Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ravishing writing
The quality of writing of this story about a young girl's journey to India is so sublime it is extraordinary that Emma Smith didn't write many more novels.
She has the rare ability to transport the reader into the very heart of her story, with descriptions that are spare but so colourful that you can almost smell and see the scene. Effortlessly you can conjure up...
Published on 8 May 2003

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor and overrated !!
Although this book won a major prize when first published I thought it was the worst sort of commercial rubbish. Her other books are 100% better and well worth a read.
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by tillybob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ravishing writing, 8 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Far Cry (Paperback)
The quality of writing of this story about a young girl's journey to India is so sublime it is extraordinary that Emma Smith didn't write many more novels.
She has the rare ability to transport the reader into the very heart of her story, with descriptions that are spare but so colourful that you can almost smell and see the scene. Effortlessly you can conjure up the ocean on the journey and the overwhelming effect of India, at the same time feeling acutely the emotions of the protagonists in the story.
As I read this book I kept thinking what a good film it would make, but when I analysed the story perhaps there is not enough there to grip today's audience. I couldn't bear the book to end and loved every minute of it.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Far Cry (Paperback)
I read The Far Cry only after it was republished by Persephone. It was quite simply the best novel I read last year - acutely observed and beautifully written. I have since bought several copies to give to friends, and without exception they have been similarly bowled over. One cried when she came to the end.
In reply to the reviewer from Banbury, I have been told that Emma Smith has written other books, but they were mainly aimed at children. And she apparently has one adult novel still unpublished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars _, 23 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Far Cry (Penguin) (Paperback)
This is with out doubt the best novel I've read in eons, and it's a shame that Emma Smith wrote just two adult novels, before in the late 1940s, she married and focussed on her married life. Critically acclaimed as they were, they have been largely forgotten, and a third later adult one, remains forlornly unpublished... Penguin?
In "The Far Cry", Fourteen year-old Tersea is pulled out of school by her father to go to India, simply to spite her mother, from whom her father is estranged. He is coming to England to reclaim her so that in India he can reunite her with his other daughter from a previous marriage, the lovely Ruth. At least, that's the plan...
When Teresa and her father get to India, everything changes: their responses to this nation unknown to them show them to be capable of stronger sensibilities and reactions then we supposed, and when they arrive at the house of Ruth and her husband in Assam (both of whom are themselves strongly realised characters) we feel we know them much more thoroughly, and Smith's wider precocious pattern makes more sense. This is where surprise strikes, and not for the first time...
Emma's use of India as a backdrop for her Anglo-Indian characters' problems is distinguished, as she is concerned with India in terms of the distance and immensity it implies for central Anglo-Indian family, and what it says about their own problems regarding human contact and friendship. Her powers of description are exceptional, very acutely observed and her words and phrases, beautifully crafted. Indeed, the ease with which India and its atmosphere steps into your mind, is effortless as the book reads itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece Indeed, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Far Cry (Paperback)
When I first started to read this book, I was almost overwhelmed by the amount of descriptive material, even adjectives, making the actual reading hard work. But as I persevered something was happening.
Now that I have finished this rather amazing achievement of a book, from someone about I guess in her middle twenties, I stand really in admiration. What she managed to do, and what would perhaps have been acknowledged as impossible at the time of her writing, and had never really been attempted, was the fact, that she continuously switches from external to internal dialogue, so we see inside the characters heads, see them thinking and wrestling.
It was another author, recently, who achieved the same aim and was acclaimed by the Literary World. I am talking of Hilary Mantle. Well Emma Smith was her forerunner! She had already done the same thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 7 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Far Cry (Paperback)
I loved this book. Subtle and very realistic, it takes you there: on the ship, to India and into the minds of all the, very different, people concerned. I don't normally like old books at all: this one was written in 1949 but at no point did this irritate me. Timeless, sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor and overrated !!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
tillybob (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Far Cry (Penguin) (Paperback)
Although this book won a major prize when first published I thought it was the worst sort of commercial rubbish. Her other books are 100% better and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Far Cry
The Far Cry by Emma Smith (Paperback - 22 Jun 2002)
9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews