Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The handiest wildlife guide to the Falkland Islands
For several years now, WILDguides have been setting the standard for small, handy field guides that focus mainly on the identification of neglected groups of wildlife, or wildlife guides to destinations for which handy field guides are lacking. Their approach is characterised by portability, the emphasis on visual utility (the use of computer enhanced photographs) and a...
Published on 23 July 2008 by Christopher J. Sharpe

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warmer in than out
I am starting to go through this book, which looks very useful. A note for Amazon: The author's name is Lisa Trotter, not Trotter Lisa.

Nigel
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Nigel W. Sitwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The handiest wildlife guide to the Falkland Islands, 23 July 2008
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
For several years now, WILDguides have been setting the standard for small, handy field guides that focus mainly on the identification of neglected groups of wildlife, or wildlife guides to destinations for which handy field guides are lacking. Their approach is characterised by portability, the emphasis on visual utility (the use of computer enhanced photographs) and a significant contribution to conservation. The latter is achieved in two ways: firstly by getting these guides into the hands of the public at very competitive prices (WILDguides is a non-profit publisher) and secondly by donating all profits to conservation organisations that work on the area or organisms treated by each guide.

This guide is typical of the series. It is now the wildlife guide of choice for those planning to visit the Falkland Islands. The only guide that is similar is the now-outdated Field Guide to the Wildlife of the Falkland Islands and South Georgia (Collins Pocket Guide). For those wanting a bit more detail the Woods' Guide to the Birds of the Falkland Islands, and the Atlas of Breeding Birds of the Falkland Islands may come in handy. However, since those who travel to the Falklands will almost certainly end up in mainland South America or Antarctica, I also carry Jaramillo's excellent Birds of Chile: Including the Antartic Peninsular, the Falkland Islands and South Georgia (Helm Field Guides) and Shirihai's A Complete Guide to Antarctic Wildlife: A Complete Guide to the Birds, Mammals and Natural History of the Antarctic.

And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation that supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. In this case, profits from the book go to Falklands Conservation.

Highly recommended!

Chris Sharpe, 23 July 2008. ISBN: 1903657105
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds & Mammals of Falkland Islands, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
If you are lucky enough to survive the long haul to the Falklands and get to Sealion Island, then this is the book for you, believe me you will use it every day you are there, I borrowed the one in the lodge. After taking 1800 pictures of my time there this book was a necessity, just when you think your photo of a seal is just that, 3 other birds of some sort of wildlife not known have appeared in the picture. Fab book, very well informed on wildlife and has pictures to go with.
5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands, 8 April 2011
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
Having just come back from the Falklands, it is just what I needed. Maybe I should have got it before I went! A great book received soon after ordering and in good condition. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
small book but with everything inside! very good. For people that want to have an image of wildlife of the islands and where to spot them is really worth buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great photos. Love the format., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
Good photography with useful information. A useful book for some study before for my short visit to the Falkland Islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended field guide to the Falkland Islands, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) (Hardcover)
Easy to use field guide using photographs instead of drawings for identification of all the species likely to be seen. I will be taking this book with me to the Falklands next year and am sure it will serve the purpose I have purchased it for. Recommended to others if you need an ID guide to the birds and mammals to this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warmer in than out, 31 Jan 2008
By 
I am starting to go through this book, which looks very useful. A note for Amazon: The author's name is Lisa Trotter, not Trotter Lisa.

Nigel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides)
Birds and Mammals of the Falkland Islands (Wildguides) by Anne Woods (Hardcover - 21 Jan 2006)
£17.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews