Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


262 of 264 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genealogists Must Have On The Book Shelf!!!
There are many books on the subject of genealogy reference, so much so, it is a nightmare and a daunting experience as to which reference books to plumb for. Peter Christian, has produced such a book, that is written in plain English, for the beginner and more advanced genealogist. The book is chronological in format with the most uptodate references of internet resources...
Published on 30 April 2006 by V J

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Family tree on the Internet made easy
Just the book for me, easy to read, clear advice and references to enable me to stuck into my family tree.Well pleased.
Published 20 months ago by roger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

262 of 264 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genealogists Must Have On The Book Shelf!!!, 30 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many books on the subject of genealogy reference, so much so, it is a nightmare and a daunting experience as to which reference books to plumb for. Peter Christian, has produced such a book, that is written in plain English, for the beginner and more advanced genealogist. The book is chronological in format with the most uptodate references of internet resources and the record offices/agencies available. The book is non biased towards any agencies, but does point out the pitfalls of information submitted to the various sites, as not being accurate without being verified manually from record offices. Such information apparently goes unchecked and therefore, inaccuracies, occur in the compilation of genealogical compilations. This is something Peter Christian, quite rightly, points out. This in mind, Peter Christian has covered all aspects of the science of researching family history. A very well written reference book and one that every researcher of genealogy should have. I certainly recommend this book for persons looking to purchase on this subject!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Goldmine of Information, 16 Feb. 2006
By 
Peter B "Brammy" (Paderborn, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb. Packed absolutely full of information on Internet resources fo rthe genealogist. The author even has a website containing updates to links that have changed since being printed in the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second book you should buy, 27 Nov. 2006
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once you begin to understand how to tackle mapping your family tree, you will quickly realise that you need to use the Internet.

This book is your invaluable guide - it tells you what is there, how to get it, what it costs and gives a very unbiased view as to quality.

I was very impressed by the range of material and the style of review - you do not see the author's preferences unless they made explicit, instead you get a sensible appraisal of the pros and cons of various sites and the options you need to consider before embarking on subscriptions that may end up not justifying their purchase.

I have found this a great companion on my journey into the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


400 of 409 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-judged, helpful and very authoritative, 11 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
It's hard to imagine a more compendious or useful book for the intelligent beginner or the established Family Historian with ambitions to extend his or her knowledge through the enormous (but potentially bewildering) resources of the web.
The author is a Fellow of London's Society of Geneaologists but does not blind with science: the book is a well-paced primer, but completely unpatronising. It will prove enlightening even to hardened net-users, and it contains a huge number of tips about exploring British Genealogy online that will be indispensible to Family Historians all over the world.
The book is fully-illustrated and nicely-presented. A specially valuable section concerns the practicalities, and the netiquette, of putting your own Family Tree online, thereby getting the attention of, and swapping information with, remote relations and fellow researchers.
The web is revolutionising the already-absorbing study of Genealogy and this excellent volume smooths and illuminates any would-be explorer's path through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Companion, 2 Sept. 2007
I was lucky enough to be given this as a birthday gift when I first got into my Family Tree. It is a really useful resource helping a beginner find their way around the wealth of info available on the web to the amateur genealogist. There is info on where to start and on the whole aray of online sources. A great book, worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars family history made easier, 13 April 2009
By 
Roger Bolton (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
If you're disabled or some distance from a large city, the Internet is invaluable. Searching for family history is made much easier by this well written and detailed book which has a wealth of information allowing access to many websites. The text is clear and unambiguous. It is an updating of earlier works, clearly set out and well referenced. As you might expect, such a detailed and lengthy text needs careful reading but the reward comes in the clear instructions (together with appropriate warnings, such as instances when the sites are poorly maintained or have other deficiencies) and the range of information.
There may be other texts which cover similar ground, but for my money this is a well written and exhaustive introduction to the application of the Internet to genealogy in general, and discovering family history in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family History, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compiled by the National Archives at Kew, one rightly assumes they are the best people to tell you where to find what you want in the myriad of information available. Although appearing rather heavy going at the first 'flick thru' it is actually easier to get information from this book rather than trawling through 1000's of web pages that lead you up the garden path and then ask you for your credit card details. An essential purchase for anyone from the beginner to experienced users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE GENEALOGIST'S INTERNET, 1 April 2009
By 
Excellent reference book for "armchair" genealogists which replaces pages of notes for sites previously visited. Also very helpful information relating to sites which have either disappeared or been absorbed into other web-sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased with the information given, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr. Charles Hughes (Western Cape Province, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a British citizen living in South Africa and started my Family Tree some years ago in the UK. I'm now permanently residing in South Africa and continuing with my research. I have found this book extremely valuable and recommend it to anyone who finds it difficult to travel to the national or local offices to do any research. Although I have not fully utilised all the information it has been the answer, and what I have been looking for with help in my genealogy on - line research.

Regards

Charles Hughes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Time Genealogist's Should Buy This Book, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
AlexKrycek "I Believe..." (Sheffield - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are new to Genealogy - this book is for you.

Having watched Who Do You Think You Are, I was keen to have a go myself. The trouble is that it can be so complicated! I did a little research and this book seemed to fit the bill - and I was right.

The book is good in the sense that whether you are a first time genealogist, or a seasoned one, there is something in here for everyone. The book is well written in chronological order, with references to a number of websites. Having said all that, there is nothing like experience. What I found is that you need to get on and actually do your family tree - and this is where you can then pick up the book for reference. I started off by reading the book in its entirety even before I had started researching my tree - and so I was a little confused.

Having now used the book for a while whilst researching my family tree, it is a valuable reference source of information on a day to day basis.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Genealogist's Internet
The Genealogist's Internet by Peter Christian (Paperback - Sept. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews