Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I am a carer and wanted to increase and update my knowledge on the disease so I found this book online. It is so easy to read and understand, very helpful and it is hard to put it down once you start reading. Great layout and very clear text and diagrams. Overall very pleased with my purchase and would advise any one looking at this book who is interested in the topic to...
Published on 11 Jan. 2011 by Ellie

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic guide
This book is a good straightforward guide for anyone who suspects or knows a loved one has dementia. It takes the reader through descriptions of the different forms of dementia with fairly detailed descriptions of the symptoms, then describes how diagnosis is performed, and the treatment options. There are chapters on how to get help with care, and also how to deal with...
Published on 15 Sept. 2010 by JW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
I am a carer and wanted to increase and update my knowledge on the disease so I found this book online. It is so easy to read and understand, very helpful and it is hard to put it down once you start reading. Great layout and very clear text and diagrams. Overall very pleased with my purchase and would advise any one looking at this book who is interested in the topic to get it. Great read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 13 Nov. 2011
By 
M. Sharrock "Fellman" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
I have reviewed over 45 books about dementia.
This book is the best by a mile.
It should be free on the NHS when you are given your first tentative diagnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic guide, 15 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
This book is a good straightforward guide for anyone who suspects or knows a loved one has dementia. It takes the reader through descriptions of the different forms of dementia with fairly detailed descriptions of the symptoms, then describes how diagnosis is performed, and the treatment options. There are chapters on how to get help with care, and also how to deal with being a carer, and the future prospects of a dementia sufferer. There are several diagrams showing how the brain works and how it is affected by the different dementias.

The book has been written by GPs and I found that the subject was dealt with in a somewhat detached way, however, I think some readers may prefer this approach as they are coming to terms with the situation. I also found it interesting to see the disease from the GP's point of view.

There are some basic tips for dealing with a dementia sufferer, but there is little detail in either understanding what your loved one is going through or for your approach to care. There are very few case histories. I would suggest it as a book for someone who is concerned about dementia, undergoing diagnosis or has just had a diagnosis confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book which has really helped me get to grips with the key concepts of Alzheimers disease. The book is precise and straight to the point; with no jargon or long, confusing chapters. Exactly what I needed to help me increase my depth of understanding of the condition before writing a nursing dissertation about the disease. I would highly recommend this book to both patients and nursing students alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from amazon, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
i chose the rating for the above book because it had all the useful information you needed to know about the condtion dementia and Alzeimers disease
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information well presented, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
Bought this book with three others having been a carer for two years and got very frustrated with insufficient information and help from the NHS and Social Services. If you're a carer, I would also recommend the books Keeping Mum and The Selfish Pig's Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this along with the book Keeping Mum and ..., 10 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
I bought this along with the book Keeping Mum and found they both complement each other. This one gives you all the facts simply. The other gives you tips from a carer who has really been right through the whole thing.

If you want to know just the facts about dementia this is the book to get - to also view it from a carers perspective try looking at Keeping mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was very informative and easy to understand and I would recommend it to anyone ..., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
It helped me understand more about the illness my dad is suffering with and help me explain why he has different symptoms happening to him and to let him know it's not his fault and not to worry or be embarrassed it's the illness. This book was very informative and easy to understand and I would recommend it to anyone trying to understand this illness and how to cope with it and be able to help the person with Alzheimer know your there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alzheimers, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
Another great reference book on alzheimers and dementias it covers medication,help,support and guidance well worth it for understanding this debilitating Disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful - one of the better works on the subject, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) (Paperback)
This has proved most helpful to the family in understanding a disease that is not only sad to behold, but also complex and greatly varying from one patient to another. What is common to many is of course vital; but there is much that is specific to one patient and not another. This book helps with the management of an incurable disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books)
Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias (Understanding) (Family Doctor Books) by Dr Nori Graham & Dr James Warner (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2009)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews