Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the welcome return of the Nasty!, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Ae Rayner "aerayner" (hampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
This new updated edition of The Art of the Nasty starts with a foreword written by Nigel Wingrove in July 2009: the original intro from 1998 is also included. It's really interesting to read how the UK Censors have mellowed & because of less draconian rules many of these old films which were once banned can now be found without the fear of having one's collar felt by the `Bill' for possessing a forbidden video! The photos of all those old gems are beautifully laid out together with brief synopses & the authors don't eulogise everything - if a film was a bit rubbish they tell you! Very nostalgic to look back at long forgotten video companies with names such as Hikon, Go, Sapphire & Jaguar - wonder where those guys are now?!
Printed in solid hardback & published under license through good old Fab Press this is a book that no self respecting collector of `unusual' (!) movies should be without!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!!!, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
A sensational coffee table book, featuring artwork from all 39 video nasties that were banned in 1984. The wonderful, lurid covers are shown in all their glory to admire and enjoy. It works well as both a history book and an art book. We get a small news section in the corner of every page to show us what was also going on in the political world at the time, as well as other interesting facts. Not only do we get the banned film art, but also a large selection of pre cert video covers of films that were confiscated by police and the charges were later dropped. If you love horror movie artwork then this is the crown jewels of these books and I hightly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the day.., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
I love this book! A great pick me up and gaze through the collection of art work along with short notes discussing each entry. You got almost 450 'pre-certificate video covers in all their lurid glory, including all of the official 39 nasties. The book also has a good, indepth intro covering the history of this particular time. A nice book to own if you're a fan of these 'cheap n nasty' collection of films and/or the history of this particular early 80's era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
A stunning informative beautiful bloody history lesson.
If you grew up in a video store during the eighties ( I was lucky enough to work in one during my teenage years ) this is a sublime book.
The artwork of the old video nasty covers is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore!, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
This is a valuable piece of memorabilia to any B-Movie and Video Nasty enthusiast. The Art inside is gruesome feast for anyone who appreciates just how important the genre was in Movie History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for the pre cert collector., 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
This review is for the later reprint released in 2009. Written by my mate Marc Morris with Nigel Wingrove, it is the definitive book about the UK pre-certification era and is a must for a series tape collector such as myself.
Hopefully this version has addressed the binding issue of the first edition.
There are various sections including The Nasties and Nice and Sleazy plus good up to date write ups and reviews.
An essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Bad Packaging & Worse Customer Service, 29 May 2011
By 
rememorable (Melbourne, AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of the Nasty (Hardcover)
Quite honestly a great book filled with images and a synopsis for so many Video Nasty classics however Amazon failed to pack my order correctly so the spine and the corners of the book are banged up. Having contacted them to make a compliant and leave packaging feedback, I never received a response to either. Really disappointed with Amazon on this one, possibly will never order a book through them again :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of the Nasty
The Art of the Nasty by Nigel Wingrove (Hardcover - 11 July 2009)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews