfly with excellent clear images, but you get to learn about it with easy to understand well composed pages and chapters. There are some computer generated images to show the species in a better background but even these have been seamlessly done. From beginner to advanced if you love butterflies what are you waiting for, you need this book and Im sure anyone will really appreciate and enjoy the amount of information on each species.
I have used or looked at this book everyday since receiving this it; I love it as I really appreciate the work that goes into capturing these little guys on camera being a wildlife photographer myself, they are generally quite camera shy.
There are 558 stunning colour photos within this comprehensive guide but for me it was not only the gorgeous images of the butterflies but the detailed info on the eggs, caterpillars and chrysalis's that makes this guide stand way above the rest.

This gorgeous guide will be a perfect gift for the budding wildlife photographer or butterfly lover because of the depth of information. With extra information on where to go to watch or photograph certain species throughout the UK this book is light enough to take anywhere. It has excellent quality glossy pages and I was really surprised to find it has a heavy duty plastic sleeve; perfect for being out and about. Wow what a fantastic book, this is what I've been after for years!!!
All you could want in one beautifully photographed affordable guide book.

See my full review with more photos.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide for identifying British butterflies, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Island Girl (Isle of Wight, U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
I already had a butterfly book, but many of the butterflies were in Europe rather than Britain. Also the illustrations were not always that helpful. In contrast this book is great for someone like myself, starting out with very little knowledge. I suspect those with more knowledge would also find it useful.

Each butterfly has a double page spread, with the text on the left and the images (of which there are sometimes as many as 8) on the right. This makes it very easy to flick through the pages until you get to those similarly coloured for a start - and then you can narrow it down by going through the similar ones more slowly. The images are photos and very clear.

Identifying is aided on each butterfly by a listing of similar looking butterflies and a map showing locations, and there is also a chart showing when they are likely to be flying. All of which I have found invaluable.

Aside from adult identification there is information on each butterfly regarding behaviour, breeding, habitat, population and conservation and eggs, caterpillar and chrysalis.

There is a section at the end of the book on identifying eggs, caterpillars and plant foods which I have not used yet, but I can see might be useful in the future.

All in all I'm very happy with this purchase and will now be looking to buy other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on butterflies I have found, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
I heard about this book at a 1 day butterfly course that covered their ecology and life-cycle and identification. I brought the book and it not only covered identification of the fully grown butterfly but the other stages as well. It also had additional details on each butterfly including their food plant, distribution and habitat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
compact size - easy to put in your pocket - great pictures and easy cross reference.
pages coated to prevent staining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear guide, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
We wanted an easy quick reference to take on our walks.....our books are too heavy! This does the job , anything rare found is just photographed to reference at home. This covers what we are likely to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Butterflies, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
A very good book for carrying in the field in a large pocket - a wax-jacket type pocket and not an ordinary jacket. The illustrations of the butterflies are superb as they are all good photographs. At first I was a little disappointed in not seeing the caterpillars on the same page as the butterfly, but soon discovered that in the caterpillar section having similar looking caterpillars on the same page was then easier to identify to which butterfly it belonged. I particularly liked the column on each page with the butterfly giving particulars such as, map, where to look, wing span, whether common or endangered specie and other useful information.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Butterflies: A Field Guide to the Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife)
15.19
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews