Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you find a better book for UK employment law advisors, you deserve a medal
Ms Lewis (and her previous co-author, Thomas Kibling) have been producing revised editions of this book for several years now.

Let me say right off the bat, I am directly involved in representing UK workers in employment law situations and this book has been my single greatest asset. I have been very successful over the years and I owe Ms Lewis' book for that...
Published on 6 Aug 2006 by Negotiator

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful tome
A useful reference book. Covers most of the current legal issues regarding employment law.
It outlines employees rights and responsibilities.
It is the type of book that should be read alongside existing work place policies and practices.
This book would come in extremely useful if one was reviewing existing policies.
Worth buying if it is being...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by A Gobbiner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you find a better book for UK employment law advisors, you deserve a medal, 6 Aug 2006
By 
Negotiator (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Lewis (and her previous co-author, Thomas Kibling) have been producing revised editions of this book for several years now.

Let me say right off the bat, I am directly involved in representing UK workers in employment law situations and this book has been my single greatest asset. I have been very successful over the years and I owe Ms Lewis' book for that. It is accessible (I am not a lawyer); practical and thorough. Not just that, it is inspirational. Several times it has been the springboard for me to approach cases in new ways. It is full of sample letters and advice on how to write to employers or tribunals; how to gather evidence; what to look for; what the key points of law in each area are. Absolutely invaluable.

Look out for other stuff she or the Legal Action Group may produce as it is all sound and practical advice. Be mindful of the date of publication as each edition is substantially updated.

If you represent UK workers in employment situations and you are serious about doing a good job - BUY THIS BOOK. It's THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, Comprehensible, Concise, 22 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another excellent book from LAG. It sits perfectly alongside Cunningham and Reed's "Employment Tribunal Claims" also from LAG. While the latter helps newcomers enormously with tactics, Employment Law - an Adviser's Handbook goes into much more detail about employment law itself and how it has been and should be interpreted. It is written in an easy to understand style. No adviser's handbook would be complete without checklists to use when giving advice. This has just that. The lists are great for advisers as well as litigants in person wanting to make sure they have thought of everything

(I make my living as an employment law adviser)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Delivers the goods!, 14 Aug 2004
By 
Stephen Ferguson (Kirkcaldy, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have never been at an Employment Tribunal in my life and knew very little (probably nothing actually)about employment law. I am in the position however, of having to take my employer to an ET. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Even if you are going to go to a solicitor I am a great believer that you should know enough about a situation to be able to ask the right questions and understand the answers. I went to a solicitor who set me on the right track and this book provided a wealth of information to enable me to 'run' an application for an ET myself. I've read other books Employment Tribunals (the Inns of Court publication is another one I'd recommend) and I'm a believer that no one publication can have all the answers, but this one has been the foundation to all the others for me - it's highly detailed, yet written for any reasonably competent person who is able to read. Books on the law and how a layperson can use it are very rare - this one delivers. My thanks to Tamara Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tamara Lewis's Employment Law, 27 May 2009
By 
This is a fantastic book: informative, very comprehensive and written in a style that is easy for a lay person with some background knowledge of the area to understand. I was very pleased with the services of Brown Books, the sellers.
Leticia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the ideal guide for practical employment lawyers, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Phillip Taylor (Richmond Upon Thames, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook (Paperback)
Length:: 4:00 Mins

FINALLY, THE IDEAL GUIDE FOR PRACTICAL EMPLOYMENT LAWYERS:
Another definitive work from LAG

An appreciation by Phillip Taylor MBE and Elizabeth Taylor of Richmond Green Chambers

With `the workplace' being an almost infinite space, employment law will inevitably continue to generate an almost infinite number of problems, especially in recent years during which the subject has expanded dramatically as the result of European influences.

Before the publication by the Legal Action Group (LAG) of Tamara Lewis's book `Employment Law,' there was, as far as we know, no single text which encompassed the full range of employment problems in a clear and practical form at a reasonable price. Now, fortunately there is.

Significantly, and a sign of the time, this 8th edition of `Employment Law' is twice as long as the 1st edition of 1991.So, in line with its original objectives, `Employment Law' has become the definitive work on this complex, continually changing area of law.

As one might expect from a publication from the admirable Legal Action Group, the work is thorough, logically structured and, very usefully, claimant focused. It's therefore ideal for voluntary sector advisers, legal advice centres, trades union representatives and of course, lawyers, as well as individuals looking for authoritative and practical guidance on employment law.

`Lewis on Employment Law' deals clearly and succinctly with the fast developing body of case law, together with the relevant domestic legislation, EU Treaties and directives. As with all LAG publications, the approach is practical, with step-by-step guidance on running a case. Whether you are a lawyer or layman, you'll find the summary of key points and extensive cross referencing and other aids to navigation helpful, not to mention the precedents, checklists, questionnaires, indicators to other research resources and glossary of terms.

This is a volume you can check out for the latest in employment law as at 26 June 2009. New material includes, for example, the new ACAS regime which replaces statutory dispute resolution. the Disability Discrimination Act post Lewisham LBC -v- Malcolm...coverage of the latest in discrimination law, particularly age and religious discrimination, plus the latest cases on statutory holiday entitlement and cases dealing with the often disputable question of who is an employee...and of course, cases on equal pay.

So, for steering you through the complexities of employment law, this handbook is the ideal guide...and, yes, it is the definitive short work for advisers and we expect to see it in most courts and tribunals bookshelves.

ISBN: 978-1-903307-69-4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not go to Tribunal without Reading this book, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of having to decide on going to Employment tribunal do not be quick to run there, its no picnic the stress involved over many months and sometimes years has ruined many lives for very little reward if any. The law is not clear cut even if you have a winning case in your mind. If however you feel you have a good case be certain to read this (or the newly updated version) before you make your decision it will be the most useful book you will ever buy and ideally you should have it early enough while it will be useful to you. If for example you are being made redundant don't wait to buy this book until you have left as you may have hindered you chances of collecting the very evidence you would need for your case. Good luck what ever you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook (Paperback)
Very little I can say about this book apart from excellent. I constantly read it and always refer to it. Very good for discrimination cases and for the novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Employment Law: an adviser's handbook, 25 Jun 2010
This is written so you the reader can understand it.

It takes you down through the difficult bits and helps lay people use the law effectively.

I spent nearly 30 years as a lay representatives, if I'd this in my back pack it would have taken a lot of the torment out ET prep and presentation.

TL has done a great job for those who need it most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read sourcebook, 19 Dec 2009
By 
B. Beaven (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook (Paperback)
Most employment law reference books provide the necessary information but do not make it easy to actually find what you want.

This is easy to read, easy to find and understand.

As current as any book can be.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful tome, 9 Mar 2010
By 
A Gobbiner (People's Republic of Oswaldtwistle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook (Paperback)
A useful reference book. Covers most of the current legal issues regarding employment law.
It outlines employees rights and responsibilities.
It is the type of book that should be read alongside existing work place policies and practices.
This book would come in extremely useful if one was reviewing existing policies.
Worth buying if it is being purchased as a reference document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook
Employment Law: An Adviser's Handbook by Tamara Lewis (Paperback - 17 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: £1.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews