Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Ought to set reading for teachers.
I'm not a teacher but have care of a child struggling at school and who has attachment problems. This is an easy read for parents/carers as well as teachers and teaching assistants and gives a real insight into what's causing the difficulties as well as practical advice on dealing with them. It shows once and for all that exclusion from school is not the only approach.
Published on 9 April 2009 by Robin D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
Useful for anyone working within the school environment and wanting to understand children's behaviour.

I recommend it for teachers, teaching assistants, SEN Managers.

I think that therapists and counsellors can use it as a reference book to recommend, or when talking to teaching staff about attachment.
Published 5 months ago by Ms Kris B Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Ought to set reading for teachers., 9 April 2009
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
I'm not a teacher but have care of a child struggling at school and who has attachment problems. This is an easy read for parents/carers as well as teachers and teaching assistants and gives a real insight into what's causing the difficulties as well as practical advice on dealing with them. It shows once and for all that exclusion from school is not the only approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we have been waiting for in school!, 23 Mar 2007
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This book was a real eye opener. For so long I feel we have been left as teachers to struggle on in our classes attempting to teach, but with not much guidance about how to reach those that don't settle or want to learn. I found this book very accessible, highlighting facts that we all need to know within Education. When I was training I didn't have any lectures on Attachment and after reading this fantastic book I wonder why? The author is very skilled at supporting the teacher to make sense of a child's early experiences at home and how they might present in the classroom, as a result of these. I particularly liked the distinction between the different attachment styles and the summaries in the second half of the book. Many of my pupils came to mind as I read this! Practical strategies were included that I feel I could use in my context. The content of this book makes so much sense. Having this knowledge means that I can intervene in a way that is helpful, rather than exacerbating a situation. This is a book that will definately impact upon my classroom practice. In fact I keep it in my top drawer! I would strongly recommend it to all those working in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding, practical and a real eye opener, 3 July 2010
By 
M. Gorman (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This is a first rate book which should be compulsory reading for every teacher. I wish I'd read this 30 years ago when I started teaching - it explains so much about how family dysfunction directly impacts on a child's attitude to learning. It's full of practical suggestions to support children with attachment disorder and is a very quick easy read. Well worth getting the other two books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to understand guide to attachment theory, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This book gives an insight into attachment theory by relating to real life situations and behaviour of childen in school.
The book is well set out and written in very easy to follow language.
An asset for anyone studying attachment theory and a must for staff supporting vulnerable children in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and very useful., 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
I bought this book as a trainee child counsellor and as a primary school Inclusion Manager. It was EXTREMELY accessible and easy to apply either in the classroom or for staff training. It is also very sympathetic to teachers and the numerous agendas they find themselves playing to. This is refreshing where occasionally there can be disagreement between those in the counselling profession and teachers in their approaches to working with children in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for teachers, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This is an eminently readable text which will be of great benefit to teachers, helping them to understand attachment theory, to understand the meaning behind some of the behaviours they experience and to respond to the challenges presented by children with attachment difficulties. There is some excellent advice from the author based on her experiences in the classroom and from working directly with children who exhibit attachment-related difficulties. I found it very enjoyable and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This book gives very good in-depth detail of attachment issues that may be faced in the classroom, the possible reason why and more importantly gives useful possible strategies to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into what children go through, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This easy to read book is a great introduction to the root causes behind many of the aberrant behaviours seen in many of today's classrooms. It really does break down the impact that family breakdown or dysfunction can have on a child's ability to function "normally" in the classroom. This book has certainly helped me have more patience in situations at work that had previously just been puzzling or irritating. Well worth a read for anyone who either works with, or comes into contact with, children struggling at school. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
Useful for anyone working within the school environment and wanting to understand children's behaviour.

I recommend it for teachers, teaching assistants, SEN Managers.

I think that therapists and counsellors can use it as a reference book to recommend, or when talking to teaching staff about attachment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good clear and easy book to read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in the Classroom: The links between children's early experience, emotional well-being and performance in school: A Practical Guide for Schools (Paperback)
This book is clear and easy to read. Would recommend it to parents and teachers needing advice/information about Attachment Issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews