Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
When I read Louise Bombers first book I thought it was awesome. I even purchased a copy for each school that my children attended,(Junior and senior),4 books in all. I didn't think the next book could be better, but it is. I have already ordered 2 more copies to pass on to school. Theories are fine but Lousie Bomber speaks from practical experience and it shows. Whatever the problem she gives an example of how to work with and support the child. If all teachers, classroom supports in fact anyone working with children who have Attachment Disorder or Developmental Trauma Disorder, read and use these manuals as part of their everyday work then not only our children but the whole school would benefit. She is like a light shining a the end of a very dark tunnel offering a hope for these very damaged children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book!, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
This is both a very readable and extremely useful book. I work with children and young people in a secondary school and have found Louise Bomber's books to be invaluable - along with 'Teenagers and Attachment' which she contributed to. Inside I'm Hurting: Practical Strategies for Supporting Children with Attachment Difficulties in Schools Teenagers and Attachment: Helping Adolescents Engage with Life and Learning This book takes practitioners and young people through an average school day, highlighting potential problem areas and providing simple, useful solutions. Very very highly recommended for those working with children/young people who may be displaying behaviours which could be attributed to attachment difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all working with children who have attachment difficulties, 29 July 2012
By 
Jennifer Harrison "hen" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
This is the second book by Louise Bomber that I have bought. The first book 'Inside I am hurting' is very helpful to enable understanding of how attaxchment problems affect children in the school situation and strategies to help teachers and other staff cope. This book 'What about me 'goes into it in even more detail. I feel it is essential reading for anyone working with children with attachment problems. The book is written in clear easy to understand language with many examples to illustrate the text. I especially recommend it for teachers, parents (including foster & adoptive parents), and staff in children's homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
I bought this because my adopted 5 year old son with attachment difficulties was struggling at school, resulting in some disruptive behaviours. This book, although written for teaching professionals, is also readable for parents with a basic understanding of attachment difficulties. It is clearly set out and each chapter covers different challenges that occur through the course of a school day, and gives examples from both primary and secondary aged pupils. This book enabled me to go to the school with strategies for reducing his anxiety which has improved his behaviour, so much so that the school have purchased a copy for their own use.
This book is a must for teachers and SENCOs with adopted and looked after children within their school, and a fabulous resource for parents who have difficulty explaining to schools how they can help their children with attachment difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What about me, 12 Dec 2011
By 
miss (NOTTINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
Really helpful book, and I have already recommended it to a number of people. Easy to read and very informative. Really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have addition for all schools, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
This is a superb addition to the other books on attachment that Louise Bomber has written / edited. It successfully uses attachment theory to give sensible, practical suggestions for teachers and schools struggling to support children with attachment difficulties. This is a must have text for all schools, in fact I would go further and suggest all teachers. Having attended training given by Louise Bomber I would recommend that you look out for such opportunities as the combination of training and book helps to make sense of many of those children who puzzle you over the years in your class and for whom, other strategies just don't seem quite able to work for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
Just as I felt i was going mad trying to help the school understand my older adopted child, these books were brought to my notice. This later one is excellent for teachers, containing practical ideas on what might help. How does it look in action rather than just more theory ? Louise Bomber writes well and succinctly. It is easy to read and well laid out. Its age range for both younger and older children is excellent and so it will be helpful throughout your childs education. Our children need and deserve all the help we can get them, rather than being sidestepped because no one really understands the issues that persist in attachment disorder. We know adoption is just the start. Other kids, still at home may also have the same problems due to a difficult homelife and be helped by teachers knowledge from this book. It is particularly useful as it addresses the secondary school issues - a time of huge change and increasing pressure and yet a time when people unfamiliar with these issues think "they should have got over it by now". Do buy it, is a valuable resource. It helped me to persist in finding new ideas for the school. Good luck to you also in persuading teachers to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for parents and teaching staff, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Louise Scanlan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
This book has been invaluable and I am only half way through. My adopted son has attachment problems and school is very difficult for him, especially in transitional periods. I understand his challenges and why they exist but I've lacked the strategies until now for supporting my son in school and talking to teachers in a language they understand. The strategies that work at home are not always practical or appropriate for school and vice versa but some of the suggestions in this book are sound. Even simple things like how to run the 'meet and greet' properly for our children. I am 1 week into a new term with a new school and already this book is proving very useful. I only wish schools knew more about attachment problems- it is such a battle as a parent. My only criticism of the book is that it is very dry. Other texts on the same subject - eg Kim Golding - are a more compelling read but it does what it says on the Tin and is worth every penny if you care for a child with attachment difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful and easy read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
This book was very helpful and easy to read. Would recommend it to parents and teachers who are experiencing difficulties with attachement issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best book in this category, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Me?: Inclusive Strategies to Support Pupils with Attachment Difficulties Make it Through the School Day (Paperback)
If you are a teacher or carer of an Attachment Disorder child just buy this book. it is thorough and practical. It will help you every day with the many and varied issued you will come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews