Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That rare thing - a satisfactory sequel!
When, at the end of the charming and heartwarming Miss Buncle's Book Miss Buncle was whisked off to the delights of married life, every reader will have cried: "But what happened next?". And here is the answer, rescued from its long out of print status by those kind people at Persephone.
At first one fears a little. Miss Buncle is happy, but she is living in...
Published on 22 April 2011 by bookelephant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) Light, mild and gently delightful
Miss Barbara Buncle is now Mrs Abbott but after the unprecedented success of her book (Miss Buncle's Book) she and Arthur are forced to move from the village she inadvertently exposed. With a new house come new neighbours - and Barbara is soon presented with a plot for another book.

This is another light and gentle read, but I found it less engaging than the...
Published on 29 Sep 2012 by Roman Clodia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That rare thing - a satisfactory sequel!, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
When, at the end of the charming and heartwarming Miss Buncle's Book Miss Buncle was whisked off to the delights of married life, every reader will have cried: "But what happened next?". And here is the answer, rescued from its long out of print status by those kind people at Persephone.
At first one fears a little. Miss Buncle is happy, but she is living in Hampstead Heath, going to bridge parties, and being slightly ground down by her husband's efficient but unlikeable staff. But a decision to move house carries her to the charming Wandlebury, a delicious Georgian house of tumbledown charms, and some new, fascinating neighbours for her to mentally anatomise. Will she resist the temptation to turn them into grist for the "new John Smith" as Mr Abbott's publishing colleagues (and the business minded portion of himself) would wish? Will the Big House be left to the right person? Will Barbara succeed in her romantic schemes for two of her new friends? The fascinating answers lie in store ... Rest assured however that in Wandlebury, as in Copperfield/Silverstream, people basically get what they deserve!
I rarely find sequels satisfactory - this one is the pleasant exception which proves the rule; and leaves one longing for Miss Buncle 3 (and yes, there is such a thing!). Next summer, please, Persephone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoyable but not quite as good as Miss Buncle's Book, 4 Jun 2011
By 
H. M. Holt "souloftherose" (Tring, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
I should probably start by saying that although this isn't as good as Miss Buncle's Book it was still an enjoyable book to read, but you may find this book disappointing if you are expecting another Miss Buncle's Book.

The charm of the first book was mainly due to the characters in the village where Miss Buncle lived and the wonderful and ridiculous situations which arose as a result of Miss Buncle writing a book about them. In Miss Buncle Married, Miss Buncle has, as you would expect from the title, got married and moved away from the village she wrote about. Most of the book focuses on Miss Buncle and her new husband and one or two close friends and relations. There's the occasional scene which involves a large group of people and then the book briefly captures the spark of the original, but these scenes occur all too rarely. It's less amusing to read about Miss Buncle and her marriage because Miss Buncle and her husband are nice people and it's therefore much harder to laugh at them. Having said that, this was still a nice, gentle, warm book to read and I hope that Persephone decide to reissue The two Mrs Abbotts which is the third and final Miss Buncle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Buncle Married and Contented, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Miss Mapp (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
First let me say that I love Miss Buncle's Book. It is witty, fast-paced and fun. This sequel was also a lot of fun to read, but in my opinion lacks some of the characterizations and coherence of the first book. Barbara Buncle has grown up rather a lot, is happily married, contented - and the excitement of the story suffers from that. Her new neighbours are also less zany than those in the first book. That said, I enjoyed reading it, as I have enjoyed the many D E Stevenson books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have enjoyed Miss Buncle's Book, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
The sequel to Miss Buncle's Book - even more delightful dip into the world of Miss Buncle who is now a successful novelist and moving house...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Buncle Married, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
This book follows on from Miss Buncle's Book which I recently read and thoroughly enjoyed. A light and humorous look at life in a small village, that book ended with Miss Buncle getting married. Now, nine months later, we pick up the life of Miss Buncle (now Mrs Abbott) and her husband in their new home. Having realised that both of them hate the social life in their community that they have become involved in, they decide the only solution is to move.

First published in 1936, this book is of a bygone age, where life seemed to be simpler than it is now. A delightful tale of life and odd people that you may have found in a small village of the times, Miss Buncle, Married is a worthy successor to Miss Buncle's Book. Funny, witty, and just jolly good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) Light, mild and gently delightful, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
Miss Barbara Buncle is now Mrs Abbott but after the unprecedented success of her book (Miss Buncle's Book) she and Arthur are forced to move from the village she inadvertently exposed. With a new house come new neighbours - and Barbara is soon presented with a plot for another book.

This is another light and gentle read, but I found it less engaging than the first book. Apart from the Marvel family next door, this doesn't have the same mix of personalities as previously, and there are places where the book felt quite bland and limp - the first third, for example, where Barbara is house-hunting and decorating.

This reveals its 1930s mindset in both charming ways (Barbara, Arthur and their visitor are all confused, embarrassed and overcome when husband and wife are caught kissing in their own hallway), and less charming (the `lower classes' who are made to speak in ungrammatical English complete with dropped aitches).

There are some moments of high comedy such as the dinner party at the Marvel's but not as many as the first book.

If you like your fiction gentle, calm and pleasant, you may well love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Miss Buncle, 16 July 2012
By 
hypnobear (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
In my opinion, you can't go far wrong with Persephone Press, and this is another fabulous book form htem. Miss Buncle Married follws on form Miss Buncle's Book, adn relates tthe story of Miss Barbara buncle now she has fled her old home and maried her publisher, Mr Arthur Abbott. I don't believe in giving great long resumes that may spoil the book for others, suffice to say it trots along at a gentle pace and is thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars oldfashioned charm, 19 Jan 2014
By 
jmm (Aldershot, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
Not as fizzing as Miss Buncle's Book. Its the accideantal revelations of women's roles a the tome that is in a way shocking . you have to accept the clture of the times in which it was written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel to 'Miss Buncle's Book', 19 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Diane M. Hellyer (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
I came across 'Miss Buncle's Book' in the Oxfam shop and was, as ever, seduced by the cover! But the story is excellent: well written and very absorbing, with nothing nasty in it! So I was delighted to find that there was a sequel, and I read it very quickly - couldn't put it down. I like the characters! There's a third book in the series and I have it on my Wish List!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Buncle Married (Paperback)
This is the sequel to a book I enjoyed. This book is more "twee" and although readable I would not recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Buncle Married
Miss Buncle Married by D. E. Stevenson (Paperback - 14 April 2011)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews