Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pocket Guide, 4 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
Overall this book is very good, and is certainly very useful in the field. The only downside is that it seems that quite a few of the photo's are either the same or very similar to Lang's previous guide. Also some of the photo's are a bit poor and a bit fuzzy, i.e Creeping Lady's Tresses. But overall a good guide and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide to orchids I have found for Britain, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
Excellent illustrations and descriptions. I take this on all my walks looking for orchids now as it is easiluy portable and accessible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britains Wild Orchids, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
This item was delivered to me just a couple of hours ago but I was immediately impressed and that was with a quick flick through the pages.
The best book ever on Britain's Wild Orchids and an absolute must for photographers who like me who enjoy photographing wild flowers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful produced and clear, 9 Jan 2013
By 
J. Curd "slow reader" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
I'm no botanist - I bought it for my wife - but this looks to me like an excellently produced hardback book of high quality following the classically clear layout expected of WILDGuides. A mine of easily assimilated information. If anything, it seems rather too good to take into the field. :) My wife likes it a lot, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive field guide to Britain's orchids, 4 Nov 2009
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
For several years now, WILDGuides have been setting the standard for small, handy field guides that focus mainly on the identification of neglected groups of wildlife. Their approach is characterised by portability, emphasis on visual utility (the use of computer enhanced photographs) and a significant contribution to conservation. The latter is achieved in two ways: firstly by getting these guides into the hands of the public at very competitive prices (WILDGuides is a non-profit publisher) and secondly by donating all profits to conservation organisations that work on the area or organisms treated by each guide.

This book is a comprehensive photographic guide to the wild orchids of Britain and Ireland, covering all subspecies and varieties of the 51 confirmed species, plus 9 of dubious provenance. Its 59 full colour photographic plates with facing text provide the best tool to identify all the region's orchids.

At the heart of the guide are the photographs, which depict each species of orchid in its natural habitats, as well as showing the flowers up close. The informative text deals primarily with identification characteristics and includes a handy section on similar species as well as information on habitat, pollination and conservation. Distribution is shown on a clear annotated map. The text itself is authoritative and makes for fascinating reading. One is struck, above all, by just how many species are of conservation concern.

Two nice features are the ten page "key" to orchid flowers at the beginning of the book, followed by a comparative bar chart indicating flowering periods.

And since WILDGuides is a non-profit organisation that supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. In this case, profits from the book go to the The Wildlife Trusts.

In sum, this is THE handy guide to Britain's orchids, an essential addition to the naturalist's library. Highly recommended for naturalists and horticulturalists alike.

Chris Sharpe, 4 November 2009. ISBN-10: 1-903657-06-7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars starting out on orchids, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
this is what you need if like me it's the first time l have been looking for orchids and yes this is the book you need l now in a month have found 10 orchids and only one is not new to me....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Wildguide Series., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
Another excellent guide on orchids, plenty of useful information, some good photographs,
These wildguide books are really a good buy at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, despite a few flaws., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
I'm not sure how much this will aid my ability to identify some of the orchids I find, but it is a joy to browse nevertheless.
A pity much of the nomenclature and some classifications changed after it was published. The serious student would be wise to spend a couple of hours on the Internet, updating the systematic names.
The photos are very good, the text is clear, and it seems pretty comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine book, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
A staggering knowledgable book on this specialist subject i recommend it a serious work in all aspects , brilliantly illustrated .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, very pretty & detailed guide for all levels, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) (Hardcover)
A brilliant book, I would highly recommend it to anyone, whether they be a botanist or an amateur. The pictures are very detailed, the description of each species is very thorough, plenty of detail but not too scientific, everyone could read & understand it. I've recommended to my botany group & several people have ordered it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife)
Britain's Orchids (Britain's Wildlife) by David Lang (Hardcover - 21 Aug 2004)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews