Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly displayed, exceptional statistical tables and built to last
Having received this just today in the post, I can personally say that this is the finest Piggyback guide produced to date. My initial reaction was that this guide- or rather book, was very thick; over 340 pages to be precise. Increasing the weight and support of the book was the hardback cover, which no doubt will prevent curly ends which even the best kept softback...
Published on 21 Feb 2007 by Sheikah

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book with a major flaw
This book is excellent, compared to the Final Fantasy IX guide with web links this is quite thorough. I do however have one major gripe: the text is tiny and the font is badly chosen.

My eyes aren't perfect and the makers of this book haven't considered those without perfect vision. The tiny text, especially when in tables with grey background is almost...
Published on 25 April 2007 by J. L. Cronshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly displayed, exceptional statistical tables and built to last, 21 Feb 2007
By 
Sheikah (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Having received this just today in the post, I can personally say that this is the finest Piggyback guide produced to date. My initial reaction was that this guide- or rather book, was very thick; over 340 pages to be precise. Increasing the weight and support of the book was the hardback cover, which no doubt will prevent curly ends which even the best kept softback books are subject to suffer from.

Having had a deeper look into the guide, Piggyback's use of maps, detail and presentation instantly convey towards the reader that it is an extremely detailed resource which has been very professionally designed. If you had any of the previous guides from Piggyback, particularly the Final Fantasy X guide, you will notice a far larger enemies section, as well as more statistical tables.

For those interested, this Limited Edition guide is as pictured on the Amazon photo, but comes with an additional white traditional cover slip over the book, as well as a placeholder.

If you prefer to have guides to complete games, get this guide. If you don't normally use a guide to complete games, get this guide. It will prove remarkably useful for the plethora of extras in this game, as well as for obtaining the best equipment and more. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL PRESENTATION, EXCELLENT GUIDE!!!, 22 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
This limited edition guide book is even bigger than it sounds, with 340 pages and a hard cover it's massive and pretty hefty. The book is as shown with a brown leather-look hardcover and gold embelished symbols, and comes with a protective white slip-cover and a placeholder. As for the contents I've used the Piggyback guides for previous FF games and I've always been impressed with the layouts and vast diagrams, but this FFXII guide (created by a 30 man team) is crammed with so much info and so many tables I just know I wont be needing anything else. Plus, piggyback have made it even more user friendly and easier to find what your looking for. So if you need to complete every nook and cranny of Final Fantasy XII then I suggest you buy this guide. It's a great collector's item and an invaluble companion for the Final Fantasy nutters out there - and contains fantastic artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Feb 2007
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
I'll keep this short - it's superb. The best guide I've seen. The hardback edition comes with a protective sleep, and a handy placemarker. The guide is EXTREMELY detailed, and packed with all the information you could possibly want. The walkthrough has extensive maps, showing you exactly where you have to go in what order by use of arrowed-lines. There is also a quick guide for those who only want a quick reference or prompting, as well as a detailed step by step section. These are both split into paragraphs which are headed by a letter, referring to a place on the map for ease of use.

Definitely worth investing in, even if just for a collectors item. It's stunningly beautiful, with artwork galore integrated into the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic piggyback guide, 24 Feb 2007
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Piggyback have always produced the best guides when it comes to final fantasy games and this is no exception. The guides are have a good layout and are beautifully illustrated. The information provided in the guide is almost always accurate and written in a clear, easy to understand manner. None of the forementioned attributes can be said about the guides produced by bradygames!! This really is the war and peace of strategy guides as it really is THAT big. It doesn't really matter if you buy the paperback version or this guide as either one will tell you everything you'll ever need to know about final fantasy FFXII but i have to say...removing the front cover on this version to reveal the lovely antique style hard cover is a real treat for the eyes. I highly recommend this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, absolutely love it!, 22 Feb 2007
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
The above review sums it all up. Got the guide yesterday and superb delivery!. Piggyback's Final fantasy guides has always been at an exceptional standard and they just get better all the time!. The quality of the pages is very good as each page is glossy and provides a good look and feel.

With the guide being 340 pages long it's more than very good to buy at its price.

The leather combined with the foil makes this a must have buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Feb 2007
By 
I. Cousins "polobare" (england hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
this book is just the ticket if you have the game this book is the most detailed ff book i have ever seen its 340pages of infor is well layed out it shows you what you need and when you need it, this type of book in a guide is rare to find if you (like me) are a ff fanatic then you will need a book to satisfy your cravings to delve into the ff univerce of this magnitude it helps so much with the new battle system in which ff12 is unique this book not only looks good on the outside but the inside is full of beautiful artwork and maps this is just the best ff guide out there even better is that its limited edition get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A god send., 2 Jun 2007
By 
D. Francis "viapurico" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
This strategy guide has everything a good guide should have. It may look a bit daunting at first as it is a huge book, but when you get used to it it really is a god send.

I wont list everything that this book has because it could take a while, i will just say that every single thing that you need to know about the game, from instructions on how to play it, to the in game secrets, its all thoroughly covered and well laid out.

As you may know if you`ve played any FF`s before, the strategy guide is essential, without it you may miss many many hidden secrets and bosses.

It is important to have this guide for FFXII, with the game being so huge and with a complex gaming system, i fear i would be lost without it.

A great guide for a mind blowing game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Tony Banks "Kupo Mog" (Wallasey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Before I go on with this review I'll admit its not as complete as I'd like it to be, as I was going to originally wait until I'd finished the game using the guide to review it, but I just couldn't wait >.<. I'd also like to point out that I have actually played this game before (twice) without the guide, so I can relax a bit more when playing with the guide this time.

Piggyback have quite frankly outshone themselves with this guide. Ever since I purchased the Final Fantasy VIII guide back when it came out, I've been a dedicated self-proclaimed advertiser of the company, even despite the blip with the Final Fantasy IX guide (those magic codes were the worst idea ever).

Piggyback's guide for Final Fantasy XII is just sublime, I'm not totally sure on whether the actual guide differs between the hardcover and softcover versions (I own the hardcover), but I doubt it. Despite my lack of real love for Final Fantasy XII I started replaying it in order to test this guide and its effectiveness in taking you through the game. Before doing this I sat down with the guide and poured through their incredibly detailed analysis of monsters, bosses, summons, items, everything and you can just see the effort that has been put into it.

Unfortunately, as a result I've felt the actual walkthrough section is a bit on the unthorough side in comparison with the analysis sections. I haven't played a large amount of the game so far using the guide (having just come out of the Barheim Passage), however, there are instructions that at time just don't match with the thoroughness of the other chapters of the guide. As a result, the actual walkthrough section of the guide occasionally feels rushed and inbalanced, although individual tips sections (like ideal levelling spots for LP and EXP harvesting) again go into great detail.

This said, the guide is a must-have. Beautifully presented, an amazing help for people not knowing how to play the game and despite its very minor flaws, a huge asset to playing a very flawed game (I just had to mention that, but what can I say, I'm biased).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
this is a really big help if your stuck on any of the side quests or not sure on any of the bosses ant the art work is absolutely stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for a Truely Unique Game, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
FF XII is quite a unique game, and whilst I was unfamiliar with FF previously, the guide appears to introduce lots of new features to this expanding saga, making it great for newcomers or experts alike. The presentation can be a little complex, but this is only natural, considering that there are so many things in the game itself.

The guide is worth it just for the decoration, and as a piece of memorabilia for the game. But what makes things ideal in both the game and guide is that there are in fact no cheats. It's all to do with strategy, and the pages on tactics are brilliant for this.

Definitely worth the full price paid. Oh, and it comes with a paper cover on top to protect the decoratively finished artwork underneath. I would really recommend keeping this on to preserve its condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide
Final Fantasy XII (Limited Edition): The Complete Guide by Piggyback (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 9.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews