Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rrrrapturrre
Ignore the nay-sayers below. I admit I was not overly keen on this when I first heard it many years ago but listening again I think it is wonderful and one of the better McCoy plays. The theme tune is excellent. The inclusion of Tony Blackburn is excellent. The dance music is excellent. You even get a bonus instrumental track. The Ibiza setting is inspired. The complex...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by Varian Beauregard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite rapturous, but not bad
It's Ibiza, and the seventh doctor and ace are finding strange things in the clubs. This is not a highly regarded story by many, but it's a little better than it's general reputation with the fans might have you believe.

The doctor and companion team are well suited to the locale. Which other doctor would chase through a packed nightclub to find his companion...
Published on 21 July 2006 by Paul Tapner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rrrrapturrre, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Ignore the nay-sayers below. I admit I was not overly keen on this when I first heard it many years ago but listening again I think it is wonderful and one of the better McCoy plays. The theme tune is excellent. The inclusion of Tony Blackburn is excellent. The dance music is excellent. You even get a bonus instrumental track. The Ibiza setting is inspired. The complex and interlinked relationships between all the characters unfolds excellently. Although I originally disliked the character development for Ace I now appreciate how it fits as an essential piece of this partciular jigsaw.

Be warned, there is a very adult drugs strand and a few instances of cutting half-way through obvious swear-words. This all adds to the authenticity for me. There is also a lot of nineties style introspection and emotionalism linked to religion and 'purpose' (or lack thereof). This may be offputting or dated for some but it's not as stiffling as in the new adventures books. Overall this is very different from other Big Finish plays and worth hearing just because of that. IMO this one is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rapture - The Doctor and Ace ave it large to some kickin' tunes!, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the thirty sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven and Sophie Aldred as Ace (sorry, McShane). There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Following the events of story 25 in the range, the excellent `Coditz', and their traumatic conclusion, The Doctor takes Ace to Ibiza so that she can relax with people of her own age, in hr own way, and make an attempt to get over the psychological hurt she has taken. Unbeknownst to Seven there is a deadly danger lurking in the Island's new nightclub, and McShane has, of course, walked straight into it. Also lurking in the shadows is someone who has been looking for McShane for quite some time now. The Doctor has quite a job convincing Ace that this isn't just another one of his master plans.

It's a nicely done piece that really allows Ace's character to grow and develop, as she comes to understand just who she is and where her place is in the world. In conjunction with Colditz, this story takes her from the immature girl of Ghostlight and transforms her into the more rounded and mature character encountered in later adventures such as the Fearmonger. Aldred pulls it off nicely, with a great performance.

It's a story that revolves around Ace, but don't worry, Sylvester McCoy gets plenty to do as the Doctor. He plays the concerned father figure with just the right dash of panic as he realises that what he thought was a safe haven is anything but. It's an energetic and charismatic performance from McCoy, and I really wish we had seen more of this characterisation of the Doctor during his tenure. Damn Michael Grade for cutting the series just as it was getting interesting.

It's a cracking story, with a dark overtone and a great bit of character development for the principles. There is also an interesting cameo for Tony Blackburn. For me it ranks up as one of the best Seven/Ace stories of either TV or audio series. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite rapturous, but not bad, 21 July 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
It's Ibiza, and the seventh doctor and ace are finding strange things in the clubs. This is not a highly regarded story by many, but it's a little better than it's general reputation with the fans might have you believe.

The doctor and companion team are well suited to the locale. Which other doctor would chase through a packed nightclub to find his companion when she's in distress? Typically good big finish production design really creates the atmosphere of the place superbly.

But the main problem with this is the aliens involved. They are an unknown quantity for the first episode and work superbly that way. But once revealed they are crashingly dull, and it would have worked better to keep them the way they were in part one.

We also have some additional back story for ace that isn't really necessary, as it fails to properly develop at the end.

So not a terrible story, but there are better out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was rapt, 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed Joseph Lidster's pastiche on Ibiza culture. Set in the titular nightclub, two beings - apparently angels - are brainwashing clubbers (not to difficult some might say) and Ace is shocked when she meets a family member she never knew existed...
Invigorating, intriguing and damn good fun. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but worthwhile adventure, 17 Dec 2002
By 
M. Coupe "markcoupeuk" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The Rapture is the latest in a series of generally excellent adventures from Big Finish, a company which has been recording full-cast audio dramas (as opposed to talking books) using the original actors who played the doctor + companions. These stories have been released at the rate of 1 per month since summer 1999, and at times have reached a standard that televised who never did.
The Rapture is a highly unusual tale, set in Ibiza, and scripted by a newcomer to the range. Its main selling point is the appearence of Tony Blackburn playing himself, although the music and general storyline set it apart from other adventures. The basic plot is that 2 angels have established themselves in a club in Ibiza, a club where the 7th Doc (Sylvester McCoy) and Ace (Sophie Aldred) have just arrived to relax...
The story attempts to split itself in two, covering the machinations of the 2 angels as well as a personal revelation for Ace. It manages to do this well, but as with a number of stories is more successfull in its opening parts (the Big Finish CD's are split in 4 parts like on telly, 2 parts per CD) due to the mystery surrounding the angels being a little formulaic when revealed. A nice touch is that the story has a little twist at the end once it looks like the adventure is over, and also contains good continuity links back to Ace's past.
All in all not a bad story at all - the location is more exotic than the norm which helps - and it all seems a bit more contempary than usual for Dr Who (not just because of the clubland setting). Recommended, but there are better Big Finish stories out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Feel the music in your soul!", 4 Oct 2006
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rapture (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
"Ibiza, 1997, and thousands of young people are acting like midless zombies.

"Which is to be expected. Ibiza, the island of dance music, sex, drugs and alcohol, is the ultimate hedonistic paradise.

"God has sent help from on high to save the sinners of Ibiza. He has sent His angels to save their souls.

"Which would be simple enough if these souls didn't include an alient time-traveller working in a bar, a woman who disappeared in 1987, a young man carrying a photograph of a girl he's never met and an Irish girl who doesn't even know who she is any more."

"The Rapture", by Joseph Lidster, is a unique and innovative audio play from Big Finish Productions that takes all the elements of a good Doctor Who story, and mixes them up with hypnotic trance music and an appearance from Tony Blackburn.

If we leave aside for the moment the distraction of the angels Gabriel and Jude and their plot to subject the revellers at their Ibiza club to the final judgement, The Rapture is really Ace's story. Ace, or Dorothy McShane as she is now calling herself, is recovering from the trauma of Kurz's death within the confines of the TARDIS in "Colditz", and wants a holiday. The Doctor brings her to Ibiza, where she falls in with a small group who invite her to join them at the hottest new nightclub, The Rapture. However, unbeknown to Ace, one of the group, Liam (David John) has a picture of her in his wallet.

As Ace discovers more about her past, and a brother she never knew she had, she goes on an emotional journey, whilst the Doctor takes a back seat in the proceedings. As such Sophie Aldred is required to inject real feeling into the character of Ace, and she rises to the challenge in a way that we haven't really heard since "The Curse of Fenric". Her acting only really feels forced when Ace is called upon to "let go" under the spell of Gabriel's music at the end of episode one - but that one glitch can be forgiven. As to McCoy, he is on good form this time.

My one criticism of "The Rapture" is that the Ace storyline is resolved somewhat prematurely so that episode four can be devoted to the resolution of the Gabriel / Jude storyline. I shan't go into details, for fear of spoilers, but it does at least draw an effective parallel with the Ace / Liam storyline. Performances are good throughout the play, including the use of a real Spaniard as Ibiza local Gustavo, and the trance music that forms the backdrop to the story is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rapture (Doctor Who)
The Rapture (Doctor Who) by Joseph Lidster (Audio CD - 1 Sep 2002)
12.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews