Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware Of The Chimes, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2x CD of a 4 episode story, Running time 115 minutes approx, Traliers.

Trivia.
1)Rob Shearman adapted his Big Finish audio adventure Jubilee into a tv episode for the Ninth Doctor called Dalek.
2)Charley Pollard own mini series is released later this year from Big Finish Productions.
3)This play was broadcast on BBC7 on 17th December 2005 & repeated the following 2 years on the same date.

Synopsis.
A Edwardian home in 1906 or is it, The Eighth Doctor & Charley are caught in this mysterious house outside of time & when the Grandfather clock chimes somebody will be murdered.

Can the Doctor unmask the murderer or are there other strange sinister forces at work here?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a Big Finish classic that benefits from multiple listens as some plot threads may not become quite clear on first listen as writer Rob Shearman has wrote a gem of a mystery audio Eighth Doctor adventure here.

Paul McGann & India Fisher shine in there roles as the Eighth Doctor & Charley both giving truly remarkable strong performances as this chilling adventure becomes even more enigmatic as it goes along.

This is a superbly paced adventure that builds up the suspense engaging the listener full to solve the key plot points that make for a interesting puzzle for the Doctor & Charley to solve.

Rob Shearman is a excellent writer & it's a pity he hasn't written a Big Finish Doctor Who adventure in a few year's as he certainly knows how to write a good chilling Doctor Who mystery.

This is regarded by fan's as a classic Big Finish audio adventure & it's not hard to see why as this is a story that delves into eccentric strangeness which makes Doctor Who so great & gives the listener plenty of mysterious intrigue into whats going on throughout this superb story.

Great production values as ever from Big Finish make this one of there best Doctor Who story's for the Eighth Doctor & Charley Pollard.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chimes Of Midnight - Time marches on for the Doctor and Charlie, 20 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the twenty ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Paul McGann as Eight and India Fisher as Charlotte Pollard. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

This release is the second in the second miniseries of Eighth Doc stories, through which there is a loose story arc revolving around Charlotte Pollard's rescue from the R101 by the Doc back in their first adventure. The arc has a greater presence on some stories than others, and here it is quite important.

The Doctor and Charlie arrive in a late Edwardian town house pantry. Things are not as they should be and for some reason they are outside of normal time, and unable to interact with the house or its inhabitants. As the clock chimes they find the barriers weakened, and soon they are plunged into a deep and dark mystery below stairs, where the servants keep getting themselves improbably murdered.

At it's core is a really decent little idea, and it is superbly realised by the cast. India Fisher in particular gets lots to do, and she does it well. Charlie is now starting to lose some of her naivety and grow up a little, and Fisher portrays her journey very nicely. McGann plays Eight as a bundle of energy, having fun but with a deep compassion. And a slight inability to answer some difficult questions...

It's at first a very spooky story, which slowly morphs into something intelligent, moving and thought provoking. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
My favourite Big Finish so far, this is a truly creepy+funny+weird story. McGann is excellent and the whole "noone goes upstairs when they are not called is kind of scary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent start to a story arch, 4 Feb 2009
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
"Chimes of Midnight" is one of the best Big Finish audiostorys. The start of a wonderfully written story arch that ultimatley focusing around Charley and the effect her rescue from the R-101 on the web of time - but that really comes on later - as for CHIMES (without spoilers), the doctor and charley find themselves in the middle of a murder mystery that seems to have a temporal event at its heart.

Of all the monthly big finish storys I've heard this 2nd series of 8th doctor storys are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've been scared only twice by Doctor Who, 'Blink' & 'The Chimes of Midnight', 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
My first Doctor was Christopher Eccelston and I have followed every Nu-Who story since. Last year for the 50th I've watched the "Greatest Hits" from the classic series, at least 4 stories from each Doctor (accept Colin Baker). So it is with some weight behind my words when I say 'The Chimes of Midnight' is one of the best and certainly the scariest Doctor Who stories I have ever experienced. It is dark, mature, emotional and thematically very rich. It's also the best narrative for a companion I have come across. Despite only listening to three Charlie stories prior to this one she has shot up in my appreciation, the writing and performance are so strong here. McGann is great as always, having invaded my top 3 Doctors list (Tennant, Troughton, McGann) and the supporting cast are suitably creepy too. I recommend you purchase this and watch it in a dark room, allowing yourself to legitimately experience one of the only Doctor Who stories scary enough for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have yourself a scary little Christmas, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
A full cast audio adventure of the 8th Doctor.

One of those stories that superlatives are not enough for. The Doctor and his companion Charly arrive at an early 20th century house in time for Christmas. And then like an Agatha Christie someone dies. and then..

To give more away would ruin the plot, but all the other reviews of this must give some idea of how strong this is as a production. Would stand well with the rest of the Doctor Who universe and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Finish at their best, 14 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The title of this Big Finish audio adventure is a pun on the title of Welles' 1965 masterpiece based on a larger-than-life character from Shakespeare's Henry IV. This is highly fitting as it is a larger-than-life adventure and one of the best Doctor Who original audio dramas made by Big Finish so far.
The (Eighth) Doctor and his companion Charley Pollard arrive in a mysterious house where the scullery maid promptly appears to drown herself. What begins as a seemingly straightforward 'whodunnit' becomes a creepy and claustrophobic foray into the recesses of Charley's mind and both of the travellers' sanity.
Moody, spine-tingling and well-acted, this is a real tour-de-force and one of the best Big Finish audio dramas to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 11:56, 11:57, 11:58......, 30 Aug 2004
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Now i made a pact to myself that i would not rate an audio drama 5 stars in the possibility that there will be one better and i'd be incapable of rating it higher. This one, The Chimes of Midnight by Robert Shearman (who is writing for the 2005 series, yahoo!), pushed me. At least the first three parts did. Part one is brilliant, really pushing your nerves to the limit and throwing an infinite number of questions at you like any self-respecting Who story should, and part two...well, it really is up there with the best of cliffhangers ever. I can't spoil any of the plot, because its so twisted and mind-warping that when it finally unravels you'll be blown away. Paul McGann is excellent, Charley is good and the supporting cast, especially Lennox Graves as Shaughnessy, all shine.
Ah, you're saying, all this about 5 stars and yet hes given it four. The reason for this is the tying of the plot into the ongoing story of Charley. If you haven't heard Storm Warning then you will not understand some of this, and this is a shame because it takes away from the overall originality of the whole endeavour, and therefore doesn't stand as brilliant on its own: it needs at least Storm Warning to back it up. So only four stars.
However, if you have heard Storm Warning and know the sub story regarding Charley's existence, then this is classic. Utterly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyable, this is what audio drama should be like, very few characters and one setting, and a cracking story that runs at just the right pace.

I can't write too much about the story without giving something away, simply put this is well worth a listen. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ticking, tocking tour de force, 14 Aug 2006
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
"'Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house not a creature was stirring...

"But something must be stirring. Something hidden in the shadows. Something which kills the servants of an old Edwardian mansion in the most brutal and macabre manner possible. Exactly on the chiming of the hour, every hour, as the grandfather clock ticks on towards midnight.

"Trapped and afraid, the Doctor and Charley are forced to play detective to murders with no motive, where even the victims don't stay dead. Time is running out.

"And Time itself might well be the killer..."

"The Chimes of Midnight" is "The Holy Terror" author Robert Shearman's second entry into the Big Finish canon - as such one might expect greatness. It is also a very highly regarded production with a reputation standing head and shoulders above the rest. And the amazing thing? Even with all this hyperbole surrounding it, "The Chimes of Midnight" actually doesn't disappoint.

"Chimes" starts out as a fairly unassuming tale, taking the classic time loop cliché and fusing it adeptly with the haunted house concept, conjuring an engrossing whole with flashes of black comedy. However, it soon becomes apparent that there is more to the scenario that the Doctor and Charley find themselves in that meets the eye, and the story eventually pays off in a massive way a story arc that was started right back in "Storm Warning" (Big Finish Productions' first Eighth Doctor Audio, and a story that I would strongly recommend listening to first for continuity reasons). As in the case of "The Holy Terror", Robert Shearman is the master of the twist.

Paul McGann and companion India Fisher are on top form here and are backed up by a strong supporting cast. None are big names, but all play their parts flawlessly as pawns in the game of the mysterious Edward Grove, and there isn't a weak link among them. The sound design, meanwhile, is up to Big Finish's usual high standards, with the omnipresent ticking of the grandfather clock adding greatly to the atmosphere of the Edwardian mansion in which the story takes place. An effective score by Russell Stone, meanwhile, keys into the pivotal moments of dialogue beautifully.

Whilst in some ways I feel I may be subscribing to the hype by giving "The Chimes of Midnight" the full five stars (I am normally tougher on my Big Finish audios, even "The Holy Terror"), I believe "Chimes" to be an excellent production that is well worth the praise. I am even prepared to overlook the occasional moment of obviously descriptive dialogue, when they are set against such a high overall standard of writing and production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who)
The Chimes of Midnight (Doctor Who) by Robert Shearman (Audio CD - 1 Feb 2002)
£11.07
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews