Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific edition of a perfect play
There's nothing that you can write about "A Midsummer Night's Dream" that could hope to convey the glory, the comedy and the intelligence of the play.
What you can hope to convey in this kind of a review is that this edition is the only one worth buying for serious study, with an excellent introduction.
Published on 23 May 2003 by Lovborg

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't use as a script!
the notes are fairly good. none of the character names are written in full at the side (as a space saver, but it just annoys me). cannot be used easily as a script because of the notes. the notes seem to overpower the script. i think i would have been better off spending two pounds on another good qaulity copy of it, and then another couple of pounds on york notes. it's a...
Published on 31 Dec 2004 by Tamsin Dance


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific edition of a perfect play, 23 May 2003
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
There's nothing that you can write about "A Midsummer Night's Dream" that could hope to convey the glory, the comedy and the intelligence of the play.
What you can hope to convey in this kind of a review is that this edition is the only one worth buying for serious study, with an excellent introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Arden Shakespeare - a student's dream, 16 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream", (written between 1590 and 1596), one of his best loved comedies and plays, needs no introduction or reviews here; if readers are looking for this type of material, there are more fruitful sources.

As an educationalist, I recommend these excellent academic editions for anyone studying above GCSE level; for anyone below that, they contain far more information and detail than is required for their examination standard. GCSE level students have the Oxford and Cambridge editions (with helpful notes), the Wordsworth paperback for the text alone and a whole host of others.

For those above this level, i.e. Advanced Level and beyond into graduate and post-graduate study, they have rightfully earned a great reputation for their comprehensive notes, annotations, source editions, topical allusions and other essential information for complete studies of his plays.

These are excellent editions for anyone with a serious interest in Shakespeare after GCSE level.

Highly Recommended and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream on!, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
The Arden Shakespeare is the BEST and this one is no different.

Packed with information, a definitive text and hugely useful notes - this edition of the Dream is a 'must have' for anyone interested in the theater and this most magical of Shakespeare's plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
Arrived really quickly in time for my daughter who is studying for A level drama. This particular book is a great one to start out with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good students' edition, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
The Dream is often one of the first Shakespeare plays that we read at school and it has a reputation of being frothy, romantic and lyrical. It certainly might be all of those things but it also has a far more sinister heart than it is often credited with. Rape, revenge, dark desire and imprisonment all haunt the text, from the background to the Theseus/Hippolyta 'romance' to Hermia's dream of having her heart eaten by a serpent while Lysander stands by and laughs.

It is also intensely self-conscious of its own status as a theatrical artefact, playing with the ideas of what is illusion and what reality with Theseus, himself a fictional and mythic character, voicing the rejection of fiction.

The Arden editions aren't my favourite as I find the commentary intrusive, but Brooks does an excellent job of compiling Shakespeare's sources here. From Chaucer to Seneca as well as the more obvious Ovid, he uncovers some of the allusions which make this one of Shakespeare's most literary plays.

By all means love this for its beautiful lyricism but a closer look uncovers a far darker world that just deepens our respect for this play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't use as a script!, 31 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
the notes are fairly good. none of the character names are written in full at the side (as a space saver, but it just annoys me). cannot be used easily as a script because of the notes. the notes seem to overpower the script. i think i would have been better off spending two pounds on another good qaulity copy of it, and then another couple of pounds on york notes. it's a shame, because i found that the edition of othello was much better, so i treated myself to midsummer too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. J. S. POLLARD (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) (Paperback)
Shakespeare, most people are put off, nut this play is fanastic, it really allows the reader to undersand tthe story, through an easy to read layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series)
"A Midsummer Nights Dream" (Arden Shakespeare: Second Series) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 6 Sep 1979)
8.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews