Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars promising early start
The very first big finish story has the fifth sixth and seventh doctors all facing similar threats on their own, and then brought together at the end to deal with as it gets bigger.

Each gets an episode to themselves. Some are better than others. The seventh's doesn't engage, the fifth's is quite good although his companions are written out of it in a contrived...
Published on 21 July 2006 by Paul Tapner

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
I have about 15 of these audio adventures and to be honest I was a little disappointed. This story is made up of 4 episodes with each episode following a different doctor until they come together in the last episode. The 1st episode follows Sylvester McCoy on some alien planet, the 2nd follows Peter Davidson on a German U-Boat in 1917 and the 3rd follows Colin Baker on...
Published on 14 April 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars promising early start, 21 July 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The very first big finish story has the fifth sixth and seventh doctors all facing similar threats on their own, and then brought together at the end to deal with as it gets bigger.

Each gets an episode to themselves. Some are better than others. The seventh's doesn't engage, the fifth's is quite good although his companions are written out of it in a contrived manner, and the sixth's is involving due to the quality of colin baker's acting.

On their own those episodes would rate three stars, but this story as a whole gets up to a four as it's a great listen when the doctors come together. Sylvester Mccoy and Colin Baker are a great double act, and Peter Davison is superb in the elder statesman of the trio role.

The rest of the plot is nothing special, but this is still a pretty good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In The Beginning!, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2xCD of a 4 episode adventure, Running time 120 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)This was the first Doctor Who Big Finish audio adventure & newly written Doctor Who material to be performed by the actual actor's who have played the role of the Doctor since the 1996 tv movie.
2)Doctor Who writer Mark Gatiss appears in this story as Captain Schweiger.
3)The Knight's Of Velyshaa & the Drudgers both return in the Dalek Empire series.
4)To date there are 4 multi Doctor Big Finish storys ,The Sirens Of Time, Zagreus, The Four Doctor's & The Light At The End.

Synopsis.
Vansell a member of the Celestial Intervention Agency arrives on Gallifrey with a urgent message for the President of the Timelord high council, Gallifrey is being threatened by a fleet of warships surrounding the planet & are fitted with technology far superior to that of the Timelords who would be powerless to repel against such destructive power.

The Doctor discovers that there is a conspiracy to kill him as he faces mysterious trials in his Fifth, Sixth & Seventh incarnations but why is this mysterious enemy targeting this particular Timelord?

To go up against this latest threat it will take not 1 but 3 incarnations of the Doctor to come together & confront this mysterious enemy, But just who are the sirens of time & what do they actually want with the Doctor?

Timelord Thoughts.
This was the first ever Big Finish audio adventure released way back in 1999 written by Nicholas Briggs who would later become the voice of the Daleks, Cybermen, Ice Warriors on tv & audio to eventually becoming the executive producer of Big Finish Productions taking over from Gary Russell.

I remember reading about these upcoming audio releases in Doctor Who magazine & was intrigued by what I read but didn't think it would take off somehow as at the time Doctor Who was that old sci-fi show that was unloved & unwanted by the BBC & I couldn't see these audio adaptions working... How wrong I was.

15 year's later Doctor Who is one of BBC's biggest hits has a huge cult fanbase & is now on it's eighth series of NuWho with Peter Capaldi as the new Doctor.

Just who'd have thought it eh but it's thanks to the talents of Big Finish who helped keep Doctor Who shining bright during those long hiatus wilderness year's.

This is a great way of engaging the listener into a audiobook format by giving each Doctor his own episode then linking the three Doctor's together as the Fifth, Sixth & Seventh Doctors team up in the story's final episode to deal with the alien threat of the sirens of time.

Peter Davison, Colin Baker & Sylvester McCoy slip effortlessly back into there roles as if they've never been away each giving solid performance as each actor having there own episode allows time for the listener to get reacquainted with the character & alsos the story to build up tension & pace so when the Doctors finally do come together in the story's final episode the interaction with each other is excellent & the production values by Big Finish are of a very high quality.

Little did I realize at the time this would be the first of 100's of audio dramas to feature The Doctor, His companions old & new & confront his greatest villians Daleks, Cybermen & The Master while meeting new villians created by several Big Finish writer's who have also penned adventures on the new tv series of Doctor Who.

A thoroughly enjoyable 120 minutes of entertaining Doctor Who audio adventure, Big Finish the Doctor will see you now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Start, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
In my mission to listen to all of the Doctor Who audios, I started my journey with The Sirens Of Time.

It was nice to hear Peter, Colin and Sylvestor back as the Doctor, but the story was a little hard to follow. Each Doctor gets their own episode before joining together in the fourth.

It's a good start, but I think there are better ones to comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sirens of Time - Production and cast still finding their feet, but a good start nonetheless, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the first in the Big Finish range of Classic Doctor Who audio stories, and great things were to follow.

Dr. Who works superbly well as an audio production, mainly because the production team are no longer hamstrung by cheap visual effects. The monsters are so much better when you cannot see them! Also, as no sets are needed it allows for a much wider and imaginative selection of location, and is able to produce stories with epic, sweeping qualities that just cannot be made for TV.

Following the format of the classic show, adventures are usually 4 part with 25 minutes per episode. In this adventure we are presented with one episode each starring Peter Davison, Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy, in their individual dealings with the main villain of the piece. Then finally in the fourth episode the three come together to battle it out with their foe. This is where it gets really interesting, and the interaction between the three leads is excellent.

Cast and production crew were still finding their feet, but nonetheless this is good start. The three leads slip back into their roles easily, and after a few minutes it is as if they had never been away. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Three Time Lords for the Price of One!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Back in the final, fading days of the last century, our good Doctor's brilliant flame was flickering down to its last embers. Briefly fanned by the TV movie in '96, it had been kept alive by books and an increasingly eclectic magazine. It looked like the TARDIS doors were soon going to close forever. And then came The Sirens of Time...

When I first heard this, back in 2000-2001, I found it to be a little confusing, with far more going on than I remembered in the series. Besides, Doctor Who was a visual thing, wasn't it? But time, and the Doctor, has moved on. Now, we hear the Doctor on radio and CD regularly, enjoying a modern series for a modern audience. So, it seems like a good time for a reassessment.
Clearly designed both to showcase and advertise these new productions, we are treated to three single episode adventures for the Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Doctors, all of which are entirely different, yet somehow similar. Each ends with a dramatic cliffhanger that seems to spell certain doom for our hero. They are all working alone, without the TARDIS or companion, at least almost: each gets a brief companion to apparently aid them. But are they all they seem? And just why are the Time Lords so keen to first contact, and then try to kill, the Doctor?
The fourth and final installment gives us all the answers, as all three find themselves having to work together to battle a foe as old as time, and just as fickle. But, will they all make it out I one piece?

The cast are clearly enjoying themselves with this story, in particular the Doctors, all of whom seem to settle into their roles with an ease that believe the passage of time. One can see each of them in the mind's eye exactly as they were all those years ago, tastless coat, tacky shirts and dreadful pullover all present and correct. The humour is there, as is the expected bickering, darkness and inspired lunacy.
The production itself is also very solid, sound design generally workng well, the script holding everything together, despite the occasional in-joke and aside throwing things off at a tangent. Presentation is slick and professional, again belying the apparent experience (or lack of) behind the microphone; in short, everything simply WORKS.

The Sirens of Time is not perfect, but it is a good indication of what was to come and was clearly a labour of love, a love that has been rewarded many times over, ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I don't want to spoil the storyline but it was extremely clever. I'm very pleased with Big Finish productions. If only my resources let me purchase disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sirens of Time, 18 Jun 2005
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is Big Finnishes first Dr Who story and in all honesty is a bit of an oddity. As you will know its a multi doctor story featuring the 5th, 6th and 7th Doctors. The story is basicly each Doctor getting an episode to themselves and meeting up in the 4th episode to fight an enemy. (as you can see BF kept the 4 part format) Out of the solo episodes Colin Baker (6th Doc) does the best, while the other two are finding their feet on audio (this echoes how they performed in their own solo stories released later) but are quite good. The best bits are when they meet up and the interplay in the 4th episode.
I havent gone into detail much because honestly I can't remember it - but thats not the point. Big Finnish are finding their feet (as are a few of the actors) and in terms of quality its a bit dodgy to be honest but it gets 4 stars for being the start of a very good audio series and for getting the actors together and for being a multi story. If these factors don't float your boat I can't recomend it but if it does buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Or the Three Doctors (again!), 16 April 2009
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
A curious one this, The fifth Doctor's companions Tegan and Turlough spend the entire story inside the TARDIS where they are inexplicably trapped. The Sixth and Seventh Doctors are travelling alone whilst The fifth Doctor is taken from somewhere between 'The Awakening' and 'Frontios'; the Sixth Doctor from between the end of his trial and, according to Big Finish's website 'Time and the Rani'; and the seventh Doctor from immediately prior to Doctor Who The Movie.
While it is fun for fans to have three Doctors together in one drama I felt that more could have been done with this, particularly given that it is an audio and therefore potentially unconstrained in terms of 'visuals'.
There is plenty going on but there is too much waffle about 'time distortion' and not enough interplay between characters; there are also some impressive monsters and another 'Gallifrey under siege' storyline. Overall a decent enough story just don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong start, confusing finish, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "J-P" (Warwick United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I have just started to work my way through the BF audio's and started with this - it being no 1 after all. I felt that what started out as a strong story fell away in the final episode. The first three episodes, each focusing on one of the doctor's with mystery building around what the timelords's were up to and how the events were connected, fell away in part 4 when the doctor's were united on Gallifrey. The story became confusing and the interaction between the doctor's felt forced and was undramatic.
Still, it was an exciting enough adventure (in particular parts 1 and 2) and bodes well for the forthcoming series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong debut for Big Finish, 11 April 2006
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
"The Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Doctors, together for the first time! Gallifrey is in a state of crisis, facing destruction at the hands of an overwhelming enemy. And the doctor is involved, in three different incarnations - each caught up in a deadly adventure, scattered across time and space. The web of time is threatened - and someone wants the Doctor dead.
"The three incarnations of the Doctor must join together to set time back on the right track - but in doing so, will they unleash a still greater threat?"
How fitting that the first of Big Finish's Doctor Who audio plays should feature the fifth, sixth and seventh doctors all working together! And how fitting also that the events of the story should ultimately lead to Gallifrey, the Doctor's home planet. Although it wasn't the first Big Finish story I heard (that was Whispers of Terror), this one made an immediate impression. Maybe it was the writing, or maybe it was the truly excellent, atmospheric audio design (from the crashing of waves to the bubbling swamps)... I really couldn't say. Keen to avoid starting the story in too chaotic a way, writer Nicholas Briggs gives each Doctor an episode and a mini-adventure to himself before plunging them together for the finale. And, indeed, these solo episodes are the best ones, with each Doctor acting bang on character and embroiled in contrasting and inventive scenarios. It's just a shame that none of the regular companions could feature in the story (I suppose to do that would have been attempting to cram too many elements into the plot). It's only the final episode that's a disappointment. With a lot of story to resolve, three Doctors to handle and not much time to do it in, it all ends up a little confusing... but it's very atmospheric. A good start to what looks to be a promising series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who)
The Sirens of Time (Doctor Who) by Nicholas Briggs (Audio CD - 1 July 1999)
12.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews