Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply beautiful book - even if you don't want help!, 17 Aug 2006
By 
L. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
I spent the best part of 2 hours reading this book from cover to cover. Even before I started to play the game I took time to read everything there was to know. The book offers something for everybody - even if you are determined to complete the game on your own there is still plenty to learn from the interviews and concept art. The book provides an in-depth look at how the game was created and how Lara has progressed since her debut appearance in the original Tomb Raider.

For those who are looking for 100% completion, look no further! The book contains an easy-to-follow walkthrough for each level, an area map for each level displaying the locations of each secret and a fully comprehensive 'Extras' section at the back of the book which shows players how to unlock all the rewards in the game. Even if you only need help on a little bit of the game, it takes just seconds to find the bit you need to help you open that crucial door.

Overall, the book is informative, easy to use, easy to digest and simple wonderful to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 10 April 2006
By 
M. Everett "Dolly1" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
This guide is perfect. It has a whole section on tips and strategy to help you play through Tomb Raider: Legend, and then comes the Walkthrough part. Now, I do wish the maps were perhaps slightly clearer, as it can be difficult to find out where you are in the game, but the very informative text is also accompanied by colour screenshots to help you find that all important switch, ledge, or item.
At the back of the guide is the Extras section. This is a guide to finding all of the 'Rewards', and it offers detailed information on the unlockables, and how to complete the 'Time Trials'. There's also a very in-depth interview with the Crystal Dynamics team, which I found highly interesting.
There's also several pages covering the old Tomb Raider games. Although Tomb Raiders II, III, Last Revelation, and Chronicles have only an overview, the part about the original Tomb Raider just blew my mind. It looks at every level and describes the best bits in such an flawlessly well-written way, it made me feel very nostalgic, and it really does the first game justice, even though it has been (in need of a better word) casually tossed aside as new and improved games have been released.
All in all, a fantastic book with a wealth of information to see you safely through Tomb Raider: Legend, whether you're simply checking to see where that artifact was, or following it religiously.
Note: I would STRONGLY advise that you play the game through without the walkthrough first, as it would be an insult to how beautifully the game is made if you didn't take in all the wondrous sights! I played Legend without the guide, but when I got stuck I checked just to see where I was going wrong. I recommend you do the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book even for thoughs who dont want help, 27 April 2006
By 
Joel Griffin "Joel" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
This Guide is fab. Every level is detailed with pictures and a map of the area. I have flicked through and read some of the guide as well as used some of it when playing the game for my pc. This guide is also perfect because not only does it show you all the details of where to go in the levels and where the awards are, it also shows you all the production and creation put into making this game . I find this guide full of loads of info and interesting notes not just on how to play the game but also the game its self.

I give the guide 5 stars. And at only a small price its a piece of tomb raider history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars legend, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
a great guide for this game. covers all aspects of the game and helps with some of the more problematic puzzles that the game throws at you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars guide to levels, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
good book to help you find the missing secrets , the ones you miss the first time, get more bonuses when you have them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
I was really stuck on this game. I was going around in circles not knowing what to do and then I bought this book. It covers everything from the levels to where the prizes are. I spent a few hours reading and taking in were all the prizes were. And now im half way through the game, knowing were to go and stuff thanks to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a quality book, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
Only buy if you are going to use the guide and play the game.
Other than that, book is really well made. Enjoyed looking at the pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
This is one of the best things I have ever bought from Amazon. This guide covers it all, the basics of the game, all the equipment Lara uses and how to use them, an in-depth walkthrough and an extras section explaining how to get every reward and unlock everything in the game.

The first chapter titled How to Play covers the basics of the game like how to navigate the menus, how to start a new game, choosing the right difficulty level and how that difficulty level will affect the gameplay, how to save and load. It also tells you about the main menu and all the different sections of it. Also included is how to control Lara on different surfaces and controls for combat situations. There is a section on super actions which are interactive cutscenes where you will need to press certain buttons when they appear on screen, if you fail to press any particular button in time, Lara will die. You need to have quick reactions to make sure Lara survives. The last part is on Lara's equipment and how it can be used.

The second chapter is the Walkthrough, it provides detailed instructions on how to complete every level of the game, it includes area maps, mission data, detailed map sections, step by step guidance, screenshots and tips for each level.

The last chapter named Extras is split into 3 different sections, the first is titled Unlockables and covers the locations of all the gold, silver and bronze rewards on each level and what needs to to be done find them, including Croft Manor, All character profiles, location concepts, object models, pistol upgrades and most outfits require a certain percentage of rewards from each level to unlock, there are a few outifts that can be unlocked just by completing the specified level. The second is titled Previous Adventures and covers all the previous games and the last section is a behind the scenes section which covers the development of the game.

This is essential if you want to complete Tomb Raider: Legend 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider Legend - The complete official guide, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
It arrived in good condition, and in good time to. For people who love this game but are just not very good at it, this helps us to keep trying to do it and yes that means we who are just kids at heart.
May we never lose the fun in life.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Reader, 24 April 2008
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
This is a very well produced and glossy book that any TR fan will enjoy and want to keep.

I'd suggest trying not to use it for your first run-through so as not to spoil the experience (unless you're really stuck), after all it's not the hardest Tomb Raider out there. I used it on my second attempt to locate all the secrets...and some of them (Bolivia) are VERY secret !

It has useful maps, walkthroughs and a full list of all cheats and unlockables (costumes, cinematics, weapon upgrades etc) and how to attain them - everything you'll need to get the most out of the Legend game.

I often use YouTube these days as a resource when I'm stuck, but this guide adds a lot of value to the TRL experience and I've never regretted buying it.

Well illustrated and thought out - it's a good buy for Lara lovers :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide
Tomb Raider Legend: The Complete Official Guide by Daujam Mathieu (Paperback - 4 April 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews