Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2008
For several years now, WILDguides have been setting the standard for small, handy field guides that focus mainly on the identification of neglected groups of wildlife, or wildlife guides to destinations for which handy field guides are lacking. Their approach is characterised by portability, the emphasis on visual utility (the use of computer enhanced photographs) and a significant contribution to conservation. The latter is achieved in two ways: firstly by getting these guides into the hands of the public at very competitive prices (WILDguides is a non-profit publisher) and secondly by donating all profits to conservation organisations that work on the area or organisms treated by each guide.

This guide is typical of the series. It is now the wildlife guide of choice for those planning to visit the Falkland Islands. The only guide that is similar is the now-outdated Field Guide to the Wildlife of the Falkland Islands and South Georgia (Collins Pocket Guide). For those wanting a bit more detail the Woods' Guide to the Birds of the Falkland Islands, and the Atlas of Breeding Birds of the Falkland Islands may come in handy. However, since those who travel to the Falklands will almost certainly end up in mainland South America or Antarctica, I also carry Jaramillo's excellent Birds of Chile: Including the Antartic Peninsular, the Falkland Islands and South Georgia (Helm Field Guides) and Shirihai's A Complete Guide to Antarctic Wildlife: A Complete Guide to the Birds, Mammals and Natural History of the Antarctic.

And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation that supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. In this case, profits from the book go to Falklands Conservation.

Highly recommended!

Chris Sharpe, 23 July 2008. ISBN: 1903657105
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
If you are lucky enough to survive the long haul to the Falklands and get to Sealion Island, then this is the book for you, believe me you will use it every day you are there, I borrowed the one in the lodge. After taking 1800 pictures of my time there this book was a necessity, just when you think your photo of a seal is just that, 3 other birds of some sort of wildlife not known have appeared in the picture. Fab book, very well informed on wildlife and has pictures to go with.
5/5.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Having just come back from the Falklands, it is just what I needed. Maybe I should have got it before I went! A great book received soon after ordering and in good condition. Thanks
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
small book but with everything inside! very good. For people that want to have an image of wildlife of the islands and where to spot them is really worth buying it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
bought it last august to prepare for a trip to the falkland islands i returned from today. i found it very useful and thank robin and anne woods for their work in preparing such a practical book usable by someone without a life time of birding knowledge i found the map on the inside cover especially useful to understand my route around the archipelago and describe it to others ,my trip was made more enjoyable by this wonderful book.
thanks to this book when absorbed in watching sea lions cubs last Wednesday and a striated caracara took advantage and flew off with my lunch having undone my rucksack i was able to accurately name the culprit.
i also knew the little birds in the tussock ,strand line and in the diddle-dee and white grass.the bigger geese , vultures ,shell ducks and skukas and the very large albatross and fulmars could tell fellow guests that i had photographed .cormorants Antarctic turns too quick for me in flight , dolphins gulls more beautiful in motion.i can and do run on
only wish i had understood the sufferance to fleas in magellanic penguin colonies as a warning against being bitten by the fleas before it happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Good photography with useful information. A useful book for some study before for my short visit to the Falkland Islands.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Easy to use field guide using photographs instead of drawings for identification of all the species likely to be seen. I will be taking this book with me to the Falklands next year and am sure it will serve the purpose I have purchased it for. Recommended to others if you need an ID guide to the birds and mammals to this area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
An all-round introductory to the wildlife of the Falkland Island.. Additional maps are very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
I am starting to go through this book, which looks very useful. A note for Amazon: The author's name is Lisa Trotter, not Trotter Lisa.

Nigel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)