Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ish... - Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can destroy the universe...
This is the thirty fifth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Six and Nicola Bryant as Peri. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Victor

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking but hard to follow
Another CD full cast adventure for the Doctor from Big Finish, this time starring the 6th doctor (Colin Baker) and Peri (Nicola Bryant). This story finds the doctor arriving for the unveiling of the biggest dictionary in the universe, and coming up against a malevolent word....
I really wanted to like this story because it really made me think about the role of...
Published on 17 Dec 2002 by M. Coupe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking but hard to follow, 17 Dec 2002
By 
M. Coupe "markcoupeuk" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Another CD full cast adventure for the Doctor from Big Finish, this time starring the 6th doctor (Colin Baker) and Peri (Nicola Bryant). This story finds the doctor arriving for the unveiling of the biggest dictionary in the universe, and coming up against a malevolent word....
I really wanted to like this story because it really made me think about the role of language in our society, with the notion of language existing THROUGH us being a fascinating one. The reason I didnt enjoy it was because the story just seemed smug and self-satisfied, as if it KNEW it was being clever. In places it was generally fun, for example the doctor stealing a joke from Blackadder the third (another great BBC series) but it was generally Po faced, and too arrogant in places to explain exactly what was going on. Ive now listened to it twice and follow it up until about the beginning of part 3, where the delegates at the symposium lose the power of speech except the word ish... Then it all becomes a bit of a blur!
Its not a total wash out though - I want to listen to it again, if only to decipher the latter half, and its ideas are exceptionally good - with the 'baddy' if you like being the longest word in existance (the omniverbum) which must, by defination, have no meaning, and so driving anyone that comes into contact with it insane - just try letting Star Trek put that in an enterprise episode! If nothing else, Ish... proves the Dr Who format still has the capacity to make us think and not just feed as a drip of cliches. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Word..Ish Sixth Doctor Shenanigans, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Cd Info.
2xCD of a 2 episode story, Running time 130 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)The Sixth Doctor refers to Delphon a silent communication obtained by moving one's eyebrows, This was referenced by the Third Doctor in Spearhead From Space.
2)Peri refers to her Botany course & stepfather Howard Foster in this audio adventure.
3)Omnilverbum is apparently the longst word in the universe known to exist.

Synopsis.
The Sixth Doctor & Peri attend the Lexicographers at a college were a murder has been committed.

The victim was a perfectionist linguistic & a personal friend of the Doctors who was compiling the universe's biggest dictionary & the only suspect is her holographic assistant named Book.

The word Omniverbum is the longest word in the dictionary & in existence & it's sentient affix "ish" have ever lived to tell of it.

Exept one as holographic assistant Book brought the "ish" back from an obscure world & used it at the college as this was the holograms programming but now it has escaped & will cause havoc on the speech centres of the human brain unless the Doctor can find a way of stopping it.

Meanwhile Peri is in danger as she falls into the spell of the word anarchist Warren as she may face the degenerating book as Warren is quite distraught yet unhinged by his master's recent death committed probably by Warrens own hands, Is Warren distraught enough to kill again with Peri being his next targeted victim?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a very unique audio adventure which I'd call a marmite adventure as you'll either like it or loathe it as it demands the full attention of the listener to fully merit it's appreciation for this complex yet enjoyable audio adventure.

Colin Baker gives an outstanding performance here as the Sixth Doctor truly raising his game to accommodate a complex script but Colin pulls it off superbly showcasing his talent for literature & it's easy to see why he has become such a popular Doctor on audio with this charismatic performance.

Nicola Bryant gets involved in the mystery here yet seems quite exasperated by the Doctors antics to events in this mystery at times as the story by Phil Pascoe demonstrates if you have a great script this Tardis twosome can deliver a brilliant intriguing adventure.

The plot is witty & engaging making a change from the usual base under siege or Dalek, Cybermen adventures, As this audio adventures enemy is a word & that's something quite unique for a 2hour plot but it works well on this audio adventure & engages the listener to think about the story's key plot point's.

Some fan's may not be as appreciative about this story as I am but if your looking for a unique Doctor Who adventure then you can't go wrong with this audio adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ish... - Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can destroy the universe..., 25 Jun 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the thirty fifth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Six and Nicola Bryant as Peri. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Six and Peri go off to an intergalactic lexicography conference to see an old friend of the Doctor's. A harmless enough place you'd have thought, but there is, as usual, danger stalking the corridors, and it isn't long before the Doctor is knee deep in suspicious deaths, suspicious suspects and the possible end of the universe.

It's a fun little four parter in which the writer gets to have fun with language, and Colin Baker has a lot of fun as Six showing off his knowledge of recondite words. He really is on form, showing Six in all his glory as the know it all show off. It's a charismatic performance, a pity he was never allowed to be this good in the TV series. Nicola Bryant is similarly in form as Peri, with a perfect hint of exasperation at the Doctor's antics. As I said, a really fun little adventure with a good natured charm. I loved it, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic-ish!, 30 Mar 2007
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is still one of the best and most original doctor who plays I've heard. This is thanks in large part to the originality and intellectualism which both add depth and meaning. It wouldn't work well on t.v., as it is more concerned with words than visuals (so it would only require a small budget), but on audio it's great.

The doctor is well acted (or should that be voiced). Colin Baker and Peri sound just like they did on t.v. The verbal sparring continues and is emphasised by the whole concept. If you have a dictionary to hand, you'll learn some new and lengthy words, but you better pause this while looking them up because this play demands full attention to be understood and appreciated!

Another reason I'm fond of this play is because I found parts of it were genuinely amusing and even made me laugh aloud (embarrassing when listening through headphones but that's another story!) No other doctor who play has really had this effect on me.

If you have any interest in words and language or just want to experience Colin Baker finally realizing his potential as the doctor (he has shined through Big Finish), then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack of the Ominverbum!, 23 Jun 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
At last some originality in Who! ...Ish takes a bizarre and novel concept of a suffix to an infinately long word, and gives the verbose 6th Doctor a grand opportunity to let loose his verbal dexterity. Excellent performances, and a clever, witty and amusing script make this one of the best stories that Big Finish have yet released. Proof that, when done well, the 6th Doctor and Peri can be a winnng combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine performance, 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: ..Ish (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I also liked this entertaining story albeit rather pompous at times. My main reason for liking it was because of Colin Baker - this audio is basically a vehicle for the Sixth Doctor and is none the worse for it. Now if only the TARDIS would end up in a dimension where nasal American accents automatically change to another accent; Peri is a decent foil for The Doctor but I have never come to terms with her voice - another dodgy decision by John Nathan-Turner?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

..Ish (Doctor Who)
..Ish (Doctor Who) by Phil Pascoe (Audio CD - 1 Aug 2002)
11.55
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews