Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful
I bought this book because I'm a wine lover who has the Internet, but really couldn't be bothered trawling through all the junk I found when searching for wine topics. The book is incredibly useful, well-researched, and highlights some brilliant sites. Buying the book also gives you access to a dedicated web site, where there are already half a dozen brand new reviews,...
Published on 25 Nov 2000

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This books gives nothing more than an off-line Search Engine
Whilst the book is well organised to make searching web sites easier for a particular type of wine, it is difficult to find any other value that this book brings. Sure, there is the free update facility via the web to keep you updated on new sites but little more I'm afraid.
This is obviously my own view but for the sake of a few moments spent searching using one of...
Published on 2 May 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I'm a wine lover who has the Internet, but really couldn't be bothered trawling through all the junk I found when searching for wine topics. The book is incredibly useful, well-researched, and highlights some brilliant sites. Buying the book also gives you access to a dedicated web site, where there are already half a dozen brand new reviews, so the book doesn't go out of date. Clever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great help and a good read, 28 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
.. The whole point of Tom Canavan's book is that it cuts out all the frustration and dissapointment of hours spent in front of a search engine: it rates sites intelligently and from a very knowledgeable viewpoint (about wine). Search engines throw up far more irrelevent sites than useful ones in my experience! This is a really useful book, and Canavan's opinions make for interesting reading. I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 13 May 2003
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
Just bought this at a discount price and although it is a bit out of date there is an amazing amount of useful information and it is very well written. The accompanying web site is a bit buggy, but does have a lot of updated content which is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
I've looked at lots of so called "web guides" for sites on my hobbies and interests, but most are just dross. This book is obviously written by someone who really knows his stuff about the subject - wine - and isn't just another rip-off cashing in on the web. This has loads of fantastic, relevant information that is clearly presented. The backup web site is very nicely done too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. A terrific idea, superbly executed, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
As a wine lover who has been frustrated by pointless hours spent searching for information and advice on the Web and finding nothing useful, I bought this book on the promise of it being written by experts and really sorting out the cream of wine sites. I am absolutely thrilled by it: not only is the information invaluable, but the book itself has lots of fascinating reading in its pages. It is beautifully put together and has already saved me money by pointing me to some cracking resources. The bonus of the on-line updates and reference material on the associated web site is the icing on the cake. I would say this was the essential tool for the surfing wine drinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, well-written and nicely produced., 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
Tom Cannavan has done a thorough job sifting through the enormous amount of wine-related sites, and has selected what he feels to be the best, which he has broken down into several categories. A whole book of website reviews may sound a little dry, but Tom's easy-to-read writing style offsets this. On the whole, I agree with his ratings, and this book represents a valuable resource for anyone wanting a helping hand as they embark onto the web for the first time. Inevitably, the production schedule has meant that the book is already quite out of date in certain areas, but if the publishers keep their promise of regular updates via the web, this should not be a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This books gives nothing more than an off-line Search Engine, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Web Guide to Wine (Hardcover)
Whilst the book is well organised to make searching web sites easier for a particular type of wine, it is difficult to find any other value that this book brings. Sure, there is the free update facility via the web to keep you updated on new sites but little more I'm afraid.
This is obviously my own view but for the sake of a few moments spent searching using one of the better search engines I fail to see the benefit in using such a book.
However, to be fair full marks should go to the publishers for marketing and it is a well-presented and researched book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Web Guide to Wine
The Good Web Guide to Wine by Tom Cannavan (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews